CG Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 I'm convinced he is the fastest pacer in India at the moment. the Hyderabad speed gun(hence Ishant's) isn't credible...in any case Ishant's speeds barely crossed 145 in the very next game. this guy has already done it many times in the 4 overs he bowled. And each time he bowled below 140 kph it looked like he was varying his pace. I have no doubts that e can be a regular 145 kph bowler for us. not a Tait or Shoaib but can definitely be a 90 MPH bowler. ishant is quicker than aaron,he bowled 150+ consistently and next match you are talking about he was still faster than steyn at 145km/h
vvvslaxman Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 if you are talking int standards then steyns line nd lenght is above avg pollocks line nd length was much better. steyns strength is his extra pace ,when ever he get hit he come back by bowling quicker, if his strength was line and length then when ever he gets hit he would immediately drop his pace and focus on line nd length It was combination of everything. That is why he has the best strike rates of all time. Also he is not injured like lot of other fast bowlers.
abhinav Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Guys, I was at the ground yesterday and saw him 'up-close'. A couple of things I noticed about him which are not really related to the speed of his bowling with which I feel we over-consumed: 1. The boy is a cool customer, he seemed eager to get on with it. I saw no nerves even when he was not bowling or whenever he was called to bowl a over. I think that is a good sign. 2. If at all he ever makes it to Team India, he will redefine the way we field. He absolutely SUCKS at it. At one time he almost jogged while chasing a bowl and Warner had to make a lot of ground to stop the boundary. But this definitely is an area where he can easily improve. Just on his bowling, I think he came back really well after those first two balls. Another youngster could have easily melted under the pressure of that initial onslaught - could have either died trying too hard or just lost his rhythm completely, Varun had the brain to work his length out and bowl in the right areas. I'd love to see the DD team management give him another go.
jibranpatel15 Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Varun looked good. His speed was around 145K & its not bad at all But he needs to get lines & length's worked out. He was wayward throughout his 4 overs.
abhinav Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Veeru on Aaron: Sehwag also heaped praise on young Varun Aaron, who scalped the important wicket of Punjab skipper Adam Gilchrist in the 11th over. "Aaron is exceptional, he is very good bowler, he has got pace and he was bowling good at nets. If you are defending 230 plus any bowler will go for runs but he is good bowler and bowls good yorkers too," he said.
Prakat Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Guys, I was at the ground yesterday and saw him 'up-close'. A couple of things I noticed about him which are not really related to the speed of his bowling with which I feel we over-consumed: 1. The boy is a cool customer, he seemed eager to get on with it. I saw no nerves even when he was not bowling or whenever he was called to bowl a over. I think that is a good sign. 2. If at all he ever makes it to Team India, he will redefine the way we field. He absolutely SUCKS at it. At one time he almost jogged while chasing a bowl and Warner had to make a lot of ground to stop the boundary. But this definitely is an area where he can easily improve. Just on his bowling, I think he came back really well after those first two balls. Another youngster could have easily melted under the pressure of that initial onslaught - could have either died trying too hard or just lost his rhythm completely, Varun had the brain to work his length out and bowl in the right areas. I'd love to see the DD team management give him another go. 1. Yes, at one point I remember seeing him asking the keeper to throw the ball back impatiently after beating the bat. He was in a hurry to bowl the next one. This is a good sign. 2. His fielding definitely has to improve. He was ambling behind the ball with no intention of stopping it when the other fielder dashed across the boundary and stopped it. And yeah, I'd have rated his wicket a lot less if it had come off the first ball. But to hold his nerve after being welcomed with a 4 and a 6 and come back strong was a encouraging sight.
rkt.india Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Lee and Malinga were still Lee and Malinga when they started off - much better in their youth without all those niggles and patchwork done over the years. Aaron will nvr be one of them - would pbly become a decent bowler by our standards Malinga was not even consistent to play for Srilanka when he was 21..he was one of the most wayward bowler they had...used to bowl long wides down leg which his awkward action....he learned it with time and improved. Brett Lee was good but had played a lot of FC cricket was at least 2 year older. many here are comparing him to some legend bowlers, a young guy who is at the start of his career people compare him to some 5-10 years experienced players... No one said he will start bowling miracle deliveries straight away...threads were opened because of his potential...
rkt.india Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 it is because lee doesnt really swing it ' date='where as steyn swings it at a similar pace as lee[/quote'] No..its because conditions in South Africa are more suitable to swing and soft pitches makes the ball to move a lot...in Australia pitches are hard and if you play out 1st hour of Ist session its very easy for batsman to score runs..they is not much swing in Australia and if it happens its rare...they are hard bouncy pitches which are good for batsmen too.... South Africa is the best place for fast bowlers to bowl
dragonfly Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Malinga was not even consistent to play for Srilanka when he was 21..he was one of the most wayward bowler they had...used to bowl long wides down leg which his awkward action....he learned it with time and improved. Brett Lee was good but had played a lot of FC cricket was at least 2 year older. many here are comparing him to some legend bowlers, a young guy who is at the start of his career people compare him to some 5-10 years experienced players... No one said he will start bowling miracle deliveries straight away...threads were opened because of his potential... Ishant Sharma. :hatsoff:
rkt.india Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 that is debatable aus nd sa are similar , in highveld ball carries more due to altitude but is it significantly quicker than perth or gabba ,but i feel durban is where the pacers can get a lot of help specially during high tide . as far as lee is considered he doesn't swing it consistently like steyn does,lee has played lots of matches in eng sa but he has not swung it that much ,occasionaly even mitch swings it like in the 3rd ashes test at perth bt does that make mitch a swing bowler? That was because of conditions. In South Africa you will get more moisture in the pitches where Australia pitches are harder...Steyn and Lee both are different bowlers...Steyn is a swing bowler can bowl quick whenever he wants that is why he is so dangerous in any condition while Brett Lee was an out an out quick bowler...even now Lee can bowl as quick as Steyn when he has past his best.... Don't it was the quratret of McGrath, Lee, and Gillespie and Warne which made Australia dominate in tests and Lee was an important part of the bowling unit... his roll used to be to soften the batsman with his pace and I have seen him harassed the batsman like Kallis with sheer pace....the benefit of which was taken by the other bowlers many a time....I still remember his insanely quick bowling spells in 2003 world cup....those were just unplayable stuff sometimes....
rkt.india Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Comical India TV in their report said: Aaron Finch cleaned bowled Adam Glichrist What a stupid channel......:cantstop:
Show_stopper Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 ishant is quicker than aaron' date='he bowled 150+ consistently and next match you are talking about he was still faster than steyn at 145km/h[/quote'] Yeah lets see how long he maintains those speeds! As someone said this kid crossed 145 quite a few times and bowled the fastest ball of the match in which Morne was in great form. Ishant in the very next game crossed 145 only once(146 kph). So I don't think its right to say Ishant is faster.
abhinav Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Comical India TV in their report said: What a stupid channel......:cantstop: Atleast they got it half right..usually they get it 100% wrong :hysterical:
desi pride 1234 Posted April 24, 2011 Author Posted April 24, 2011 good prospect for india. he will be our spearhead if he remains injury free.
youngindia Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 out swing at 145? lee at his best would bowl at avg speed of 145 .are you trying to tell that lee bowling at 145 means cutting down on his pace ? at full tilt, you are bound to lose control. At average speed, you are bowling with in yourself and exert reasonable control. i don't think 145 is lee's average at his peak. i would think its more like 148 lee did get conventional swing with the new ball.i have seen it more than occasionally.
msb1991 Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Looks promising. He should likely be on the OD leg of any A team series in the future. Indian domestic cricket is producing a few bowlers capable of 140kph now - Aaron, Dinda and Yadav all have good speed. It will not be long until we keep up with England who have a slightly greater number of bowlers at 140kph in their domestic circuit.
express bowling Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Varun looked interesting and pacy. I thing he will bowl quicker if he plays a match when the batsman is not trying to tonk every ball for 6. Generally, inexperienced fast bowlers are at their quickest when they are in control rather than the batsmen. He has a tendency to try yorkers and I like that. I hope he gets more encouragement to bowl fast from the team management and more opportunities.
express bowling Posted April 24, 2011 Posted April 24, 2011 Some posters think that Varun did not look good enough compared to the hype that preceeded his debut. I think that we, as a nation, need to encourage fast bowlers. Only if we have a culture of bowling fast will we get a couple of good fast bowlers from that pool. If every bowler who does not bowl like Steyn during the early part of his career is ignored then how would young bowlers find the motivation to bowl fast in a country where fast bowling culture is not present. We need to realize that Dale Steyn, in his current state, was not made in a season or 2. Also, not all fast bowlers will become even close to Steyn. But we still need to encourage them so that a pool of genuine quickies are formed. Out of them a couple of genuinely quick and genuinely good bowlers will surely come. It is good to see that we have 3 young bowlers who are bowling consistently quick this season ( Ishant, Aaron and Umesh ) . Among them Ishant is bowling well except during the slog overs. That is encouraging.
Prakat Posted April 25, 2011 Posted April 25, 2011 Some posters think that Varun did not look good enough compared to the hype that preceeded his debut. I think that we, as a nation, need to encourage fast bowlers. Only if we have a culture of bowling fast will we get a couple of good fast bowlers from that pool. If every bowler who does not bowl like Steyn during the early part of his career is ignored then how would young bowlers find the motivation to bowl fast in a country where fast bowling culture is not present. We need to realize that Dale Steyn, in his current state, was not made in a season or 2. Also, not all fast bowlers will become even close to Steyn. But we still need to encourage them so that a pool of genuine quickies are formed. Out of them a couple of genuinely quick and genuinely good bowlers will surely come. It is good to see that we have 3 young bowlers who are bowling consistently quick this season ( Ishant, Aaron and Umesh ) . Among them Ishant is bowling well except during the slog overs. That is encouraging. This is just the sort of thinking we should discourage. Don't you think, after winning the World Cup and being the #1 Test Team we deserve nothing but the best when it comes to players. I mean how dare this kal ka nitwit bowling at a meagre avg. speed of 140-145kmph, expect to be accepted into a side like ours? It's only if we keep these sort of upstarts down, stifle them and derail their fledgling careers at the beginning, that we can keep a spot open for the true blue 150+ express pacer when he shows up. The kind of bowler who can and will be comparable to Steyn, Tait and Akhtar. We deserve it. We deserve nothing but. We will not suffer anymore.
rkt.india Posted April 25, 2011 Posted April 25, 2011 This is just the sort of thinking we should discourage. Don't you think, after winning the World Cup and being the #1 Test Team we deserve nothing but the best when it comes to players. I mean how dare this kal ka nitwit bowling at a meagre avg. speed of 140-145kmph, expect to be accepted into a side like ours? It's only if we keep these sort of upstarts down, stifle them and derail their fledgling careers at the beginning, that we can keep a spot open for the true blue 150+ express pacer when he shows up. The kind of bowler who can and will be comparable to Steyn, Tait and Akhtar. We deserve it. We deserve nothing but. We will not suffer anymore. yaar when we can accept Munna dadaji, Ashish Nehra, and Sreeshanth there is no reason why can't we accept him...it is great that we won the world cup but don't be in any illusion, this team is not that great a team, like Australia of last 2 world cups. We have lots of gaps to fill in our line up and to get some better players to fill those gaps. This team has many average to below average cricketers...we won because the standard of quite a few teams has gone down and in that process we not just maintained our standard, we upped it a little bit. We are still to become a team which deserves only the best when we are already playing some mediocre players and those mediocre players we are playing are not gonna get better any more, so we have to concentrate on our youngsters whether he is a batsman or a bowler, we will need both in the future as our legend batters will not last very long, and to make those youngsters better than the average ones we have write now. If we will think players will come automatically, that will lead to our downfall. Continuous working and inventing for better things is the virtue of human species and even animals do the same to their ability and mind they got, but as the more superior brain, we are more capable of doing this. If we will need only best then the progress will be stopped, because those best players come in a decade or two. The best thing is nurturing the new ones rather them leaving them to their destiny and hope they will good themselves. That is the worst thinking we can have.