ganeshran Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 You have to create something out of nothing? The quota information was never used in isolation....some connection does not mean only connection....many struggle' date=' does not mean all struggle... and so on.[/quote'] My posts were only responses to those who suggested there was a connection but such a connection cannot be arrived at given the current information available about the case. It is you who is creating something out of nothing here. I dont agree, emotionally vulnerable people can be so regardless of their achievements in other fields. Repeated failures on every front does lead to self esteem issues but success on the academic front does not necessarily mitigate vulnerability on the personal front. No, but it is an insititution which does not accept quota for employment.
akshayxyz Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 My posts were only responses to those who suggested there was a connection but such a connection cannot be arrived at given the current information available about the case. It is you who is creating something out of nothing here. I will repeat again - there is nothing wrong in saying 'xyz' fact might be related. That in no way is stereotyping group of 'xyz'. It is same as when you say, her being from Infosys is some sort of positive thing. I dont agree, emotionally vulnerable people can be so regardless of their achievements in other fields. Repeated failures on every front does lead to self esteem issues but success on the academic front does not necessarily mitigate vulnerability on the personal front. Wo kahawat suni hai - khaali dimaag shaitan ka ghar? If you are busy succeeding (or at least trying to) on one front, it helps in more than one ways. I am sure there are bio-chemistry studies which show direct correlation between winning/succeeding and secretion of stress-relieving hormones. No, but it is an insititution which does not accept quota for employment. So.? Now, you are comparing admission criteria of IIT/IIMs to admission criteria of Infosys? Do you know, when you write IIT/IIM on your resume, it gets relatively easier to get job at Infosys (and it is definitely not the gold standard in field of employment either), and they won't even ask whether you were quota student or not... and don't attempt to tell me about 'objective' interview process.
EnterTheVoid Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 You knobs are dishing out advice as if you knew what that girl was going through.
Roshanrocks Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 The boy has been taken into custody because of her suicide note... what happens if the boy commits suicide blaming the girls father? will he be arrested too? What will have to be proven for the boy to be found guilty?
akshayxyz Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 The boy has been taken into custody because of her suicide note... what happens if the boy commits suicide blaming the girls father? will he be arrested too? What will have to be proven for the boy to be found guilty? Nothing short of mental torture sustained over long term, I guess. Which can't be proven, unless she was keeping a diary - which can still be (un)proven as a product of her delusional/unbalanced state of mind.
ganeshran Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 I will repeat again - there is nothing wrong in saying 'xyz' fact might be related. That in no way is stereotyping group of 'xyz'. It is same as when you say, her being from Infosys is some sort of positive thing. You said it might be related. I said there is no information to suggest so. My point was that we cannot automatically assume that she struggled academically just because she came from ST background. Wo kahawat suni hai - khaali dimaag shaitan ka ghar? If you are busy succeeding (or at least trying to) on one front, it helps in more than one ways. I am sure there are bio-chemistry studies which show direct correlation between winning/succeeding and secretion of stress-relieving hormones. The severity of the reaction towards failure in love depends on the level a person is emotionally invested in the relationship. I dont think it has a definite relation with success in other fields. Success in other fields can give you higher confidence but not everyone takes the same level of confidence from achievements and uses that to get self confidence about a relationship. Grey area since there are so many variables involved. So.? Now, you are comparing admission criteria of IIT/IIMs to admission criteria of Infosys? Do you know, when you write IIT/IIM on your resume, it gets relatively easier to get job at Infosys (and it is definitely not the gold standard in field of employment either), and they won't even ask whether you were quota student or not... and don't attempt to tell me about 'objective' interview process. She wasnt an IIT / IIM student when she got into Infosys. She did her BTech from KIIT. Then Infy, then IIM B. I didnt portray Infy as a gold standard - just a company which does not follow the quota system for employement
asterix Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 Kuch kaam dhaam nahin hain kya logon ko? :hmmm:
Yoda-esque Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 Too much analysis and speculation going on ..
yoda Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 The boy has been taken into custody because of her suicide note... what happens if the boy commits suicide blaming the girls father? will he be arrested too? What will have to be proven for the boy to be found guilty? Have the contents of that been released or leaked?
Raghav_12 Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 Charging boy with abetment of suicide may be a bit far fetched. But boy seems to be a jerk and can not be completely exonerated.
coffee_rules Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 The girl's father has enough grounds to sue FB. I hope they do. Somebody has to pay for this loss of life.
ganeshran Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 The girl's father has enough grounds to sue FB. I hope they do. Somebody has to pay for this loss of life. How is FB liable for this?
Yoda-esque Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 ^ What grounds are those? Its like people trying to sue McDonalds for getting fat by eating Cheeseburgers
punjabi_khota Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 The girl's father has enough grounds to sue FB. I hope they do. Somebody has to pay for this loss of life. My sarcasm detector is failing me
Rajiv Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 Sue FB? Quota System Areee..she was a nadaan chokri..leave it bored geniuses
coffee_rules Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 don't know..had seen a L&O episode where a online gamers website is held liable for causing a murder (inciting thru violent games). Guy dumps a girl and brags on FB. THis causes enough embarassment for her to commit suicide. THere is no way FB could have stopped, so I probably jumped on the thought early.
akshayxyz Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 You said it might be related. I said there is no information to suggest so. My point was that we cannot automatically assume that she struggled academically just because she came from ST background. There is enough data to support that someone getting admission through quota in an institution that values merit, is more likely to struggle academically as compared to someone who got there purely based on merit. The severity of the reaction towards failure in love depends on the level a person is emotionally invested in the relationship. I dont think it has a definite relation with success in other fields. Success in other fields can give you higher confidence but not everyone takes the same level of confidence from achievements and uses that to get self confidence about a relationship. Grey area since there are so many variables involved. and who is claiming that it applies to everyone - I am talking about likelihood and not undeniable 1-1 correspondence. She wasnt an IIT / IIM student when she got into Infosys. She did her BTech from KIIT. Then Infy, then IIM B. I didnt portray Infy as a gold standard - just a company which does not follow the quota system for employement I assume your reference to non-quota system of Infy has to do with not a case of low-self esteem? Do you see the dichotomy in your statements? On one side you are saying getting into Infy (based on merit) can rule out low-self-esteem, on the other hand, you are saying getting into IIT/IIM through quota can not be related to low-self esteem!!! Let me ask you two simple yes/no queries: a) Is there no correlation possible between low-self esteem and suicidal tendencies? b) Is there no correlation possible between low-self esteem and getting admit through quota? After that only we can talk about likelihoods, exceptions etc.
akshayxyz Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 Sue FB? Quota System Areee..she was a nadaan chokri..leave it bored geniuses Can they? :winky:
ganeshran Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 There is enough data to support that someone getting admission through quota in an institution that values merit' date=' [i']is more likely to struggle academically as compared to someone who got there purely based on merit. and who is claiming that it applies to everyone - I am talking about likelihood and not undeniable 1-1 correspondence. Your stand takes the following steps when applied to this particular case. - A student who comes through the quota system is more likely to struggle academically. A person who struggles academically is more likely to have low self esteem. A person who has low self esteem is more likely to commit suicide. Hence the logical train of thought you use to connect A and B has uncertainty and probability at every stage, bringing the overall probability of there being a connection between her being a quota student and her suicide even further down. My stand on this is simple. If it was a thread about her academic performance, then the quota angle would have been valid to be discussed, but connecting her being a quota student to her suicide by making broad assumptions is not valid, especially with the information available to us currently. I assume your reference to non-quota system of Infy has to do with not a case of low-self esteem? Do you see the dichotomy in your statements? On one side you are saying getting into Infy (based on merit) can rule out low-self-esteem, on the other hand, you are saying getting into IIT/IIM through quota can not be related to low-self esteem!!! Let me ask you two simple yes/no queries: a) Is there no correlation possible between low-self esteem and suicidal tendencies? b) Is there no correlation possible between low-self esteem and getting admit through quota? After that only we can talk about likelihoods, exceptions etc. Strawman. My reference to non quota system of Infy was merely to highlight that her academic achievements stood the scrutiny of an organization which doesnt factor in quota while selecting candidates. It had nothing to do with her self esteem or why she committed suicide, which has so many variables involved that cannot be accurately speculated upon with the information we have at hand. The low self esteem and suicide certainly have a high correlation but the correlation between low self esteem and admission through quota would be much lower. When you combine both of your points, the overall correlation is even lower.
Ram Posted September 21, 2011 Posted September 21, 2011 The guy is a pr1ck for doing what he did, broadcasting his 'decision' to the entire world, but it madness to think that he is solely responsible the girl's suicide. Who knows what other internal battles the girl was fighting within? The 'dumping' of her was probably the tipping point, but there could have been 1000s of factors that could have brought her to the brink. Unfortunately, now it looks like the dude was the sole reason why she chose to end her life.