...This is for a job within the same company. I just applied for another role, I have NOT told my current manager that I have done so. Thinking, I have only applied, let us see if it even get to interview stage and I shall tell her then. I get on well with my manager and a huge amount of respect for her. Have I played it right? Should I tell her if I do get called for interview, or not even then? Bearing in mind it is internal its not bad, i.e Im not keen on leaving the company, and they are big on internal promotions/movement

I think you ought to tell her. Its best that she finds out from you than from someone else and holds a grudge against you for not informing her. If you tell her, she may even be on the look out for such openings in the future and could even recommend you for it.

Really? yes, I have read that elsewhere too you know. I just think it will seem bad that I want to leave her team. In actual fact I do not so much- I like where I am now- its just that what has come up is a great oppo. I think youre right. Have literally just applied an hour or so ago, I can tell her first thing tomorrow

Not long back, my manager was interviewing candidates for a postion in my team. He came across a resume from a guy within our company. He got his details and called his current manager. My manager asked him if the candidate was available. I am assuming he said no. My manager just put his resume aside and wrote in the remarks that he is not available. I am not sure if this in the norm, but thats what my manager did.

...This is for a job within the same company. I just applied for another role, I have NOT told my current manager that I have done so. Thinking, I have only applied, let us see if it even get to interview stage and I shall tell her then. I get on well with my manager and a huge amount of respect for her. Have I played it right? Should I tell her if I do get called for interview, or not even then? Bearing in mind it is internal its not bad, i.e Im not keen on leaving the company, and they are big on internal promotions/movement
Why are you obliged to tell?

^Well I guess Im not, purely out of courtesy/decency I think I owe her that much. Like Maryam said, if she finds out from elsewhere (like in Nikreds example, if someone calls her to ask about me) then it would not be nice I think. she is a great manager and I do not want to have any possible reason for her to be annoyed at me. Especially If I remain here I do not want her to bear any grudges!

Clarity in communication always work. You say that she's a good lady and you have a good rapport. What's the harm in telling? Maybe she could advice you of any similar roles in other companies too. Tell her before she hears from the crowd.

So far you have played right...Dont tell her till interview (But i guess she will know once u r interview over) .there is no gurantee that if She needs you in her team,she will let you go so easily. Better to give some hints if possible,just for the sake of Not burning bridges. For all the promotional events companies do for internal movement majority of them are end up Bitterly.. I have seen one incident in our company where a Guy who wanted to move into other buseness told by his manager they wont allow him to move he is free to go out of company if required In another incident a Guy cleared interview with other buseness was told after some time he doesnt know a specific skill..(which the interviewer knows even before interview )..this happened necuase of a discussion between the guys teams HR and the other teams HR (in our org we have 6 sepearte buseness.. So seperate HR) So Proceed carefully...end of the day your career is More important

Managers always rely on experienced and reliabale team members and their attitude does gets changed once they know that one of the team member might move as to replace that team member, the manager has to either train a new person or delegate to another team member. So it's a hassle.. However the World doesn't stops for anybody. The norm is to let the manager know that you are trying for a different 'challenge' to widen your horizon of knowledge and experience and you would be delighted to 'join back', in her team, after gaining experience in another department. My wife was in similar situation. She was in the good books of her manager's manager. So it always helps to be in good terms with your managers' boss(s). And you let all of them know about your move. That way lower level managers have less tendency to create problems.

I am sorry but there is something ur worried about' date=' thus the query to strangers who don't know the whole picture[/quote'] Well yeah! Im worried about upsetting my boss. Hence I thought there might be people here, more experience in the world of work than I, who may provide pointers on how to go about this Youre right yeah, have made up my mind to tell her tomorrow. Just wondering how to go about it... :nervous: really? Hm. hopefully theyll be a bit more open to it here, certainly act like it. I think I will tell her outright that ive applied ASAP...might even get some advice on whether its the right move Yeah thats what im going to tell her :D get on ok with the boss's boss but havent got much to do with her. We'll see how she reacts Im sure she will be understanding.

See Sooda, the more you think about it, the more difficult and awkward it will get. Think of it as "just another conversation". You'll be fine. Remember, don't be nervous and lie. Just be honest. Bol de yaar. Its not like your marriage ceremony that you need to do things according to an agenda. Itna nahi sochne ka, bhai.

In the MNC I work in, internal movemonts are always encouraged and no one can stop anyone from applying to any position. Having said that, one of the first things the recruting guy does, (providing he likes the candidate) is to cross-check with the candidate's current manager and any feedback is taken very seriously. I have been lucky to have had good managers and have always managed to move when I feel I am stuck in one role or when its time to get promoted. But taking the manager into confidence is something I have always done and right from the junior level, I have always found managers to have the maturity to not take such things personally. In fact I have been positively encouraged and given a good legs-up by some of my managers. The bigger you grow in a company, apart from your work-skills, a lot of your success depends on building relationships with your managers and the upper management. So, always remember not to burn your bridges as you move up the ladder. To reach a certain level in any company, most people will already be very skilled and talented, so the only distinguishing factor will be who you know, how well you are able to sell your skills and how well your peers/managers talk about you. Always remember to be very transparent and on good terms with people

sooda..i just gave couple of examples...there are some examples of people moving Succesfully..Most of them are in Managerial level... Also regarding people talking about their companies promoting internal movements even our company do that in Big ways..even when some joininng newly to a team they will tell there opportunities across the buseness in future..Even our Top managers show in annual meetings the Internal movememts in thier Achievement list :wink: Its better you take decisions based on your org and get information from your colleaugues or people who already moved out... Except for not burning bridges i dont thin you have to show too much attachment to managers...these are professional environments.

Sooda, Every company has a different culture. It is best you do it based on the environment you work in. Some encourage lateral (cross-group) moves, some are a pain. As a general suggestion - you can politely inform your manager since she is a good person.

In the MNC I work in, internal movemonts are always encouraged and no one can stop anyone from applying to any position. Having said that, one of the first things the recruting guy does, (providing he likes the candidate) is to cross-check with the candidate's current manager and any feedback is taken very seriously. I have been lucky to have had good managers and have always managed to move when I feel I am stuck in one role or when its time to get promoted. But taking the manager into confidence is something I have always done and right from the junior level, I have always found managers to have the maturity to not take such things personally. In fact I have been positively encouraged and given a good legs-up by some of my managers. The bigger you grow in a company, apart from your work-skills, a lot of your success depends on building relationships with your managers and the upper management. So, always remember not to burn your bridges as you move up the ladder. To reach a certain level in any company, most people will already be very skilled and talented, so the only distinguishing factor will be who you know, how well you are able to sell your skills and how well your peers/managers talk about you. Always remember to be very transparent and on good terms with people
seems like a good place ro work . Mine isnt bad , but getting a release from a project is a pain, unless you are not a performer ..you want to leave , you leave the company .