http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/business/india-business/Government-to-pump-Rs-1732-crore-into-Air-India/articleshow/9483993.cms
NEW DELHI: In a bid to pump cash into the financially-troubled Air India, the government on Thursday cleared a Rs 1,732 crore package for the flag carrier, that was struggling even to pay salaries to its staff. The decision was taken at a meeting of the federal cabinet here, presided over by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who had assured Parliament a day ago that swift steps will be taken to help the carrier clear the backlog in the wage bill. The package calls for Rs 1,200 crore as equity and Rs 532 crore as the fare for VVIP and evacuation services, so that the carrier can meet both its immediate needs and also raise funds on its own for its other operational and fleet expansion programme, official sources said.
Even a proverbial white elephant would give better returns. Such a waste of tax payers' money.
jab bakra kat-ta hai to sab mein bant-ta hai... one man cant do *****.
Did you not listen to the Radia tapes ? Praful was stripping off assets in AI and was trying to sabotage the carrier to profit Mallya. Of course sab me hi batega.

How many months before they need another package ? Do we need a state owned carrier now that there's plenty of private ones unlike the 90s ?

Did you not listen to the Radia tapes ? Praful was stripping off assets in AI and was trying to sabotage the carrier to profit Mallya. Of course sab me hi batega.
No I didn't, I usually stay away from poltu-details, its all so depressing.. Ignorance is bliss - they say.
No I didn't' date=' I usually stay away from poltu-details, its all so depressing.. Ignorance is bliss - they say.[/quote'] True that.Some of the reports were staggering and depressing. Check out the mil-baat ke khaane vaale log.The entire country being run by a few privileged families whose sole job is to weave a web of deception among us gullible lot. Long live nepotism! http://realfacts-indianmedia.blogspot.com/2010/03/who-owns-indian-media-communists.html

Agreed. Government of India is wasting so much money and resources to keep Air India afloat. All these unnecessary expenditures can be utillized for upliftment of weaker sections of society. I also blame the Air India staff for this crap. They are so scared of privatization of Air India because once that happens most of them will be fired for both incompetence and poor work ethics. Right now they are in the gov't, so they have the chalta hai attitude.

Govt is not stupid, they are not 'wasting' money.. just creating new channels to their pockets! You are either a parasite or a host. Symbiosis is rare in conscious beings.

Air India unions are nothing but thug organizations, first they need to be tamed to actually fight for employee rights rather than trying to suck the treasury dry on people's money.

^ yep.. saw that, was a must watch for me, as last year I and parents had pathetic on-flight experience with them. 14-15 hours wait at airport, I would have done even worse - that mob was relatively more civilized.

I don't intend to come across as some 'patsy' or whatever, but whatever is happening in Air India is completely the Govt.'s doing... and Yoda-esque got it right. My mom's worked (and still is) in Indian Airlines (now AI) for the past 30 years, first as a crew member, and now as ground staff. She's told me a lot about the goings-on in there, and it's all worsened ever since Praful Patel was at the helm. The guy is a scumbag of the highest order and has completely bled the carrier dry- it all escalated after the AI-IA merger and after its profitable routes were poached off to Kingfisher and Jet. The Govt. owes crores to AI by way of catering bills (the Babus demand 'special meals' from Taj and Ambassador flight kitchens when they fly AI and upgrade themselves and their entire tolis to 1st class when they've all booked economy class seats), chartered flights for VIPs (which, more often than not, are 'regular flights' cancelled or diverted at the last minute) and failed deals with Boeing and Airbus over the years. The thing about babus misusing their power and privileges may not sound like a huge deal, but calculate the losses incurred over the past decades, and you can well imagine how much they owe to the airline. It's the Govt.'s duty to pay whatever it owes to AI (not the taxpayer- do note the difference), and recently, when AI demanded it, the Centre simply refused. The babus are treating the airline like their own personal limo service, it's absolutely pathetic. The top management are in cahoots with the Govt. (particularly Patel, when he was the Aviation Minister) and are mere puppets of the Centre. Arvind Jadhav for one doesn't know a thing about the aviation industry- he was formerly in the K'taka Govt. and has an infra/power/trade background. The top guys are given penthouses and apartments in South Mumbai, with the company paying for their transportation and expenses, while the 'regular staff' are being made to cope with not having been paid for 2 months. Even the peons and sweepers haven't been paid, how the f**k are they supposed to make ends meet? I could go on and on about what the Govt. is doing to try and screw the airline over in favour of private carriers. It's an abomination, and many people believe it's a scam that could put even the 2G one to shame.

I don't intend to come across as some 'patsy' or whatever, but whatever is happening in Air India is completely the Govt.'s doing... and Yoda-esque got it right. My mom's worked (and still is) in Indian Airlines (now AI) for the past 30 years, first as a crew member, and now as ground staff. She's told me a lot about the goings-on in there, and it's all worsened ever since Praful Patel was at the helm. The guy is a scumbag of the highest order and has completely bled the carrier dry- it all escalated after the AI-IA merger and after its profitable routes were poached off to Kingfisher and Jet. The Govt. owes crores to AI by way of catering bills (the Babus demand 'special meals' from Taj and Ambassador flight kitchens when they fly AI and upgrade themselves and their entire tolis to 1st class when they've all booked economy class seats), chartered flights for VIPs (which, more often than not, are 'regular flights' cancelled or diverted at the last minute) and failed deals with Boeing and Airbus over the years. The thing about babus misusing their power and privileges may not sound like a huge deal, but calculate the losses incurred over the past decades, and you can well imagine how much they owe to the airline. It's the Govt.'s duty to pay whatever it owes to AI (not the taxpayer- do note the difference), and recently, when AI demanded it, the Centre simply refused. The babus are treating the airline like their own personal limo service, it's absolutely pathetic. The top management are in cohorts with the Govt. (particularly Patel, when he was the Aviation Minister) and are mere puppets of the Centre. Arvind Jadhav for one doesn't know a thing about the aviation industry- he was formerly in the K'taka Govt. and has an infra/power/trade background. The top guys are given penthouses and apartments in South Mumbai, with the company paying for their transportation and expenses, while the 'regular staff' are being made to cope with not having been paid for 2 months. Even the peons and sweepers haven't been paid, how the f**k are they supposed to make ends meet? I could go on and on about what the Govt. is doing to try and screw the airline over in favour of private carriers. It's an abomination, and many people believe it's a scam that could put even the 2G one to shame.
Wow.Thanks for sharing this information.:two_thumbs_up:

^ No problemo. People just need to know what's going down before demanding that the airline be privatized- that's exactly what they want. This sort of thing is what conspiracy buffs abroad call 'problem-reaction-solution'. The ones who create the problem themselves take on the garb of saviours in the public eye and come up with a self-serving 'solution' to the 'problem' they created in the first place. JRD Tata would be rolling in his grave if he knew what was being done to his baby. P.S: Just thought I'd add here.. a majority of the guys in our team are from AI :cantstop: Dhoni, Bhajji, Yuvi, Raina, VVS, etc. all get fat managerial paychecks from AI (apart from the crores they get on the side).

I understand govt and babus are the reason AI is bleeding today , but AI has reached a stage where there is no come-back. Its the best interest of govt and people, AI should be privatized.