WC2011INDIA Posted June 29, 2011 Posted June 29, 2011 Also make sure your cover letter and CV are in good shape. The cover letter tries to persuade your future boss to take a look at your CV. If thats crummy, they'd bin your CV without even looking at it. Maybe your GPA is not good enough? Or he could just be going through a rough time. High GPA's dont mean squat really. Got to learn to market yourself is more important. I never said that they were the sole criteria. But they are the criteria that matter the most. His problem here isnt that he's messing up interviews. He isnt getting very many. He isn't getting a chance to "come across as well rounded person in the interview". I think my cover letter is good. It isn't too detailed. It's short and readable. My resume is 2 pages long that covers important things like Skills, Relevant Courses, Projects and Experience. Btw I went to Carleton University that has been placed within the top 500 universities in the world according to The Times World University Rankings. I asked for feedback from the two companies I was interviewed at and these are what I got, Company 1: "To be very honest I can't think of any. Your interview went very well. It just so happens we found someone with more experence who can hit the ground running. There might be openings in the future so keep in touch" Company 2: "I think it was perfectly fine. You became victim of the number game. The candidate we interviewed last Friday has 2.5 years of experience directly related to what we do and won't require any training. You would have required training so we felt it is better to go with the other person. We will keep you in mind because we plan on expanding in other areas in the future. You can always come and visit us again. Keep in touch" :banghead:
zen Posted June 29, 2011 Posted June 29, 2011 bhai uni rankings means little if you don't have proper status .... In USA, it works for many but in other countries it is tough .... I was accepted to one of the top ten MBA programs in Europe, I didn't pursue it because I knew that the chances of getting kicked out would be higher compared to say USA Don't go by what the employers say. If you are good, they will hire you or you get responses like 'Blah blah but at this point we feel someone else is a better fit' Life says hello, wake up!
donkey Posted June 29, 2011 Posted June 29, 2011 I applied for 2-3 positions at Hatch' date=' but didn't hear anything from them. Are you an engineer working in Canada?[/quote'] I am general labour at walmart. Try Hatch Sudbury they like hiring recent graduates. Also Saskatoon is always short on engineers, keep trying man.
WC2011INDIA Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 bhai uni rankings means little if you don't have proper status .... In USA, it works for many but in other countries it is tough .... I was accepted to one of the top ten MBA programs in Europe, I didn't pursue it because I knew that the chances of getting kicked out would be higher compared to say USA Don't go by what the employers say. If you are good, they will hire you or you get responses like 'Blah blah but at this point we feel someone else is a better fit' Life says hello, wake up! And how to do you propose getting PR status? I can only apply for PR if I have 1 yr of continous full-time experience OR I have been offered a permanent job. I fit neither category so cannot apply for PR.
Desi Cartman Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 Try using help of a career coach, its not too cheap but its money worth spending. I never realized how helpful/good a career coach can be till I started using one myself. PM me if you want to get to introduced to one. Give it a go, its worth a shot especially since time is running out for you
Desi Cartman Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 DT - u still in IBM? Whats ur position I moved to an IBM Business Partner in Nov last year :--D
zen Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 And how to do you propose getting PR status? I can only apply for PR if I have 1 yr of continous full-time experience OR I have been offered a permanent job. I fit neither category so cannot apply for PR. Oh boy, appears as if Canada has the loose ends tied up .... Employers would hesitate to hire w/o PR, and you need 1 year work experience to get PR Try Alberta or one of those states
zen Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 @ WC2011INDIA Don't worry too much though .... If you like Canada and want to live, then you can do the following: 1. Like what many have said: Try to get a permananent job (I know you are trying already but ....). Check out states like Alberta. In your interviews, try to stress on points where employers get the hint that you are going to stay in Canada in the long term 2. Point 1, doesn't totally depend upon you so if things don't work out: go back to India, get work experience in your field, apply for PR and then come back to Canada with full force 3. Like what someone suggested, you could seek advise from an career/immigration consultant. They may know a few loopholes and strategy You are just out of college and have a lot more to look forward to. Nothing is lost yet :winky: .... Sometimes you are destined to do something else, and who knows what life is pulling you towards!
The Outsider Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 Yes but in rare cases. Since their immigration is 'open' right now' date=' they prefer people who want to move there permanently.[/quote']
WC2011INDIA Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 @ WC2011INDIA Don't worry too much though .... If you like Canada and want to live, then you can do the following: 1. Like what many have said: Try to get a permananent job (I know you are trying already but ....). Check out states like Alberta. In your interviews, try to stress on points where employers get the hint that you are going to stay in Canada in the long term 2. Point 1, doesn't totally depend upon you so if things don't work out: go back to India, get work experience in your field, apply for PR and then come back to Canada with full force 3. Like what someone suggested, you could seek advise from an career/immigration consultant. They may know a few loopholes and strategy You are just out of college and have a lot more to look forward to. Nothing is lost yet :winky: .... Sometimes you are destined to do something else, and who knows what life is pulling you towards! Thanks buddy. I actually graduated in February 2010. After that I got a contract job for 8 months at a construction company. It went well and the managers I worked with gave me recommendation letters too. However, their workload decreased drastically so they didn't need my services. I went on a 2 month vacation and returned thinking after my 8 month experience in private sector, I should be able to land a permanent job sooner than later. Bah. I am in touch with my former employers to see if they could give me some contacts or introduce me to employers. Let's see....problem is that those managers have failing health so dunno
Sir_Afridi Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 Thanks buddy. I actually graduated in February 2010. After that I got a contract job for 8 months at a construction company. It went well and the managers I worked with gave me recommendation letters too. However' date=' their workload decreased drastically so they didn't need my services.[b'] I went on a 2 month vacation and returned thinking after my 8 month experience in private sector, I should be able to land a permanent job sooner than later. Bah. I am in touch with my former employers to see if they could give me some contacts or introduce me to employers. Let's see....problem is that those managers have failing health so dunno This was your big mistake. Instead of going for a vacation, you should have marketed yourself aggressively to get another job. These days, even the experienced workers are giving up vacations and working extra to keep their jobs.You acted irresponsibly and paying for it now.
WC2011INDIA Posted June 30, 2011 Posted June 30, 2011 This was your big mistake. Instead of going for a vacation' date=' you should have marketed yourself aggressively to get another job. These days, even the experienced workers are giving up vacations and working extra to keep their jobs.You acted irresponsibly and paying for it now.[/quote'] Well my parents forced me to come on vacation because they wanted me to see me as I hadn't visited India for the past 6 years. What can I say man? :((
Rajiv Posted July 1, 2011 Posted July 1, 2011 I actually thought things became easier for students, it wasn't that easy when I came here 11 yrs ago. Infact of the people I know works at a Gas Station, and he gor PR as he found someone to sponsor his job. He was also refused once before Keep trying but why don't u back to India? --------------- Shwetabh, why Canada? - tera to US mein set hain
The Outsider Posted July 1, 2011 Posted July 1, 2011 Shwetabh, why Canada? - tera to US mein set hain Just for a change - like trying out East coast and West coast in the US. Haven't given it a serious thought, but just some time pass idea.
WC2011INDIA Posted July 1, 2011 Posted July 1, 2011 I actually thought things became easier for students, it wasn't that easy when I came here 11 yrs ago. Infact of the people I know works at a Gas Station, and he gor PR as he found someone to sponsor his job. He was also refused once before Keep trying but why don't u back to India? --------------- Shwetabh, why Canada? - tera to US mein set hain I would like to go India, but my parents have told me to delay it until next year due to some problems back home. I asked them to tell me what it is, but they didn't. They said to try and find something here in the mean time.