Laaloo Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 And Gambhir can't be dropped. He's our best batsmen when chasing. He needs to play especially if we play Pakis in the QF, since he hates them.
riwi999 Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 I don't consider Pathan a reliable bowling option too, tbh. I know he is seen as an all-rounder but everytime he bowls, my heart is in my mouth. His gentle off-spin will be massacred, IMO. Like I have said, we need Yuvi's bowling. All ten overs from him. He rarely goes for many (hope I am not jinxing him). For the 30 runs that he saves through his tight bowling, he is worth his place, IMO.
pensionplan Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 And Gambhir can't be dropped. He's our best batsmen when chasing. He needs to play especially if we play Pakis in the QF' date=' since he hates them.[/quote']Yeah I like GG a lot. He is one of those no non-sense type cricketers. Hope he regains his full fitness. But still the broader point of Kohli being a must in the XI still stands based on the present circumstances. It is a good problem to have as a skipper where in you are scratching your head on whom to leave out.
riwi999 Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 And Gambhir can't be dropped. He's our best batsmen when chasing. He needs to play especially if we play Pakis in the QF' date=' since he hates them.[/quote'] Not too sure about that. If the required run-rate starts climbing, I don't think we can depend on Gambhir to pull it off for us. Raina, Pathan and Kohli are all capable of heroics to bring the run-rate to manageable levels. Gambhir is a bit iffy in this respect. I like him and maybe he should play if we meet Pakistan but overall, I think Kohli is every bit as good a batsman while chasing than Gambhir. He only needs to make sure he does not get too excited and go for one big hit too many. He does that sometimes and gets caught right on the boundary line.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 Not too sure about that. If the required run-rate starts climbing, I don't think we can depend on Gambhir to pull it off for us. Raina, Pathan and Kohli are all capable of heroics to bring the run-rate to manageable levels. Gambhir is a bit iffy in this respect. I like him and maybe he should play if we meet Pakistan but overall, I think Kohli is every bit as good a batsman while chasing than Gambhir. He only needs to make sure he does not get too excited and go for one big hit too many. He does that sometimes and gets caught right on the boundary line. Gambhir is a certainty in this side. Over the last 3-4 years he's been the most consistent performer and adds a measure of stability to the batting order.
Cricketics Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 I like him and maybe he should play if we meet Pakistan but overall' date=' I think Kohli is every bit as good a batsman while chasing than Gambhir. He only needs to make sure he does not get too excited and go for one big hit too many. He does that sometimes and gets caught right on the boundary line.[/quote'] In short, let me put it this way. We need both Kohli and Gambhir in the same eleven. When chasing 280-320. You don't need big hitters all down the line up. You need players who can take you to atleast 200-3 or something so that from there on the hitters can finish it off. Gambhir is one of those, who is capable of doing so and so is Virat Kohli We need both of thse at the samed time. COME ON NOW.
Laaloo Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 In short, let me put it this way. We need both Kohli and Gambhir in the same eleven. When chasing 280-320. You don't need big hitters all down the line up. You need players who can take you to atleast 200-3 or something so that from there on the hitters can finish it off. Gambhir is one of those, who is capable of doing so and so is Virat Kohli We need both of thse at the samed time. COME ON NOW. ++ I don't know how it's so hard to understand. Sachin Sehwag Gambhir Kohli Yuvraj Dhoni Raina/Pahan Harbhajan ZAK 2 of Ashwin/nehra/PK/Patel
Silva Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 Raina is the only batsman we can kick out. Yuvi, Kohli, gambhir, tendulkar, sehwag, dhoni and Pathan have to play. I like raina but he picked a bad time to be out of form. Yuvraj is in bad form too but he has to be in the squad. 12+ overs of pathan and Raina bowling in the knockout rounds could be a disaster, you can't get away with that in 3 straight matches. Yuvraj has statsitacly been one of the best part time spinners in the world over the past year. If we get of to good starts the run rate will take care of itself and all 7 batsman have high strike rates we don't need Pathan and Raina playing together.
The Outsider Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 Even the consolidators or steady players in the Indian team like Tendulkar, Gambhir, Kohli, and Dhoni are not one dimensional consolidators. They can all take risks and increase the run rate if needed. They all have career strike rates comfortably above 80. It's not that if quick runs are needed they would struggle to increase the run rate.
jibranpatel15 Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 this is rubbish thread ever. Well u have to agree that batsmen who averages around 60 while chasing how can u leave him out yaar. Please don't start such thread for headach's to us
Laaloo Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 this is rubbish thread ever. Well u have to agree that batsmen who averages around 60 while chasing how can u leave him out yaar. Please don't start such thread for headach's to us abe tu South African fan hai. Tu kyu pareshan ho raha hai? Tu apni team ki fikar kar
Cricketics Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 this is rubbish thread ever. Well u have to agree that batsmen who averages around 60 while chasing how can u leave him out yaar. Please don't start such thread for headach's to us Breaking news from England. Kolpak players deported back to South Africa. Amla dropped from world cup squad and Boeta Dippenar will replace him as he has come out of the retirement.
daryl1985 Posted February 6, 2011 Posted February 6, 2011 And Gambhir can't be dropped. He's our best batsmen when chasing. He needs to play especially if we play Pakis in the QF' date= since he hates them. :hysterical: So funny but so true!
nsareen Posted February 7, 2011 Author Posted February 7, 2011 this is rubbish thread ever. Well u have to agree that batsmen who averages around 60 while chasing how can u leave him out yaar. Please don't start such thread for headach's to us Well again i've got tired explaining , agreed kohli has to play, we are discussing who would you sit out against which team when he plays. Simple as that, if this gives you headache , consider the selectors thinking into it, tough job right?
nsareen Posted February 7, 2011 Author Posted February 7, 2011 ok then why not draft in RD too as he is even more experienced than either of Yuvraj or Raina that can also keep wickets. I just cannot fathom how they can sit out a player who is just playing superbly over the last few months at the top of the order. In that case let us hope one of Sehwag/Tendulkar/Gambhir do not recover in time for the WC. If the team cannot find a place for both Kohli and Yusuf in the present circumstance then it got to be a boneheaded move and let us hope there is an injury somewhere to play these two players who have earned it. agreed.. kohli is experienced in his own terms now. has played against most countries, bangladesh sri lanka ,australia , new zealand and south africa even West INdies. Enough of experience , he can handle em all.
nsareen Posted February 7, 2011 Author Posted February 7, 2011 Leaving Kohli and YP out could turn out to be a move that could hurt Dhoni's captaincy' date=' esp. if Ind gets knocked out with both Yuvi and Raina in the playing 11 for most of the games .... And I have seen Ind fail in the past with Yuvi and Raina playing one (or two) good knocks and then doing little in ICC events.[/quote'] true... and more so as both are left handers , kohli brings the best defence than these two left handers.
nsareen Posted February 7, 2011 Author Posted February 7, 2011 Sehwag is unlikely to bowl much given his shoulder injury. Raina is not a reliable part time option at all. Yes.. Sehwag would not be a reliable bowler. Raina can contain for a few overs, but when people are hitting him he gets confused.
nsareen Posted February 7, 2011 Author Posted February 7, 2011 Breaking news from England. Kolpak players deported back to South Africa. Amla dropped from world cup squad and Boeta Dippenar will replace him as he has come out of the retirement. :haha: half of england is made from south africans