Blundering ways of Indian selectors

Captain and coach don't even have a vote in selection -Srikkanth New Delhi: The chairman of the Indian cricket selection committee K Srikkanth has said that ÅÕhere will be another Sachin Tendulkar in the Indian team soon? Talking to News 24ÃÔ editor-in-chief Anurradha Prasad in her weekly show âamne Samne? Srikkanth assured the Indian fans saying ÅÂnother Sachin will come, just wait and see. In 1989, when Tendulkar came, nobody knew he will become the great Sachin Tendulkar. Similarly another Sachin will emerge in India? Aamne-Samne with Srikkanth will be aired today (October 30) at 8.30 pm on News 24. Srikkanth also said that he does not see Sachin playing the next World cup in 2015. He told Anurradha Prasad, ÅÊt will be very ambitious of him. I think it is very doubtful. I donÃÕ see him playing the next World cup considering his age and body. ItÃÔ 4 years away? According to Srikkanth, the senior players in the team know quite well what to do in terms of their playing career. He said, Å´achin, Dravid and Laxman will know when to retire as they are not only great cricketers but also good human beings. ItÃÔ very difficult to find a direct replacement for these players. We are adopting a ÃÕrial and error method to see who can take their place? The dashing former Indian opener said that the idea of split captaincy may have worked in India but he doesnÃÕ see the need of it in the Indian team and hasnÃÕ thought about it. Srikkanth said, Why do we still have this colonial hangover? If England and Australia have adopted it, doesnÃÕ mean we should also do it. We are doing well this way? Srikkanth is confident that India will be back as the no 1 test side in 18-20 months from now. He opined Ū can assure you that we will be the no 1 test side in 18-10 months from now. We have the talent. England series was a bad dream. We will also go up in the ODI ranking? Ÿe lost so badly in England as the players could not adjust to the weather, lot of players got injured and the luck also didnÃÕ favour us? Srikkanth also revealed that he did offer to resign after the England debacle as ÅÔomeone had to take the responsibility? He said, Ū took the responsibility for England debacle. I donÃÕ blame the players and the captain for the loss, it was just a bad dream? Srikkanth said, he agreed to extend his tenure as chief selector since he wanted to serve the country even though in his opinion it is a thankless job. He said, when the team wins, the captain and the team gets the credit but when the team loses, selectors get the blame. It is a thankless job. He also denied claims that Dhoni always has his way when it came to selecting certain players saying, Ťaptain and coach do not even have a vote in selection and its wrong to say that Dhoni decides who to select and who to drop. The selectors are most important in the selection meetings and they take decisions keeping all points of view in mind? Srikkanth said, that the preparations for the 2015 World cup will start 12-18 months before the tournament and not now saying Å£efore the 2011 World cup, we sent new players to Zimbabwe in 2010 and then tried new players against NZ. Having been a part of the World cup winning team in 1983, I knew how to pick a winning combination. Commenting on the club vs country debate,Srikkanth said that players hiding their IPL injuries to play for India will be ultimate losers. He said, ÅÕhey can cheat once or twice? Read more at: http://news24online.com/Sachin-Dravid-will-know-when-to-retire-Srikkanth_News24_35752.aspx Copyright ŽÂ© News24online.com

Srikkanth said, he agreed to extend his tenure as chief selector since he wanted to serve the country even though in his opinion it is a thankless job.
That's what Ghadaffi said, and Hosni Mubarak, and Assad...
LOLZ at Chica' date=' he's literally saying he needs a job extension :giggle: so who is this surprise new SRT kinda cricketer that Chica's mentioning about :hmmm:[/quote'] You don't know? He was a last minute entry in the EPT and is an electrifying batsman just like his father was.

For those of you saying Cheeka wants to retain his job, do the matchs here. His CNN IBN contract was worth more than a crore annually, add the money he would have been making by writing columns in the media. Compare that to the 40 lakhs every year he gets from BCCI. Now decide what you think is a better paying role. The current role sees him get so much of filth from the media when the team loses, his former rule would see him beingpart of the mob gunning after the selectors if we lose!

For all the criticisms Chikka gets,Indian team has been the strongest it has ever been in his tenure. Apart from Aniruddha,his selections have genrally been fair. Chennai Lobby allegation: M.Vijay:We all agreed that he was very talented when he first came on scene,his downfall is his own doing Mukund:Very talented and definetely earned his spot Badrinath:Terrific FC record Poor selection desicions Jadeja:Answered his critics VK:well,one of the best performers in FC Arvind:same as VK Mishra:failure at international level but still one of the best Legspinners in domestic Chawla:Same as Mishra Unadkat:Everyone from Wasim to Ganguly were raving about his talent and generally even the fans want to see young bowlers blooded in early,how can his failure be blamed on Srikkanth Mithun:Same as Unadkat Injuries,IPL,Over-worked schedule and English tour debacle: How is it Srikkanths fault when the batsmen failed against the swinging ball. Srikkanth does not set the itenary or neither he is responsible for IPL Given all of the above Chikka has had one of the best terms for a selector.Yes,Ani Srikkanth's selection is the only blot on his career as a selector

Whine all you want, but he's still better than the previous selectors. I believe Dhoni has a say in the selections though its the selectors who have the final say.. That the final XI is only picked by Dhoni is another matter:regular_smile:

haterz burning after every interview he gives and after team he announces. unless the chief selector is a mumbaikar or a delhiite or a punjabi, some of these guys can't sleep well. :hahaha:

Unfortunately, an eye-for-an-eye approach only gets people this far. A biased selector is a biased one, no matter what state, city, taluka, nukkad, mohallah, gully he is from.

Unfortunately' date=' an eye-for-an-eye approach only gets people this far. A biased selector is a biased one, no matter what state, city, taluka, nukkad, mohallah, gully he is from.[/quote'] Srikkanth is biased on Ashwin isn't he? :cleveland:
Praveen Kumar is playing for UP' date=' so is obviously dropped from the Indian team and not rested after picking up 27 wickets at an average of 25 in his first 6 tests.[/quote'] He did not play first match, so he was rested.
He did not play first match' date=' so he was rested.[/quote'] Why is he not picked now? Dravid and Praveen Kumar were the only players who came out of the England tour with their honor intact and one of them finds himself out of the team.

If we dont try out Umesh and Aaron against West indies then who are we going to take to Australia? Same old Munaf and Sreesanth. Its right that they dropped or rested (whatever it is ) Praveen and trying Yadav and hopefully soon Varon Aaron too. It is understandable criticizing selectors if Praveen is completely dropped from Aus tour but trying new bowlers against West Indies was the right way to go.

Why is he not picked now? Dravid and Praveen Kumar were the only players who came out of the England tour with their honor intact and one of them finds himself out of the team.
Selectors want to give chances to other guys. Playing PK against WI wont prove anything, instead trying new inexperienced and see who they can take to Australia later this year is what was needed and they are doing.

Wonder what crime Indian cricket had done that Srikkant and co were thrust upon it as selectors! Can you count the blunders they have made?