Where do your loyalties lie, NRIs?  

• India
    • Adopted country

I don't see any conflict between the two... I moved to USA for a good education and standard of living and I am grateful to the country but I also love India.. but I rather stay here because quaility of life is better. USA doesnt play cricket so i support india but i dont know who i will support if they played each other in cricket

When it comes to patriotism, there's really only one group that can brag about it - The Armed forces. The rest of us can just talk the talk. If somebody asks me what the 5 most patriotic things I have done in the last 5 years, I'd honestly struggle come up with 2 (Rooting for India in the WC, shedding tears of joy when we won the cup etc dont count as patriotic acts, in my opinion) When it comes to the rest of us, our loyalites, fairly and squarely, lies with the $$$$$$ and more comfortable living environs. You flip the exchange rate between the $ and the rupee so that One rupee is worth $40 and I can guarantee you, 95% of the desi gangs will be outta here in a week. Of course, there are other isolated instances of people wanting to pursue their passions in Science and math with post-graduate degrees and those are invariably found only in the West.
Sorry Ram, I am not with you on that. Just being in the armed forces is no great reason to believe the person is patriotic and that is why he is doing so. People join the armed forces because they are just as passionate as say Rahul Dravid was when he was a kid and wanted to play a Test for India. Or that Kalam was when he was a kid wanting to be a great scientist. You have no idea the amount of power that the armed forces has to abuse the civilians. You have no idea the amount of freebies personnel in the armed forces get. You go to a military canteen and you can buy a Reebok for 1000 bucks when the rest of the country has to pay 5000. Same case with groceries, vehicles, etc. It is a career. Now, the same goes for IPS and Police Force. In fact I can argue the IPS people are even more patriotic than Armed Forces because they don't even have 10% of the power that a Military fellow has. I think each one of us is patriotic in his own way. I will tell you this in utmost honesty, I am a patriot to my civilization. Fortunately for me my country embodies my civilization. If Pakistan embodied Bharatiya civilization then I'd be patriotic to them. Just coz someone leaves the country and goes for greener pastures to feed his family does not make him any less of a patriot. Besides, let us understand that patriotism is no longer relevant in human evolution. Who the fu

It doesnt matter where i m Born my ancestors are Indian my dad is Indian my mum is Indian and I m Indian i will always support India no matter what .

This has never really occurred to me, always seemed natural. I've yet to meet another Brit-Asian who will root for England ahead of 'their' team, or feel their loyalties are conflicted in Ind/Pak/Bangla-England cricket matches. Respect other opinions though.

Well ,India offers duel citizenship (Overseas Citizen of Ind) :winky: For me, it depends upon the sport and how good a team is in that sport so, for example, Ice hockey ----> Canada Cricket ----> India, Mumbai Indians (Baroda a part of it)

The way the global world is moving towards (get smaller day by day), question of citizenship and loyalties will raise confusion. I believe you can probably breakdown citizenship into two categories, which most NRI have, an Economic Citizenship (i.e. adopted country, naturalized etc.) and Cultural Citizenship (affinity to a certain country due culture, religion, ethnicity etc. but can't officialize it i.e. like a passport). The strongest case of such situation more than Indians, Pakistanis, or Chinese immigrants (and 2nd, 3rd generations) is the Jewish global diaspora's strong affinity and connection to Israel be he or she a American, British, Russian, Indian, or Ethiopian Jew. And I feel for that reason many NRIs (or 2nd and subsequent generation Indians) no matter how disconnected they become from India they will always have that affinity and connection to India for cultural, religious, or ethnicity reasons for they know if ever in times of trouble India will be their "home" their motherland. But if the RI would welcome them with open arms in times of trouble is another issue AND a question!

Well ' date='India offers [b']duel citizenship (Overseas Citizen of Ind) :winky: For me, it depends upon the sport and how good a team is in that sport so, for example, Ice hockey ----> Canada Cricket ----> India, Mumbai Indians (Baroda a part of it)
it never considered citizenship, the privileges are the same except you can't run for political position or something Also, my OCI was stamped in old Canadian passport, do I need to get it re stamped in new passport? I know it never mattered for Indian one as I had 5 Indian passports and US etc visa was in older ones
I don't know if you have to get the OCI transfered to the new passport but the consulate (per the FAQ below) charges $25 to put the sticker on the new passport .... considering that the consulate would want to milk those living abroad, may be you may have to get it transfered http://www.cgitoronto.ca/OCI/ociFAQ.html For clarification, try calling VFS (the company that process apps on behalf of the consulate) @ 1-877-599-8071.
It's better to but you can travel even if you don't. You need to carry your old passport though.
Last night, me and a friend were having a heated argument on the relative ethical value of supporting India when you are a citizen of England. He said, "yeh chewthiye log udhar jaa ke, unke country mein citizen ban ke usee country ke khilaf kyu hote hai?" I tried dismsissing him off saying "yaar it's just a game, kayko seriously le ra?". The he asked me how I would feel watching a Bangladeshi immigrant wave his national flag when India plays Bangles. I said, if it is Bangles, hell I'll support them over India coz they are underdogs. Anyway he brought me back to the main point. And I reasoned that even if I happened to become a citizen of some other country, there is no way I would support any other country over India because I was born here and have spent 34 years in this country and it's part of my identity. Then he said, "I ain't talking about someone like us...I am talking about the second generations or third generation fellows who are basically born there and/or brought up there completely...have those Amreeki and Brit accents, etc" I reasoned that only some of them who are like ABCDs will support India but most of them will be American / Brit / whateva country supporter. Of course I am not well informed about the phenomenon but I promised to get an answer for him by asking u guys here. Your thoughts and allegiances, pls...
all loyalty is limited to sports; beyond that those born outside India feel nothing for India; its the same as Indian supporting say a Brazil or Argentina during football WC but know nothing or feel nothing for both as countries
Evidence in this thread says otherwise
Yay, the hypothetical condition I imagined and mentioned in this very thread has become real!!!!!
Wow! So for the desis who want Amreeki passports, etc that is the best thing to do. Get pregnant and a week before you are due go to the US for a holiday. Yay, my baby is an Amreeki!!! Will the US Govt be willing to, on humanitarian grounds, provide some kinda work visa to the father/mother to work in the USA so the baby can stay in the USA? Edit - By the way, what happens if the kid is born in the plane?
So, the question is no longer in the realm of hypothetical stuff but in the here and now. What's the nationality of this baby?