Tiger-Don Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 i eat a lot of rice......is that good or bad? also how do i get my desi parents to stop feeding me rice?
vvvslaxman Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 i eat a lot of rice......is that good or bad? also how do i get my desi parents to stop feeding me rice? Late at night bad.. But it is no terribly bad as long as you are an active person. In villages where they do farming eat rice three times a day. Yet they are extremely fit coz they spend lot of it. It has a bit of fiber and protein as well in addition to the carbs you are afraid of. There is no way rice in moderation can be considered an unhealthy food.
Swing_n_Speed Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 The renewed activity in this thread could not have been timed better. Personally, I got a bit lazy over the winter/spring and my workout routines became more and more sporadic and rare.. But with warmer temperatures, it is definitely easier to get yourself going. I have been running like a mad-man over the last 4-5 weeks, clocking on an average 3-4 miles a day. Also ran my first outdoor mini-marathon (A un-intimidating 5 km run that I finished in a respectable 31 mins). Next target is to compete in this - http://www.philadelphiamarathon.com/races/rothman-institute-8k (Actually registered for this back in 2010, but my knees began playing tricks on me about a week before the race and I chickened out) :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up: All the best dude. For a 5 mile run, ur training is well on course :two_thumbs_up: Personally if I ever participate in an endurance event it'll be a triathlon. Just running on and on and on bores me to death.
CandyFloss Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 I finally figured out my body type. Its hourglass with extra minutes
Swing_n_Speed Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 Wide grip pulls up supersetting with free hand pushups. I recently felt a little twang in my knee while squatting, since squats are my favorite exercise I decided not to risk it and took time off legs. Just to mix it up started doing wide grip pull ups, as in real wide. So far I can knock off 10 reps then get down and knock off a couple dozen pushups. You can use this as both a warm up or finish-off exercise. Supersets....wow! (had to google it) 10+24 is ridiculous fitness dude. I'd probably manage 8 + 10 to 12 at best. If my entire workouts consisted of merely pushups + pull-ups. How many sets would you recommend? Offcourse just one would be a superset.
Swing_n_Speed Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 I finally figured out my body type. Its hourglass with extra minutes :giggle::giggle: Sounds like a dream :--D
rkt.india Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 I am suffering from Achilles tendinitis...even walking is difficult let alone treadmill...
Laaloo Posted June 7, 2012 Posted June 7, 2012 Can we get Sehwag Mishra Ojha and Ashwin to read this thread please?
Lurker Posted June 7, 2012 Author Posted June 7, 2012 If my entire workouts consisted of merely pushups + pull-ups. How many sets would you recommend? Offcourse just one would be a superset. Superset of pushups + pullups works very good as a warm-up exercise. However if you are using it to be entire workout it would fall short a bit because it only uses a few muscle group. Why dont you try doing something like this: Pull-ups (comes first as it is toughest) Body squat or light dumbbell squat (try for 20 reps, dont go heavy but go for stamina) Pushups Burpees Light dumbbell overhead press or lateral press This would work back, legs, chest, shoulders, arms and core. You can do them right after other and then take 2-3 minutes then go over it again. Try to do 3-4 circuits. If you wanna up the intensity you could do jumping rope movement for 1 minute during your 2-3 minute rest. Dont worry about a rope, just mimic the moment standing in the place. That could get you a solid workout, specially for getting ripped in 10-15 minutes depending on how much you rest.
Lurker Posted June 7, 2012 Author Posted June 7, 2012 i eat a lot of rice......is that good or bad? also how do i get my desi parents to stop feeding me rice? Nothing wrong with rice but definitely wrong with eating a lot of it. Unless you are having rice with yogurt every 4 hours. In which case you will become like Hema Malini lol, thats what she claims is her diet anyway. Seriously though why not have rotis in the evenings (note I said rotis, not parathas)?
Lurker Posted June 7, 2012 Author Posted June 7, 2012 I actually read some of the initial posts in this thread back in 2008.. It has me asking questions like 'What is cardio..' :cantstop: And how times have changed.. Since then, I really do believe I must have clocked at least 2500-3000 miles on the tread-milll. :proud: And a lot of credit for that should definitely go to you Lurks! Thank you! Good for you Sriram. Always nice to see someone transform like you have, or Holy baba for that matter. Keep it going. Maybe one day you will attempt a full marathon too :two_thumbs_up:
Swing_n_Speed Posted June 10, 2012 Posted June 10, 2012 Superset of pushups + pullups works very good as a warm-up exercise. However if you are using it to be entire workout it would fall short a bit because it only uses a few muscle group. Why dont you try doing something like this: Pull-ups (comes first as it is toughest) Body squat or light dumbbell squat (try for 20 reps, dont go heavy but go for stamina) Pushups Burpees Light dumbbell overhead press or lateral press This would work back, legs, chest, shoulders, arms and core. You can do them right after other and then take 2-3 minutes then go over it again. Try to do 3-4 circuits. If you wanna up the intensity you could do jumping rope movement for 1 minute during your 2-3 minute rest. Dont worry about a rope, just mimic the moment standing in the place. That could get you a solid workout, specially for getting ripped in 10-15 minutes depending on how much you rest. Heyy so I got around to doing the workout this morn. -Ran on the track for just under 1.5 miles. - Then pull ups. Wide-Hands. 10 reps -Then instead of squats, opted for dumbell swing (to activate the core) with a 10 kg weight. 15 with each hand. -Did Pushups then 1 Set of 20 -Gave up on the burpees, was too tired -Finally ended with O/H press.7 kg weight, did one set to failure. (This was done back to back with minimal rest between sets, I hope that's a good idea. Feedback pls) So I did 2 circuits of these but off-course I ran just once. On the second circuit I did the P90X2 Core Crunch ChinUp. All in all I would say, fab workout. Managed bout 40 pushups. 20 PullUps along-with the other exercises. Pretty heavy duty I'd say. Definitely sometin I would incorporate into my routine. Aiming to do this once a week. BTW I think we should patent this. Certainly looks like a the new Spartacus workout :--D Thanks a ton Lurker.
rkt.india Posted June 10, 2012 Posted June 10, 2012 Yaar some one tells me the cure of my Achilles heals..
suraj Posted June 10, 2012 Posted June 10, 2012 Yaar some one tells me the cure of my Achilles heals.. The mantra is RICE: Rest Icing Compression Elevation (if swollen) Ultrasound rays help healing (will need to go to physical therapist) for this
vvvslaxman Posted June 11, 2012 Posted June 11, 2012 Manohar Aich 1952 Mr.Universe(amature category) from Bengal; . Just came to know about this. This guy has turned 100 this year.. look at him now
India-KXIP fan Posted June 13, 2012 Posted June 13, 2012 Can creatine (N.O. Explode for example) cause tendinitis or other injuries? http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20071115152309AAQCccM I have somewhat recovered from tendinitis .. i came across this piece. I am little wary of continuing with creatine.. I have been working out for last 3 years.. never had any issue until i started taking creatine.. is it a coincidence or is there a connection. :facepalm: Yahoo Answers= broscience Use bodybuilding.com (srs)
f.b.m Posted June 13, 2012 Posted June 13, 2012 I'm not sure whether this is the right place to post but my cholesterol levels are quite low (both HDL and especially LDL). My question is how can I get these numbers up to normal? Especially HDL since low HDL levels are risk factor for heart disease (recommended level is about 60 mg% and mine is 27 :S). What can I eat to get my HDL levels higher? And is too little LDL a problem health-wise (mine is 58 and 90-100 is usually the lower limit)?
The Outsider Posted June 21, 2012 Posted June 21, 2012 Looking for some help regarding some stretching exercises for the lower back. I've recently resumed playing squash after around a one year gap - I'm around 20 pounds over where I would like to be ie. at around 185-190 and I would like to be and have been around the 165-170 range when I feel good about myself at 5'11''. Most of the weight I've gained has been over the last 2 years. I enjoy playing squash and swimming. Biking is fine. Hate doing weights and running. In trying to shed the flab, I've been playing squash for around 45 minutes followed by 30 minutes of moderate swimming - there is nothing moderate about the squash though and I've started to see the progress over the last couple of weeks. However, after every exercise routine I get this very mild pain in my lower back - it's not the kind of pain which would stop or hinder me from going around the day normally and after a nice sleep I feel fine again. But it recurs the after the next routine. It has never happened before and my first guess was that it's because of the extra weight and would go away after my leg and back muscles get accustomed to the routine, but I am still having it after 3 weeks. I also thought that my body was not getting warmed up enough before getting on to the squash court so I started some basic stretching and biking to the gym (~1.5 miles) instead of driving and starting out on the court. Any thoughts? Suggestions? Please don't ask me to pump weights - I absolutely abhor it.
Yoda-esque Posted June 21, 2012 Posted June 21, 2012 Looking for some help regarding some stretching exercises for the lower back. I've recently resumed playing squash after around a one year gap - I'm around 20 pounds over where I would like to be ie. at around 185-190 and I would like to be and have been around the 165-170 range when I feel good about myself at 5'11''. Most of the weight I've gained has been over the last 2 years. I enjoy playing squash and swimming. Biking is fine. Hate doing weights and running. In trying to shed the flab, I've been playing squash for around 45 minutes followed by 30 minutes of moderate swimming - there is nothing moderate about the squash though and I've started to see the progress over the last couple of weeks. However, after every exercise routine I get this very mild pain in my lower back - it's not the kind of pain which would stop or hinder me from going around the day normally and after a nice sleep I feel fine again. But it recurs the after the next routine. It has never happened before and my first guess was that it's because of the extra weight and would go away after my leg and back muscles get accustomed to the routine, but I am still having it after 3 weeks. I also thought that my body was not getting warmed up enough before getting on to the squash court so I started some basic stretching and biking to the gym (~1.5 miles) instead of driving and starting out on the court. Any thoughts? Suggestions? Please don't ask me to pump weights - I absolutely abhor it. Use any stretching exercise that you find on Youtube.. This one seems good enough -iY5V0xiiKw If you also want to lose weight, without running or weights,I would suggest you keep your calorie count to around 2400 cals a day at the max. You could also try functional exercises like dips,pushsups,pullups,squats and lunges..if you dont like weights.
Ram Posted June 21, 2012 Posted June 21, 2012 Looking for some help regarding some stretching exercises for the lower back. I've recently resumed playing squash after around a one year gap - I'm around 20 pounds over where I would like to be ie. at around 185-190 and I would like to be and have been around the 165-170 range when I feel good about myself at 5'11''. Most of the weight I've gained has been over the last 2 years. I enjoy playing squash and swimming. Biking is fine. Hate doing weights and running. In trying to shed the flab, I've been playing squash for around 45 minutes followed by 30 minutes of moderate swimming - there is nothing moderate about the squash though and I've started to see the progress over the last couple of weeks. However, after every exercise routine I get this very mild pain in my lower back - it's not the kind of pain which would stop or hinder me from going around the day normally and after a nice sleep I feel fine again. But it recurs the after the next routine. It has never happened before and my first guess was that it's because of the extra weight and would go away after my leg and back muscles get accustomed to the routine, but I am still having it after 3 weeks. I also thought that my body was not getting warmed up enough before getting on to the squash court so I started some basic stretching and biking to the gym (~1.5 miles) instead of driving and starting out on the court. Any thoughts? Suggestions? Please don't ask me to pump weights - I absolutely abhor it. Something similar happened to me recently as well, after doing some bowling in games earlier in the spring. After my first game after a long time, my lower stiffened like somebody injected concrete into it. It was so bad, the night after playing, I actually woke up in the middle of the night from sheer pain. I too felt it was maybe because I had not adequately warmed up. Recently, I have been bowling at indoor facilities and after every session, there's a lot of pain in my bowling arm, so much so that I cannot even shadow-bowl from a standstill position afterwards. The pain is there for a couple of days and goes away. I play again, the pain comes back again and the cycle repeats itself. Both these experiences are very unique to me. I have never experienced lower-back stiffness or left shoulder pain in my life before. :((