saneindian Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 I find it quite amusing that revival of India Pakistan cricket relations has been a discussion point on Ten Sports throughout the ongoing Pak-SL series. Match after match the talk has centered around why the ball is in BCCI's court. Even the fans in the stadium have put up posters related to the revival of cricket relations. Do we ever hear Indian commentators talk about it in a bilateral series where Pak is not even playing? do our fans care as much? Tony Greig had also talked about this during the test series that concluded. That got me thinking wether Ten Sports has a hidden motive and has set the agenda for these discussions. Your thoughts?
saneindian Posted November 14, 2011 Author Posted November 14, 2011 Oops, mods please correct the spelling in the title , thanks :icflove:
asterix Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 They are desperate to have a series against India. I don't know why? :hmmm:
ganeshran Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 The PCB is obviously interested for financial reasons as India-Pak series bring in a lot of money. Pakistani fans are interested because many of them place cricket as a proxy to the political rivalry between the two nations.
Karan114 Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Tony Greig had also talked about this during the test series that concluded. That got me thinking wether Ten Sports has a hidden motive and has set the agenda for these discussions. Quite possible. On the question of whether Indian fans care as much about India-Pak series as the Pak fans - definitely not.
asterix Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Ten Sports has a hidden motive and has set the agenda for these discussions. Agenda is there clearly. The discussion and also banners shown during the broadcast looks clearly PHIXED by Ten Sports.
punjabi_khota Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 yes we are obsessed :haha: u r a funny man. :two_thumbs_up:
Clarke Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 yes we are obsessed aapko baniye ki 'muh mein ram ram bagal mein churi' zehniyat ka ilm nahi hai :winky:
panther Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 aapko baniye ki 'muh mein ram ram bagal mein churi' zehniyat ka ilm nahi hai :winky: translate please
singhprakash72 Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Well to have a Indo Pak series is more to do with Political drama between govt of two nations than to do with any cricketing reason. But leaving the politics aside, I think we missed some great Test matches due to boycotts in 90s and now post 26/11 carnage. (Though personally I will not complain till we nab and prosecute the perperators of crime on humanity.)
Malcolm Merlyn Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Ten Sports will reap a lot of money if Pakistan host India anywhere..........they are already facing loses after they paid such a huge amount for the Pakistan broadcast rights.
carnish Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 we can play a series in INDIA but only if pak dont ask us to visit PAK or play at neutral venues in return... if anythng even the pakistan home games can be played in india...
Pagalpanti Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 IMO sports and politics shouldn't mix. I'd like to see Ind-Pak series too, but not an over-kill which was during 2004-2006.
Sarkar Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 IMO sports and politics shouldn't mix. I'd like to see Ind-Pak series too' date=' but not an over-kill which was during 2004-2006.[/quote'] Over 160 innocent people get killed by pakistani terrorists in din dahade attack but some people wants cricket series with Pakistan that too on Indian soil wah mera desh premiyon agar kuch kaha tho ko ban milega aur kahenge sports politics mix karna nahin chaiye.
maniac Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Their whole cricketing identity revolves around Indo-Pak matches Guys like Salman Butt,S.Malick,K.Akmal have got countless oppurtunities and have supporters despite being S**** players based on their heroics against India. Misbah who is one of the better things to have happened to Pak cricket recently is hated there bcoz he failed in T20 final and WC SF despite him being the sole survivor till the end. Umar Gul who I think is their best bowler currently has his detractors for failing against India. Afridi though credit where due has become a very good LOI bowler in recent times is a larger than life hero bcoz of his Kanpur innings.He was just a mediocre bits-pieces player back then. They derive little victories even in inconsequential things for them like India's whitewash of 4-0. This was such a big victory for them despite they themselves lost 3-1 and failed to even cross 200 on most occasions and became an even bigger laughing stock of the world by getting involved in scandals etc... Our fans wanted our team to win the WC and ofcourse beating pak would make the WC victory that much more sweeter for us and mean a lot but to them WC starts and ends with beating India.
Utalk Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 May be it's because we are used to beating India in games outside world cups. We have far superior record head to head and would like to widen the gap.
Pagalpanti Posted November 14, 2011 Posted November 14, 2011 Over 160 innocent people get killed by pakistani terrorists in din dahade attack but some people wants cricket series with Pakistan that too on Indian soil wah mera desh premiyon agar kuch kaha tho ko ban milega aur kahenge sports politics mix karna nahin chaiye. Why should politics come into it though? And if we're boycotting Pakistani's then why not do it altogether, we're letting their artists come here, woman cricket, blind cricket teams are playing with each other. Whats with just boycotting men's cricket?