jonas10 Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 There aint going to be no boycott. Lets face facts people only people left in India that care about test cricket anymore are the people posting on cricket internet boards. IPL means a million times more to the common man.
King Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 4-0... no team should lose like that! Remember England lost 5-0 and Pakistan, India, SL have all lost all the test matches in the past too in Australia. Australia is a very strong team in home conditions no matter whom they choose to play. Again past performances means ziltch when pretty much all the batsmen in the Indian team are going through a phase where to score even 10 runs is a big deal. Other than couple of decent bowlers or three India has nothing to show. I think we need to understand the senior batsmen in the team are well over their sale by date. It's not like new comers can do any better but at least with consistent selection, they will be able to build on experience and can work hard at their game knowing fully well there is a whole career is ahead of them. Can't quite say the same about the seniors, they have had a glorious career and no matter what motivation to improve will not be as tempting as it is for the younger ones.
rkt.india Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 How times have changed.Just a year ago OP had "IPL's official website" as his signature :cantstop: It was his own website based on IPL, not IPL's site.
Nova Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 @King 4-0 in England and now going to be 3-0 down under. Unacceptable however you want to spin it.
King Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 @King 4-0 in England and now going to be 3-0 down under. Unacceptable however you want to spin it. Sure it is not acceptable but it has happened. For no other reason than India was found wanting in more than one area. Batting, bowling and fielding, all areas have been found wanting consistently. Quicker we understand India is no more a force with continued batting collapses, indifferent bowling and catching it is better. Unacceptable sure but it is a reality though.
Rajiv Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 Ravi, u sticking around or busy mate...long time no see
youngindia Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 poor foot work,lack of reliable cut and pullshots are weaknesses deep inside. player's games are formed long before.even selections for city schools is based on defence when i last saw it. and so efforts have to go down inside to u14 levels and schools.. especially on the bowling and fielding ,do the lads receive decent instructions?i doubt it
Params7 Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 2010 LOL 2 match series. :giggle: I don't think they should be compared. Gave India a very easy ticket to a "Whitewash". Even the Aussie's don't give a **** about it.
Needforspeed Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 I think IPL has become everyone's favorite punching bag. I don't agree that IPL is responsible for our problems IPL is played during the off-season and in one stretch. After the IPL is over players can come back to normal mode. Players like Kallis, Sangakarra, Jayawardane, Sachin etc have done this successfully. The main reasons for our problems, the way I look at are these: 1. Our batting in the last 15 years have depended mostly on the Big 3. Now with the decline of the ATGs, this performance was inevitable. In fact the recent results should be taken as a good opportunity to rebuild the team. 2. The hectic non-stop cricket scheduling is also responsible. BCCI has been killing the goose with the golden eggs for some time. Sportsmen need to be physically as well as mentally fresh & need time to work out any flaws in their game. If sports becomes like a 9 to 5 job, then the output is also likely to be similar-Turn up on the field each day go thru the motions and go back in the evening. 3. Too many ODIs in between Tests. Our batsmen are playing like they play ODIs (not talking about the Big 3, but the others). So they are not capable of playing long innings but are making 30s and 40s. So what needs to be done? 1. Time to have separate teams and separate captains for Tests and ODIs. Make the players choose which format they want to be considered for selection (Not including the IPL here) and make both equally lucrative, so that a player may not feel deprived if he misses out on one format. 2. T20 only for club matches. There should be no international T20 matches (Many people are already suggesting this). 3. Put in a good talent identification and management process. With the rigors of international cricket today, we need a larger pool of talent. 4. Make Ranji Trophy more competitive, with better prize money incentives, points system and pitches. 5. Once you spot good talent, give them a reasonable run. Be prepared for failures during the phase of rebuilding.
saneindian Posted January 15, 2012 Posted January 15, 2012 OP will be full on busy once Yusuf Pathan hits 5 6s in an IPL match or when Gyale is going crazy at Chinnaswamy. Domestic series boycott karke kuch nahi hona bhai, you will be deprived of watching our team win. We should restrict ourselves to just 2 test series in SA, Eng and Aus, that way we will avoid the shame of a 4-0 whitewash :P
ViruRulez Posted January 16, 2012 Author Posted January 16, 2012 At least Indian public seems to be listening to me some bit. Television ratings for the series dropping and plummeting day by day for such an important series. I hope the Indian public keeps boycotting the matches even in the home series too and refuse to watch the trampling of smaller teams here in India unless we fix our problems overseas. MUMBAI: The misery continues for Team India on field, off the field and in television ratings that cricket has been generating of late. Dubbed as one of the most significant tours, the India-Australia series has been a complete washout so far with India's consecutive innings defeats, the latest being the humiliating loss at Perth over the weekend. According to TAM Sports, a sports viewership tracker, the first two tests played between India and Australia registered an average rating of 0.89 and 0.7 respectively. Broadcasters and media planners says if this bad run continues, cricket will not be able attract the big bucks like it had been able to over the years. Brand endorsement fees for the likes of skipper Dhoni will also see a correction after the highs of the World Cup win last year, which went up to as much as Rs 6-7 crore per annum for a brand. "If eyeballs move away from cricket over a period of time, the value for the game will depreciate. Every stakeholder will lose and it will pull the game down the value chain. Right now, cricket is still the biggest sporting property in India. But as we develop as a nation, our preferences and watching habits are bound to change," said Sanjay Kailash, EVP & head of sales, ESPN-Star Sports (ESS). The India-Australia series is being broadcast on Star Cricket, which is part of the ESS bouquet of channels. Kailash said the broadcaster was in the process of selling ad spots for the triangular ODI series to be played from February 5 between India, Australia and Sri Lanka. "We have managed to sell 60-70% of the inventory. The ODIs should be a different ballgame," he added. TOI had reported earlier that 2012 will see cricket advertising rates fall by 20% if the chock-a-block calendar persists along with the below-par performances by Team India. Other cricketing properties, like the fifth edition of the Indian Premier League scheduled for April, will also see a correction. "Cricket as a media window is increasingly going to be under critical scrutiny and advertisers demand more return on investment," said Ajit Varghese, MD (South Asia), Maxus and Motivator - media agencies from the WPP group. Industry experts said the most important thing to watch out for this year will be the price that Indian cricket's governing body BCCI fetches for the now cancelled domestic broadcast rights previously held by Nimbus Communication. "The time has come for people to realize that the business attached to cricket has been inflated manifold without providing the returns. Cricket is too volatile, in terms of brand ambassadors, sponsorships and broadcasting rights and they need to be questioned...the price points at which the sport is being sold," said Anirban Das Blah, MD, Kwan, a celebrity management agency, who was earlier heading Globosport. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/business/india-business/Now-Team-Indias-TV-ratings-go-for-a-toss/articleshow/11504129.cms
ViruRulez Posted January 16, 2012 Author Posted January 16, 2012 Over reaction at its best... not all teams consistently win overseas. India has been embarassing all right but they have lost to a better opponent both in England and Australia. India did win in West Indies though' date= they were better the better team. The results are true reflection of the team's ability and India is short of ability. They have two good bowlers (Yadav and Zaheer), one or two batsmen that are not bad (great in the past doesn't mean anything in a particular series if they are struggling for form). Just embrace the results and move on. We were trying to become the consistent no.1 test team and were feeling proud of achieving the no.1 rank for sometime. To be honest, if we compare our performance against the Aussie 2nd grade team to the performance of the Aussie second grade teams here in India, then we are in no comparison at all. Australia has never sucked here in India ever in the last couple of decades. Even in the last two years when they were waning, we never beat them even in our home series comprehensibly whereas a second grade Aussie team is defeating us black and blue. The problem is the "chalta hai" attitude which is worrying. We again trample a few smaller teams in the next one or two years and again come near the no.1 position and claim we are the best or near the best. Then we again get trampled outside. This cycle simply continues. To be honest, our present team is noway better than the 90s team which was also similar. At least, I do not think they got innings defeat in 2 out of 3 consecutive test matches in Australia. We are just stuck in time. We might have improved a bit in home conditions and that too minimal. We were never a bad time in our home including the 90s. I doubt we would have won this world cup too if it was not here in India. And I mean it.
Viki_J Posted January 16, 2012 Posted January 16, 2012 you are right..overseas problems wont be solved... !!
Sachinism Posted January 16, 2012 Posted January 16, 2012 4-0... no team should lose like that! Lost by 196 runs Lost by 319 runs Lost by inns. & 242 runs Lost by inns. & 8 runs Lost by 122 runs Lost by inns. & 68 runs Lost by inns. & 37 That's as bad as it gets
Old guy Posted January 16, 2012 Posted January 16, 2012 Lost by 196 runs Lost by 319 runs Lost by inns. & 242 runs Lost by inns. & 8 runs Lost by 122 runs Lost by inns. & 68 runs Lost by inns. & 37 That's as bad as it gets :((
BeautifulGame Posted January 16, 2012 Posted January 16, 2012 What those TRP ratings are showing is even more people are losing interest in test matches not that they are boycotting ODIs or IPL. U cant blame these fans either.No one is gone get up and watch at 5 am when ur team is thrashed mercilessly.
Needforspeed Posted January 16, 2012 Posted January 16, 2012 I was watching NDTV Profit and they were giving the TV viewerships. Aussie first two Test 0.89 and 0.70 WI in India Tests 0.98 WI in India ODIs 3.89 Look at the massive difference between the Test and ODI viewerships.