Holysmoke Posted October 7, 2011 Posted October 7, 2011 First visit india.. go to a store and check it out. Makes no sense trying to buy it just for the price. Should've rather got the hp touchpad for 100.
rkt.india Posted October 8, 2011 Posted October 8, 2011 http://www.thinkdigit.com/Mobiles-PDAs/Your-guide-to-the-new-35-Aakash_7700.html read this.
WC2011INDIA Posted October 8, 2011 Author Posted October 8, 2011 http://www.thinkdigit.com/Mobiles-PDAs/Your-guide-to-the-new-35-Aakash_7700.html read this. Thanks man. Looks like it isn't worth it.
rkt.india Posted October 8, 2011 Posted October 8, 2011 Thanks man. Looks like it isn't worth it. It is in our blood. We Indians love mediocrity so much.
Trichromatic Posted October 8, 2011 Posted October 8, 2011 It is in our blood. We Indians love mediocrity so much. Trundler tablet at normal price. :woot:
rkt.india Posted October 8, 2011 Posted October 8, 2011 Trundler tablet at normal price. :woot: yeah...Tata Nano:giggle:
Clarke Posted October 8, 2011 Posted October 8, 2011 Its been designed for kids who don't have access to a computer whatsoever, not for most people here have quad core laptops & dual core smartphones. I'd say don't even bother ..
WC2011INDIA Posted October 9, 2011 Author Posted October 9, 2011 Get visa first! can you stop this nonsense already?
nballa Posted October 10, 2011 Posted October 10, 2011 agreed, $35 is a bargain for some stunning apps like a digital alarm clock, calculator, metric to fps converter etc.
panesarv Posted October 11, 2011 Posted October 11, 2011 As long as it can browse internet, it should be worth it
Sidhoni Posted October 11, 2011 Posted October 11, 2011 I saw it yesterday, would give it a 6/10, but due to its price, I would give it a 7/10 Its heavier and thicker compared to other tablets.The touch screen is hard and you have to touch firmly to select an option. The android version used is not available in any other tab.
Sidhoni Posted October 11, 2011 Posted October 11, 2011 As long as it can browse internet' date=' it should be worth it[/quote'] You need a wi-fi to do that
Shane Posted October 11, 2011 Posted October 11, 2011 You need a wi-fi to do that Specs: The Aakash tablet comes with a seven-inch 800x400 resistive touchscreen. It runs on Android 2.2 Froyo OS and is powered by 366 MHz + HD video co-processor. For connectivity, it has an inbuilt WiFI support and can connect a datacard for 3G and GPRS connectivity. The device comes with a 2GB of storage memory, which can be extended up to 32GB via microSD. It has a 256 MB RAM. The device supports document formats: DOC, DOCX, PPT, PPTX, XLS, XLSX, ODT, ODP and can run PDF viewer, Text editor. It has a 2,100 mAh battery which is promised to give 3 hours of backup depending upon usage.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 15, 2011 Posted December 15, 2011 Aakash goes on sale for Rs 2500 online NEW DELHI: Datawind, the maker of the world's cheapest tablet has put up for sale about 30,000 tablets online at a price of Rs 2500 each, with a delivery period of seven days. The seven inch tablet with Android 2.2 is now available through its portal aakashtablet.com. "We have put up on sale about 30,000 tablets online, which will have a cash on delivery of 7 days. We have achieved pre-sale orders of about 400,000 tablets from individuals and corporates. But current supplies will only be limited for individual buyers," Datawind CEO and founder Suneet Singh Tuli told ET. Aakash's next commercial version called the Ubislate 7, which has a faster processor, is slated to be launched late January. Ubislate 7 is set to have a 700 Mhz processor compared to the 366 MHz processor in Aakash. Ubislate 7 will be priced at Rs 3000 for sale online. Datawind though seems to be struggling with customer service issues for online retail, even though the sale is only for a limited number of tablets. According to sources, the Indian government is also planning to provide a new specification for Aakash, which may come with a faster processor and better battery life. The current version of Aakash has a battery life of about 1.5 hours. An email to the Ministry of Human Resource and Development, which is supplying the tablets to schools and colleges remained unanswered. The government till now procured only 10,000 tablets. It has still not procured the remaining 90,000 tablets for distribution in schools and colleges, even as other nations have expressed interest to the government for similar low-cost computing initiatives. Link
ViruRulez Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 OK. Already posted. I just saw it today that it is out for sale. I pre booked Ubislate 7 to test it out. Rs.2999 me waise bhi kya ja raha hai. Testing ke liye hi sahi. You can prebook it at: http://www.aakashtablet.com/ I would personally recommend the Ubislate 7 one which would come out in January. Processor and Battery Backup are quite better compared the basic one. It is also a phone (hardly anybody would use a tablet for calling ) and perhaps has also got speakers and a couple of USB ports. Not a bad one to be honest for a mere 3K bucks. At least a good one for testing and for the needy who not have access to computers or internet. Hope the villagers would not start using it for browsing porn in the future. :giggle: To be honest when all the major brands are selling tablets at 30K to 40K Rs. then selling one for only Rs.3K with at least one third or half of its features is not at all bad. Leave apart tablets even mobile touchscreen android phones are sold at a lot more than that. Android market is not available which is but natural as that would result in devaluing the market by Google. But one more good thing I saw is that they are inviting students to create apps for Aakash and also rewarding the best apps. Quite interesting as that would encourage entrepreneural and innovative behavior in those kids. At least one good thing which UPA has done for which there must be due credit.
Cricket_2_Death Posted December 18, 2011 Posted December 18, 2011 Oh damn, i thought you had sources to get one of these: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akash_(missile) That is the first thing I thought of too. :cantstop:
CSK Fan Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 14 lakh units booked in 14 days! :ohmy: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/tech/news/hardware/Aakash-tablets-14-lakh-booked-in-14-days/articleshow/11347895.cms Looks like it will be a huge hit