IKnowU Posted January 30, 2011 Posted January 30, 2011 Im planning on going on a exchange in the first 2 quarters of next year, and Im trying to decide where to go :hmmm: I have the option to go almost any country and city in the world, but I kinda cut down to these three options. I also had to consider costs because it costs about $1000/pm to go on exchange. And countries like Engerland would suck every last penny from my wallet especially with the strong Australian dollar. btw I chose two american colleges, because Im a huge basketball nut and living in america watching nba games would be gimp in my pants :aha: Sweden - Pros - Cute girls :blush: Europe, Always wanted to go back and live there. More genuine experience. Cons - Everyday life would be a bit slow. Not much to do. Uni of Florida - Pros - Its Florida Perfect Campus lifestyle experience Cons - Its in Gainsville, kinda away from a major city UCLA - Pros - It fecking LA :woot: Awesome atmosphere and lifestyle I hope Hollywood :desiman: Cons - :idunno: Safety maybe? Any other places you guys can suggest? :idunno:
EnterTheVoid Posted January 30, 2011 Posted January 30, 2011 First of all, congratulations on deciding to go on an exchange. Regarding a destination, I personally would choose a destination that is the complete opposite of Australia, in terms of 1. Weather 2. Culture 3. Lifestyle. With that in mind, I would choose somewhere in Europe. Sweden looks like a good bet.
IKnowU Posted January 31, 2011 Author Posted January 31, 2011 Yea, Sweden is the most likely destination followed by UCLA. However Im also looking at the possibility of countries like Germany and Spain. But language might be a problem.
Roshanrocks Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 go anywhere in europe yaar.... poora europe ghoom sakte ho...
punjabi_khota Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Go to UFL and meet up with the poster 'sangrock'. He can introduce you to the ladies. :nice:
flamy Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Fabulous! u beethes are so lucky! :D Choose Europe. like RoRo said, u can go all over.
flamy Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Go to UFL and meet up with the poster 'sangrock'. He can introduce you to the ladies. :nice: :WTF: is sangrock
punjabi_khota Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 :WTF: is sangrock rock+sangeet(mujic)=sangrock
Ram Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Well, if you’re a huge basketball fan, then FL is great because it has TWO of the top teams in the league – Miami and Orlando. Orlando is only about an hour and half’s drive from Gainsville, though Miami is a good 5 hours away. But, without a doubt, the East is certainly the stronger/more entertaining conf and you will some nice teams like Boston, Chicago come visit you as well. Plus, there’s an Excellent chance Carmelo Anthony may choose to join Amare Stoudamire next season on the Knicks. That will make it doubly entertaining. But, how many games are going to see anyway? Don’t forget, these tickets (at least the good ones) don’t come cheap. I paid a $150 for a half-decent seat for a Orlando-Boston game. Plus, you’ll be living on a shoe-string student budget. :D LA is good option as well. Don’t have to sing praises of LA (it is, without a shadow of doubt, one of the marquee cities of the world), but Cali is the liberal heartland of the US. By comparison, it is one of the coolest places you can go to. But all things considered equal, I would choose Europe. Its just a better place to be, full stop. Its easily the culture capital of the West, when compared to the US which is, by and large, just a maze of concrete. People are a lot more laidback/cool (I am told). Again, it all depends on how much money you’re willing to fork out for travel/exploration. If its just one place you will be in at all, maybe FL/LA is a good choice. But if you want travel and see different things, Sweden is the answer.
Cricketics Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Come over to Beautfiul Maryland. University of Maryland Most Greenest and at the same time most beautiful state in U.S. Linked to DC - VA. Metro system is pretty good. New York is near by too. We have Cold weather and than there is hot weather too. Climate is seroiusly good barring some snow shovelling.
cowboysfan Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 If you like NBA and basketball then move to Austin and attend the university of Texas,they have a great college basketball team and San antonio is close by(the next nba champs)so best of both worlds.Austin is a great city to live by the way.
Texy Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Austin is an amazing city.... ex longhorn here :D
ludhianvi Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Why would you want to exchange University for a couple of quarters. You'd out of sync when you come back. Maybe you should do your grad studies or an internship at an out of country university. And if all you want to do is experience a different lifestyle, then just go for a vacation in your holiday season :hehe:
IKnowU Posted January 31, 2011 Author Posted January 31, 2011 Well, if you’re a huge basketball fan, then FL is great because it has TWO of the top teams in the league – Miami and Orlando. Orlando is only about an hour and half’s drive from Gainsville, though Miami is a good 5 hours away. But, without a doubt, the East is certainly the stronger/more entertaining conf and you will some nice teams like Boston, Chicago come visit you as well. Plus, there’s an Excellent chance Carmelo Anthony may choose to join Amare Stoudamire next season on the Knicks. That will make it doubly entertaining. But, how many games are going to see anyway? Don’t forget, these tickets (at least the good ones) don’t come cheap. I paid a $150 for a half-decent seat for a Orlando-Boston game. Plus, you’ll be living on a shoe-string student budget. :D LA is good option as well. Don’t have to sing praises of LA (it is, without a shadow of doubt, one of the marquee cities of the world), but Cali is the liberal heartland of the US. By comparison, it is one of the coolest places you can go to. But all things considered equal, I would choose Europe. Its just a better place to be, full stop. Its easily the culture capital of the West, when compared to the US which is, by and large, just a maze of concrete. People are a lot more laidback/cool (I am told). Again, it all depends on how much money you’re willing to fork out for travel/exploration. If its just one place you will be in at all, maybe FL/LA is a good choice. But if you want travel and see different things, Sweden is the answer. I know big market places have way more expensive tickets and stuff, but its only for 6 months and I wouldnt mind paying to watch every other week. Do you know if the cost of living is generally the same across all the US cities or does it change state by state with different laws and taxes? :hmmm: Come over to Beautfiul Maryland. University of Maryland Most Greenest and at the same time most beautiful state in U.S. Linked to DC - VA. Metro system is pretty good. New York is near by too. We have Cold weather and than there is hot weather too. Climate is seroiusly good barring some snow shovelling. As much I like cold weather, Im not tempted unless its NY city, going on exchange in NY is almost impossible, you have to be affiliated with some of top unis in the world to do it. If you like NBA and basketball then move to Austin and attend the university of Texas' date='they have a great college basketball team and San antonio is close by(the next nba champs)so best of both worlds.Austin is a great city to live by the way.[/quote'] What do you know? I happen to be a spurs fan :blush: no bandwagoner either Austin is an amazing city.... ex longhorn here :D Austin seems great and my uni offers a exchange as well there, plus the fact that Austin is surrounded my awesome major cities Dallas, San Antonio and Houston. :two_thumbs_up: I might have to cross out Florida and replace it with Austin. Why would you want to exchange University for a couple of quarters. You'd out of sync when you come back. Maybe you should do your grad studies or an internship at an out of country university. And if all you want to do is experience a different lifestyle' date=' then just go for a vacation in your holiday season :hehe:[/quote'] Yea thats thing, its not only studies but a life experience, its once in a lifetime chance imo. I know I will have all the time to travel once I finish my studies and have a job etc. But the opportunity comes only once and I want to take it up especially when Im still in my late teens. Plus is beneficial for me to stay in Oz during my internship or working as a graduate rather then venturing overseas. These are all the choices I have in America alone: American University Arizona State University California State University Washington University Georgia Institute of Technology Purdue University Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey State University of New York at Plattsburgh State University of New York at Stony Brook Boston College Texas A&M University Tulane University University of Arizona University of California University of Connecticut (U21) University of Illinois University of Massachusetts University of Michigan University of Pennsylvania University of Richmond University of South Carolina University of Texas at Austin University of Virginia (U21) University of Washington University of Wisconsin - Madison (CALS) University of Wisconsin - Madison (ENG)
Texy Posted January 31, 2011 Posted January 31, 2011 Austin seems great and my uni offers a exchange as well there, plus the fact that Austin is surrounded my awesome major cities Dallas, San Antonio and Houston. :two_thumbs_up: I might have to cross out Florida and replace it with Austin. :two_thumbs_up: I tell you why Austin is a great choice: UT Austin - - World famous, Excellent Faculty members, diversity in student body, huge desi contingent, will find good roommates to share an apt with, excellent facilities, top College basketball team, excellent College football (american) team, great internship opportunities Music --- Live music capital of America....from tejano bands to rock bands to local jazz bands..this city has everything you can possibly think of music wise plus 2 of the most famous music festivals occur here --- SXSW (during Mid March), Austin City Limits (during early Oct) Outdoors -- if you prefer adventure like cliff diving, hiking, swimming, canoe-ing, rafting, camping, boating --- there are several lakes, trails, campsites, hills & colorado river, Mt. Bonnell, Enchanted Rock, Under ground caves in Georgetown, Barton springs natural pool, Hamilton pool natural preserve -- natural pool formed by 60 ft waterfall, Bastrop National park has awesome campsites....if you're into rock climbing you can go to Greenbelt (an area within Austin full of trails, cliffs, waterways for running, biking, hiking, climbing)...sky diving is also available 30 miles from Austin Night life --- World famous 4th, 5th, 6th st, warehouse district--- from sports bars to clubs, to all inclusive clubs, to VIP clubs to lounges, salsa/tango clubs, piano bars, mechanical bull riding club. Shuttles called E bus runs back and forth from campus free to UT students (regular bus/train is also free to UT students)..if you want to pick up wymenz, get drunk, blow off steam or just plain have fun...this is the place to be....Trust ME! San Antonio Spurs -- 1 hr away by car and you can pretty much catch most of the home games if you would like....ticket prices range from expensive to inexpensive...up to you. I personally always buy the $10 tickets and enjoy equally :D Other than these you can travel to Houston(NASA), Dallas - Ft. Worth, San Antonio(Alamo+Tower of Americas+River walk), Corpus Christi Beach, South Padre Beach (spring break best time to go :woot:), Galveston Islands, Big Bend National Park, McDonald Observatory -- 450 miles from Austin (Telescope atop Mt. Locke maintained by UT Austin's Dept of Astronomy) absolutely beautiful at night.