2nd test at Sydney; Pre-match and Review thread

Texan

lol @ idiots calling dhoni a dumb captain. Same captain gave us the glory and happiness that many indian captains failed to give. So i would say stfu and give him some time.
i can see a brainwashed dhobi fan living in denial

The problem with Dhoni is that he is very ordinary test batsman . He is not capable of making big scores especially outside Asia .We see with West Indies that how difficult it is for a mediocre test player to be captain . A proven good test player as captain can get away because team mates know its just temporary and have seen him winning games earlier but with Dhoni players know he can't make a match winning score in tests in tough conditions/situations and are thus demoralized Think of this Indian players see opposition captain get 300+ and know in their heart that there captain is not capable of even scoring 100 even in best of forms and making a formidable contribution A captain coming at 7 when mostly match is already lost is of no use unless you are Gilchrist who could do extraordinary things. If Dhoni has to continue he needs to come at 5 , score hundreds if he can , average in mid 40s and prove himself a match winner like he is in one day & 20-20 Personally i think he should be replaced by Sehwag , at least players can count number of big knocks he has played and thus command respect

But Dhoni is not a specialist batsman. He is primarily a wicket keeper who can bat. Scoring 100s, 200s is mainly a job of the top order batsmen.

Dhoni is a good ODI captain, where the main focus is on containing runs rather than taking wickets. Probably its a question of mindset. It may be very difficult to change as we are playing 7-8 ODIs between 2 or 3 Test matches. Thats why some countries like SA and England have different captains for different formats. We too need a different captain for Tests. Only problem is..there seems to be no one good enough to be the captain and who is sure of his place in the squad.

The thing is.... he knows very well he won't be sacked. HE won the WC' date= T20 WC, CL, IPL bla bla....there's no way he would be sacked unless GOD himself comes down and slaps him. So it doesn't really matter we could lose 20 test matches in a row...he still won't be sacked. Might as well do sight seeing with the wife and focus more on recreational activities than cricket like he said.
true.
But Dhoni is not a specialist batsman. He is primarily a wicket keeper who can bat. Scoring 100s' date=' 200s is mainly a job of the top order batsmen.[/quote'] But you can't lead by wicket keeping can you , to lead you have to make formidable contribution to matches and that can be by batting or bowling As i said only Gilchrist could have been a good test captain as a no 7 batsman as he could do great things and players would have confidence he can do great things and play match winning knocks Look at all successful modern test captains most have been batting in top 5 and have good test records if not great (smith,ponting,waugh,strauss).You can't hide at seven and come in when mostly match is already gone and not have the ability to turnaround things Ala Gilchrist A good captain may not be best player in team but he should be capable of playing formidable knocks or spells He has very ordinary record as test batsman and even worse outside Asia
UcxVNpuYEFc&feature=player_embedded blame srk too :protest:
nobody comes to watch bollywood movies abroad ha :hysterical: Nobody gives a sh*t lol Coming back to topic, one has 2 admit that Indian team don't miss a single opportunity to take a rest from the game. You would have heard Dhoni saying a million times that- we need take some time off cricket and relax. We need 3-4 days break. But you'd have never heard him saying that we need to work harder on our game. We need to spend some more time in the nets
He thinks everything will take care of itself once they come back from some picnic and play the next match without doing anything in the nets.
From the report Sachin worked hard to adjust himself to the condition. Wonder if Virat did the same.
he practiced finger selute

yeh launde yahan chhuttiyan manane gaye hai, captaan ko koi farak nahi padhta hare ya aur buri tarah hare.... as far as the buddhas are concerned, they are bored coming to ausiland so many time.... cant disagree at all with what gavaskar said

+1 The way the team played in Sydney, both bowlers and batsmen needed to spent hours in the nets. Instead the Chu***yas are enjoying a holiday in Australia. I think it is we the Cricket Fans of this team who are the biggest idiots.

Ian Chappell's comments post Sydney debacle Though I don't always agree with Ian Chappell and most of the times the guy's a tool but have to say his remarks after the Sydney test were spot on. Shastri ho-hummed about the "positives" for the Indians and what the problems were with Indians but Chappell said it as he saw it. He said that 100th 100 was weighing on Tendulkar and India, and it would have been great for India for it to be over with at Sydney even if the 100 had come in a big defeat so that the team at least could move on with the series at Perth. His other remarks about India's bowling, general fielding & athleticism, batting and captaincy were pretty harsh and fair as well. Definitely much better assessment than Shastri or other Indian commies'. Worst was Ganguly's interview of Dhoni. They were both giggling and smiling like schoolgirls as if they had just won the series and Ganguly didn't even ask one tough question of Dhoni. Was expecting Ganguly to be lot more harder on Dhoni and show more displeasure at the performance. Even one of the host commentator in the box was surprised a bit and wondered what Dhoni was so "happy" about.

U exactly dont need Ian chappel to tell us whats wrong with this team.U just need iota of cricketing knowledge to figure out the real issues in the team.
I was admiring Chappell for calling spade a spade when all others were skirting the issue for some reason. The Ganguly interview of Dhoni was especially galling to watch.
Ian chappel comments are mostly unbiased...he even calls for Dropping Ponting and Hussey...problem is he pisses of evryone :winky: