IPL cannot be blamed for batsmen's poor techinque: Gavaskar

IPL has contributed to the "I dont't care" attitude of the the players..I agree the Maharathis failed (but they were the ones who were propping up India to the #1 position for 22 months). In India there lot's of factors which affect the team selection process... BRANDING (Hype) plays and important part in selctions..Players know that they can get the branding if they do well in ODIs and IPL. Once the brand (hype) is there, it'll take ages to FIND out the players in Test cricket. The BRAND (Hype) factor is one of the main reasons of declining stocks of Indian Test cricket.. Just today, I saw a news in NDTV that the "TRP" of Team India has decresed in this current tour..They are pointing it towards the failures of Team India. It's actually not the reason. The TRP has gone down because of the general apathy of the public towards Test cricket. Come the ODI series and the TRP will jump up again... In India, BRANDING is done using ODI and T20 exploits. You can't use Test cricket to build the branding now (when the Maharathis are gone and an new team will hopefully be built around a Test Cricket captain and not around a ODI/T20 captain). This BRANDING has to go somehow...

You can't blame the IPL, it comes down to the individual. David Warner is the prime example...an IPL superstar, but making his mark on Test cricket because he has character and wants to do well in all forms. Perhaps a few of the Indian players need to look at themselves and question how much they want to succeed for their country as opposed to their wallets. Kohli showed he is willing to do the hard work.

IPL has not had the chance to seriously interfere with Indian cricket as yet, as most of our top players belong to the pre IPL era and India rose to the top only after the IPL seasons began. But IPL will gradually erode Indian test match skills, going into future. Wait and see India getting hammered overseas ( and perhaps at home too) time and again in future - a trailer has already been shown in the England and Aussie series, and this will continue without doubt, as long as IPL is there. No team except Bangladesh has ever been hammered in the way India has been in the past two seasons, and it is not without good reason.
How and why will IPL 'erode' test match skills? I refuse to buy this very oft used cliche. To begin with, all cricketers in India are first and foremost mohalla cricketers. They start their game playing in narrow streets and gullys. Do you think these kids play 5 day tests? No, its always a short game that they play and that is what their initial talent is geared towards. Even school tournaments are not Tests, but limited over games. And for most of the kids (unless they are kids of royalty) the T20 esque formats come naturally to them and not Tests. If anything, the Ranji trophy/Test matches 'erode' the natural game of the youngsters. The second common myth that I've heard on this website is that IPL makes a player pick a franchise over his nation. Thats not an inherent property of the IPL. Its because cricketers, like all others, value money and IPL has money to offer. If Test cricket was lucrative, they'd definitely consider picking playing 5 day tests over the IPL. IPL lasts for a period of 30-45 days and its quite inconceivable that just 14-18 matches of T20 irreversibly change the aptitude and attitude of the batsman forever. That is some specious reasoning. What about David Warner? He did quite well in the IPL and played a good test knock too. IPL hasn't 'eroded' him apparently.
Ashwin done well???????
bowled decently in mcg. got some decent scores with bat. sucked in scg where all where sucking including our best bowler zak and yadav who took a 5-for next match. has done better than lots of seniors.

As I said earlier, IPL is not 2 be blamed. It's the players who should be. There will be some players who prefer money over country and test cricket and there will be some exactly opposite to that. And there will also be some players for whom money doesn't matter much but they look at IPL as an opportunity to make a mark. With every good thing, comes the bad as well. Like some people here are just giving stupid reasoning that IPL is bad bcoz their brain has been washed by the media. They just don't want 2 move forward. It does not matter what you people think bcoz IPL is here to stay. THATS IT. Even Sachin chose to play IPL and didn't want to participate in World T20 when everyone was requesting him to play for India and then complete series in WI odi and tests. Or even Sehwag or Gambhir who decided to go for surgery only after IPL and then struggled in England when they just returned fro surgery. Now, take the examples of Virat who has not done extremely well in tests but still fighting it out for his place in test team, diving around to save runs and battling it out while batting. Then Rohit Sharma who is not giving an inch of space to Virat and giving him good competition for No. 6 spot. Then comes Suresh Raina who said he wants to play atleast 80 tests for India. Then, Ashwin who has developed leaps and bounds from where he was one year ago, in his batting as well.

Whether IPL has affected the commitment of the players is arguable but there's no denying the fact that the advent of IPL (and T20 Cricket in general) has made batsmen want to score more frequently and as a result the ability to stay at the crease for long periods without poking at balls bowled outside off-stump seems to have gone down drastically. However the larger issue here is that our players aren't able to adapt to the conditions in countries like Australia so the only long term solution for this is to prepare similar conditions in India and make sure domestic matches are played in such conditions.

IPL has contributed to the "I dont't care" attitude of the the players..I agree the Maharathis failed (but they were the ones who were propping up India to the #1 position for 22 months). In India there lot's of factors which affect the team selection process... BRANDING (Hype) plays and important part in selctions..Players know that they can get the branding if they do well in ODIs and IPL. Once the brand (hype) is there, it'll take ages to FIND out the players in Test cricket.
The maratis were not the only contributors for India to be a No. 1 side. There were more important contributors in Viru and Gambhir opening stand, then a World Champion spinner in Harbhajan Singh and emergence of Ishant sharma and his contributions at home test wins and in New Zealand, SA and WI tests. The moment these above started failing India started going downhill and NOW, we will see how these marathis take this team out of this hole. So far, they haven't, in England tour as well as Australia tour. And Last But Not the Least, Our Captain MSD, his captaincy has been the most decisive factor for India being no. 1. Coz if you see, these marathis were already there in the team for the last 10-15 years. But first it was Sourav Ganguly who guided them to become a World beater side then it was MSD ho took Ganguly Legacy forward
The maratis were not the only contributors for India to be a No. 1 side. There were more important contributors in Viru and Gambhir opening stand' date=' then a World Champion spinner in Harbhajan Singh and emergence of Ishant sharma and his contributions at home test wins and in New Zealand, SA and WI tests. The moment these above started failing India started going downhill and NOW, we will see how these marathis take this team out of this hole. So far, they haven't, in England tour as well as Australia tour. And Last But Not the Least, Our Captain MSD, his captaincy has been the most decisive factor for India being no. 1. Coz if you see, these marathis were already there in the team for the last 10-15 years. But first it was Sourav Ganguly who guided them to become a World beater side then it was MSD ho took Ganguly Legacy forward[/quote'] Thats such a stupid argument. You're saying that when India were going to No.1 , it was because of Sehwag, Gambhir, Harbhajan and Ishant and not because of the guy who score more runs, more centuries and at a higher average than anyone between 2008 and 2010 in the Indian side. But when Sehwag, Gambhir and Ishant fail its the responsibility of Sachin, Dravid, and Laxman to make sure the side stays No.1. The fact is, it was a team effort to get there BUT, we only had 2 away series' victories in that 3 year period, against BD and NZ. We weren't an actual No.1 side, and we wont be until we win a series in South Africa, England and Australia.
Thats such a stupid argument. You're saying that when India were going to No.1 , it was because of Sehwag, Gambhir, Harbhajan and Ishant The fact is, it was a team effort to get there BUT, we only had 2 away series' victories in that 3 year period, against BD and NZ. We weren't an actual No.1 side, and we wont be until we win a series in South Africa, England and Australia.
Abe item pehle upar to pad le ki pele bola kisne hai ki marathis ke karan hi team no.1 thi :hehe: :hysterical: I was just explaining what you just said that it was a total team effort not only because of 1 or 2 marathis in the team. Coz they were in the team before as well, before Dhoni and Ganguly period. Kya hai bharat, tu bhi na :haha::haha:

IPL cannot be blamed for batsmen's poor techinque: Gavaskar http://sports.ndtv.com/ind-aus-2011/news/item/184061-india-vs-australia-ipl-cannot-be-blamed-for-batsmens-poor-techinque-says-sunil-gavaskar New Delhi: Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar on Monday refuted suggestions that the technique of the Indian batsmen has been affected due to their slam-bang appraoch in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Almost all Indian batsmen, inluding some seniors, struggled on the pacy and bouncy pitches of Australia as they lacked technique to negotiate the disciplined bowling of the rival team. Asked if technique has been compromised by playing in the IPL, where the players need to attack right from the start, Gavaskar replied in a negative. "I don't think so that for batting style, IPL should be blamed. These cricketers have scored a lot of runs in the Ranji, which is first class cricket and then they are selected to play for India at Test level. "If IPL is the reason, why is David Warner scoring runs. The batsmen of other (international) teams are also scoring runs so is it that only Indian batsmen are suffering because of IPL?," Gavaskar said while speaking on NDTV. Gavaskar, who has been a member of IPL's Governing Council in the past, said India's senior batsmen have performed well on the international stage previously despite playing the T20 tournament. "Has VVS Laxman, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar's technique been affected or for that matter of Virender Sehewag and Guatam Gambhir? It's only that in the last two (foreign) tours they have not played to their potential. "Blaming IPL for that is just finding a scapegoat. Jacques Kallis says that T20 format is easiest on the body. It may be high on intensity but it is easy. "Then BCCI has a rule that Indian players will not play more than 14 matches," he said. Gavaskar also advocated some tough decisions ahead of the fourth and final Test at Adelaide. "The team management need to sit down with Dhoni and analyse. They have a lot of time, still eight days to go. You need to think, if you need to go in with an extra bowler, then you must drop a batsman and play R Ashwin. "But they have to look at the pitch before making a decision but they have to take hard decisions," he said.

IPL has showed us the talent we have , Ashwin, Yadav, Aaron, Nechim, Gony, Tyagi, R Sharma, Rohit,most of these players would not have mostly play for India or would have been in the frame.We would have a team of Badrinath, Mithun, VK, Aravind,and more of these domestic bullies , no hoppers at the international stage.

IPL will systemically destroy the quality of players (batsmen in particular, but overall quality of batsmen and bowlers). As I wrote once before, its not so much the decline in technique alone, but also the decline in hunger for succeeding in a battle-weary Test cricket. Ya'll see this continuing poor Test cricket performance as long as the Tamasha nonsensical bakwaas IPL circus continues. The problem is not just the format of T20 and the cowlashing that it encourages, but also in the whole ridiculous bidding in IPL. When Saurabh Tiwarys and Yusuf Pathans are mega millionaires for hardly doing anything other than wielding their bats like a poor man's Ghatotkach, then something is systemically wrong. I agree the 4-0 (after Adelaide) in Australia happened with team incl. the Maharathis who were there before IPL-era. Nevertheless, the problems of IPL (vis a vis quality of future Indian Test potentials) are still true.
You are talking like we were dominating every team away form from home before IPL. We were poor in 90s both ODIs and tests and there was no IPL then. Even before IPL and our ATGs in great form, we never won any series in SA and Aus, so do not live in any delusion that we were great before that overseas. There are always some players who will have the attributes be successful in one format like Yusuf, Tiwary, Uthappa in T20 and some who will be in others like Dravid, VVS, Rahaane, Pujara, Mukund in tests because every individual have different abilities and even if Rahane and Pujara want to become T20 player, they cannot because they do not have those abilities to hit big shots in T20s and play aggressively with high SR consistently. Similarly, there are things which the likes of Yusuf does not have in them to play tests like technique and patience. There are also some players who can play both and they are the most superior players than the other 2 categories I have listed above, the likes of SRT, Viru, Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Gambhir, Manish Pandey come in this category who have the strokes to play aggressively and also they can be hugely successful in longer format of the game as well. This is not just for India. This is relevant for every country. Every country have that kind of players. You are saying because of IPL quality has gone down, but our top 5 batsmen were established players even before IPL and even after IPL, they performed well, but the problem with them was they were aging warriors. The only 2-3 successful players we got here are Kohli, Ashwin, Yadav who first showed in IPL and if you say 2 good innings at Perth are not good enough for Kohli, yes they may not make him great, but those were played in tough conditions against a probing bowling attack and he is on his first tour to Australia and is a test rookie. Regarding Ashwin, yes, he did not take many wickets because he himself said his job given by the team management was to bowl economically and he was not given good field to attack. Also on green tops, you do not expect any spinner to come into play and take bundle of wickets, biggest example is Murlidharan and Harbhajan who have ordinary records in Australia, but still he shown the temperament with the bat as well and he looked the second best batsman for us in first 2 tests.

It's the domestic pitches. The reason I blame the IPL is because the BCCI care more about the IPL than improving domestic pitches. Thats where I say its the IPL's fault. Not directly blaming it, but its become a distraction for the BCCI. No doubt about it.

Gavvu is still hoping to get back his IPL governing council due amount back... He doesn't needs any moar additional amount. If he manages to get back his outstanding dues, he'll be a happy bunny... Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It's fashionable to blame IPL for everything. The case of David Warner is correctly pointed out, he was only a T20 star before even dreaming of Test cricket. Even Shaun Marsh started off from T20 only, though he's done ZILCH in this series he's done well in Tests in the series before.

David Warner too will be found out soon..Every new dog has his day.. Viru too used to have his day..Just wait and watch how Warner gets found out in couple of series.. It's not fashionable to blame IPL. It's REQUIRED to blame IPL as much as possible. Public pressure and high expectancy motivates players to perform. If the uneducated public pressure is only only on players to do well in ODIs and IPL, players too will give 2 fecks to real cricket, whcih is Test cricket..It's not about technique etc. Events like IPL etc. removes the focus from real cricket and rockstar cricketers make merry, think themselves as rockstars and giving 'flipped bird' when they face informed and educated crowd (nd not chewtiya, crazy, gullible, adoring public back home)..

Gavvu is still hoping to get back his IPL governing council due amount back... He doesn't needs any moar additional amount. If he manages to get back his outstanding dues, he'll be a happy bunny... Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Gavvu is absolutely right here.