Embassies/Consulates are extremely helpful in situations when you are pressed for time. I am currently in the process of changing my name on my US Passport through the US Embassy here in Melbourne. Since I am going to change my last name in the US while I am there, I can't fly with a ticket booked on my maiden name and a passport on my married name. When I found out a couple days ago that I can have a new passport with my new name issued in Melbourne itself, the embassy was more than happy to help me, and the lady who I interacted with is a sweetheart. I need to leave Australia as my 3 month stay ends on July 11th, so they will issue me a new passport on July 6th and I was assured that I can make my booking on my married name :-)

That's easy to understand. :bow:
How abt Indian Pasport? all pages or just front and back
sorry for the late reply Rajiv Bhai.. in my case, I photocopied all pages of Passport... u dont wanna wait there in line for 3 hours and then sent back just coz u didnt photocopies some stupid pages.... so rather be on the safe side and photocopy all pages

I got my OCI in about 60 days. There is a 2 step process. For the stamping, I went personally to consulate. I got a passport like card also. I think PIO needs to be renewed every few years, but you can get a PIO in matter of days. They have made the conversion of PIO to OCI convenient now. It's the difference in fees between OCI and PIO. Figured, I opted for American ** because of the additional benefits it gives over GC. May be unemployment, social security etc if I lose my job. Now with Universal HC, I don'teven have to buy private medical insurance and opt for govt provided medical insurance (if the bill passes thru congress).

Figured, I opted for American ** because of the additional benefits it gives over GC. May be unemployment, social security etc if I lose my job. Now with Universal HC, I don'teven have to buy private medical insurance and opt for govt provided medical insurance (if the bill passes thru congress).
I think all of these are applicable to GC holders as well.

OK, so this was my experience today My Appointment was at 3:00PM but I reached downtown at about 2:15 PM I went up to the consulate and there were about 8-10 people sitting apart, and I picked a number 68 but while pulling it, I got 69,70,71 to 76 only to realize that the thing was broken 1 guy speaking on the courtesy phone in Punjabi " mein border cross to aaya, phir shaadi banali abh yeh ji passport maang rahe hain ji" Like every other place I have seen, a lady with 2 kids and one of them is crying - I mean this is like a default scenario The ticket says serving 59 but all booths are closed with venetian blinds down I see a host who suddenly turns a slightly tilted "Daytek" 37" inch LCD TV which shows Calcutta 300 years ago and then channel changes to some Mahabharata type program. The PM and Presidents photos are on the wall but slightly tiled again I ask Mr. Murthy ( the host ) that I have a 3PM OCI appt, he says " arre haan, jaao jaao counter teen par ) Counter 3 is closed but there is intercom style device which says TALK and I comply and Mr. Murthy shouts and says " Bhaaisaab, khat khat kijiye " so I do khat-khat and I see a lady who is having lunch with her left hand and working on PC with a big ganpati photo on TOP She checked my papers 1) We only need copies of information pages for INDIAN PASSPORT - not all pages 2) Just 3 photos ( their instructions says duplicates copies ) I wish they are were more clear as I wasted money on extras 3) Their requirement says Money Should be payable to THE CONSULATE GENERAL OF INDIA, VANCOUVER but the post office says they cannot fit the ", VANCOUVER " on it but luckily the postal worker was Indian and she said its fine and so does the consulate - well if its fine then why have such a requirement! 4) I had a hard time pushing my 4 Book Indian Passport through the window which she didn't even check right 5) Total time - 8 mins - thank you very much and have a nice day 4-6 weeks, will get a call But I couldn't leave without "Vasugir'ing" Downtown on a Gorgeous day, had a stroll and bistro lunch - thank you very much van1.jpgvan2.jpgvan3.jpgvan4.jpgvan5.jpgvan6.jpg

1 guy speaking on the courtesy phone in Punjabi " mein border cross to aaya, phir shaadi banali abh yeh ji passport maang rahe hain ji"
3) Their requirement says Money Should be payable to THE CONSULATE GENERAL OF INDIA, VANCOUVER but the post office says they cannot fit the ", VANCOUVER " on it but luckily the postal worker was Indian and she said its fine and so does the consulate - well if its fine then why have such a requirement!
:laugh::laugh:
Got a call today, come and pick it up Total Days Since App = 20
Wow congrats!! I mailed my OCI application to SF last Wednesday...let's see how long it takes :((

I must thank you, if it wasn't this thread I would have never applied it. I planned to do it 4 years ago and kept it on the back burner

mine took 6 months...just received it.... they're so incompetent that we had to pick them up from the houston consulate even though we already paid $20 fed ex return mailing fee... now we have to carry two passport... one american and one very thin passport type thing that says OCI on the cover and lifetime visa stamp on the last page.

I must thank you' date=' if it wasn't this thread I would have never applied it. I planned to do it 4 years ago and kept it on the back burner[/quote'] No worries, mate. I got my dad to apply with me and he too had put off applying for years :-D
No worries' date= mate. I got my dad to apply with me and he too had put off applying for years :-D
ok ok, we know ur an aussie :haha: