vaibhav_delhi Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Huh ?? Whatever If you say so:rolleyes:. The FACT remains that even with the same types of pitches as India, Sril Lanka and Pakistan produce genuine Fast Bowlers like clockwork, regularly. India produces NONE...... or at least none that last long ! If my theory is so wrong, do you have any alternative theory ? Or are you going to comfort yourself like some others on this Forum and say that genuine pace isn't important (? Sour G****s:winky:) and swing and good line and length is all that counts ? You dont know when to stop, do you?? who has been the most successful fast bowler from india and pakistan in the last 12 yrs?? An indian, right??... these are the bowlers pak has been fielding in recent years : S Tanvir (test avg 63.20) arafat( avg 48.66) Sami (52.27) Rauf (46.33) Rana (58.00) Rao(1 test, 0 wkts) And, not-so-special, Riaz and Gul . the slow-medium Asif who used to take nendrolone to enhance speed\performance. and you have Akhtar cant bowl 2 overs without sweating like a pig, and whose test career is long FINISHED. Aamer was pretty much all they got who is currently under fixing ban. sala pata nahi kis baat ka fake pride hai tumhe...Gone are the days of wasim n waqar....pakistan have got NOTHING. even ball-tempering is getting caught these days, so the pakiz cant even do that now.. Pakistan's w\l ratio with their lauda-chhap bowlers is 0.6 since 2000 , compared to indias ~1.2 against the top 8 teams with the zaheers, RPs, irfans, sresanths and sharmas of this world.... If bowling fast won you cricket matches, India would have pwned pakistan there too....
Andy Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Good that China doesn't play cricket and don't have fast bowlers otherwise they would be suggesting Indians to eat Octopus and crabs to become fast bowler. :cantstop::cantstop:
LilleeoftheNile Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 Why doesn't India produce more fast bowlers? Firstly, why does India hate DRS? All the arguments i've heard are stupid. I figure DRS = less 'benefit of the doubt'...so bad for bowlers and India is a batting team, so.... But behind that Q is another: why aren't there hordes of quality fast bowlers coming out of India? Can't help but think these two are linked. Any insight appreciated. PS Ponting is clearly better than Tendulkar, because he captained
Trichromatic Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 Firstly, why does India hate DRS? All the arguments i've heard are stupid. I figure DRS = less 'benefit of the doubt'...so bad for bowlers and India is a batting team, so.... But behind that Q is another: why aren't there hordes of quality fast bowlers coming out of India? Can't help but think these two are linked. Any insight appreciated. PS Ponting is clearly better than Tendulkar, because he captained If you had spent some time searching the forum then you would have easily found the replies which you're going to get for your questions. I doubt you will find anything new or different from what has already been written million times here. Welcome to the forum. Introduce yourself here. P.S. Dhoni clearly better than Gilchrist because he captained.
Tridibans_16 Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 LOL what a first post to start your career at ICF.... that is if you are not troliing :-)
Old guy Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 better post here and get done with it :two_thumbs_up:
LilleeoftheNile Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 no not trolling...well ok the pointing thing...but otherwise genuine question
Number Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 better post here and get done with it :two_thumbs_up: :cantstop:
Number Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 1. Lack of role models. -- In batting S Gavaskar, Vishwanath then Sachin, RD etc while no genuine fast bowler who teens can look up to. 2. Pitches are not conductive of pace bowling from junior level to International. 3. Pacers are not encouraged to bowl fast, rather line and length bowlers are preferred as both are poor but one finishes his task with less runs conceded.
LilleeoftheNile Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 thanks Numb! All those things^ are changeable tho and tbh, i can't think of one truly 'great' team that did NOT have good fast bowlers. Been thinking about it ever since Sharma came here and roughed up Ponting in Perth. Man we were excited. He was young, confident and FAST. For the first time i could see India dominating world cricket. Did you guys not see/ feel that? I was so hopeful!! Mebbe 20:20 has something to do with it? Then again, a good batter is a good batter in any format. Same should hold true for bowlers. And India SHOULD be THE powerhouse in cricket. From a distance, seems like it just must be run pretty badly? You wouldn't be alone there tho!!! Anyway thanks Numb
vayuu1 Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 India produces fast bowler it's just that we don't handle them properly
LilleeoftheNile Posted August 21, 2012 Posted August 21, 2012 If you had spent some time searching the forum then you would have easily found the replies which you're going to get for your questions. I doubt you will find anything new or different from what has already been written million times here. P.S. Dhoni clearly better than Gilchrist because he captained. OMG, you bought me here? (What? Because of diet?? What??) But fair call on that last bit. I'd take Dhoni over Gilchrest too...but tbh Sangakara would be my first pick Ok try for something different then - I would like to ban helmets, but that's not going to happen. How about instead a new dismissal "hit helmet"?
MCcricket Posted August 22, 2012 Posted August 22, 2012 Simple reasons for India not having a battery of fast bowlers, initially not having a culture for fast bowling, bowlers before Kapil who were pacers were not supported or given a run by BCCI AND CAPTAINS, places with potential to produce strong fast bowlers were not tapped or avoided by BCCI most noticeably Bihar, Jharkhand, U.P ,PLAYERS NOT BEING SUPPORTED BY THE LOCAL BOARDS AND BCCI MAKES IT A VERY RISKY BUSINESS TO BOWL FAST IN THIS COUNTRY. One does'nt have to be big and huge to be a fast bowlers, they come in all size and shapes and would be hard to generalize,most of the cricket talent in India is not tapped as yet,IPL is a big motivation for young cricketers to make it big even if BCCI/state boards ignores them, we are way behind China in identifying, grooming, nurturing talent, same goes for every sport.
LilleeoftheNile Posted August 22, 2012 Posted August 22, 2012 sorry Vamos, missed ur post^. No i'm from Adelaide MC, sounds like a great summary^, thanks. Still trying to get my head around it all! A cricket board that hates fast bowlers?? Almost unbelievable. What about start with one of your good batting pitches and cut in a strip all the way down the pitch... make it about as fat as say, middle peg to a few inches outside off.... then lay down a new strip of pace friendly pitch That way u mostly keep the good batting/ spinning pitch, but also something for the quick if good enough. Dunno if that's physically possible or not But reckon something like that^ + the extra hit helmet dismissal in the lower grades would work a treat
thongale Posted August 22, 2012 Posted August 22, 2012 Even Sri Lanka doesnt produce any express bowlers. Kulasekara and Malinga are mid 130s at best. Kulasekara may be military medium, but SL did produce more than it's fair share of quick bowlers. Malinga was a 150k bowler for two seasons, and still gets up to 145k on occasions. Nuwan Pradeep gets up to 145k. Fernando, after 10 years of debut, still gets it to 145k. There was few instances where bowlers did bowl very quick spells (Ex. Prasad, against India, Nissanka against WI). Even few guys in FC circuit is hitting 140k in the SLPL. The same pattern we could see in India too. It's not that we don't have quick bowlers, but they break down in such a frequency, 75% of the time we are without a fast bowler
Crookbond Posted August 22, 2012 Posted August 22, 2012 Why doest India produce fast bowlers? Not saying that fast bowlers are more effective than medium pacers/spinners, but we dont have any genuine quickies who consistently keep it above 90+ mph. Is it a cultural thing? Youngsters see their icons in the team and all are great batsman so they are more inclined to bat, rather than bowl, But we have produced Vinay Kumar and Sreesanth? :dontknow:
Crookbond Posted August 22, 2012 Posted August 22, 2012 Kulasekara may be military medium, but SL did produce more than it's fair share of quick bowlers. Malinga was a 150k bowler for two seasons, and still gets up to 145k on occasions. Nuwan Pradeep gets up to 145k. Fernando, after 10 years of debut, still gets it to 145k. There was few instances where bowlers did bowl very quick spells (Ex. Prasad, against India, Nissanka against WI). Even few guys in FC circuit is hitting 140k in the SLPL. The same pattern we could see in India too. It's not that we don't have quick bowlers, but they break down in such a frequency, 75% of the time we are without a fast bowler I know Ravindra Pushpakumara was very fast for SL but he was just too 1D.
ChanaLal Posted August 23, 2012 Posted August 23, 2012 1. Fast bowlers cant be made........... (and then) 2, Technique is the key when bowling. If you can't make a fast bowler how is technique the key? Technique is a process and like any process you can learn it. You can learn technique through good coaching. Good coaching is possible through great coaches in pace bowling. India lacks great coaches of pace bowling. This is the answer. Out of a billion people you would imagine we would find 100 fast bowlers by mistake. However with one great bowling coach, we can have as many as we need. Point 2 above is the key but who is going to coach it?
ChanaLal Posted August 23, 2012 Posted August 23, 2012 1. Lack of role models. -- In batting S Gavaskar, Vishwanath then Sachin, RD etc while no genuine fast bowler who teens can look up to. 2. Pitches are not conductive of pace bowling from junior level to International. 3. Pacers are not encouraged to bowl fast, rather line and length bowlers are preferred as both are poor but one finishes his task with less runs conceded. This is very true. The best post on this thread.