rkt.india Posted February 26, 2012 Posted February 26, 2012 Was that because of Dilip Kumar or more because Mughal-e-Azam just didnt have the same effect on you as you perhaps had imagined? If latter then it is perhaps just a generational thing DK. Most youngsters these days dont particularly love Jaane bhi Do yaaro as perhaps me and you? I wonder if Chupke Chupke would register the same way with them as with us. Heck even a modern day Don2 would perhaps go down better than Sholay. Hum angrezon ke jamaane ke jailor hain? Hmm really? Dont think so...most youngster wold like Jaane Bhi Do Yaaro that I can tell....
Sooda Posted February 26, 2012 Posted February 26, 2012 i like to judge actors by their ability to play characters who are completely unlike them. If you see someone playing a character which you can imagine them to be like in real life then it's no great feat. So many actors in bollywood, and in the second tier of hollywood, go through their entire careers doing just that. (cip Priety Zinta, Kareena Kapoor...) - I can imagine George Clooney as the hired sacker in Up In the Air, but not in the role he plays in The Descendants. It's when an actor plays an uncharacteristic character convincingly that we can truly even call them actos. And when they do it with regularity and with a sweep of variety in roles that they stand out as being exceptional at what they do. Pretty much everybody from the current crop fails to deliver on that front. I can't remember any present actor ever delivering a stirring performance. Vidya can act. and so can Irfan Khan, who btw was brilliant in Yeh Saali Zindagi :rock: ^ Indeed, well said. That way SRK was done some pretty convincing anti heroes/villains.
Lurker Posted February 26, 2012 Posted February 26, 2012 Anothe film that had seriously disappointed me was Ram Teri Ganga Maili. I had heard enough about how RK manage to get a brilliant performance from Mandakini in that film' date= but when I watched it, I thought she was as bad as she could have been. All RK managed with her was to get her wet in a white transparent saree, which was almost unthinkable those days. I guess I can understand your frustration about Ram Teri Ganga Maili. When the movie was released it was given an A cerificate, which means most likely you didnt get to see it then. When I finally got around to see it an entire decade had passed by and the world was simply not the same. Ram Teri Ganga Maili is hardly Raj Kapur's best work. It is not Awaara or Mera Naam Joker. But what it is a great story telling laced with analogies. RK was caught perhaps in mixing too many stories - Pollution of Ganga by Indians, Environmental consciousness that had just started, exploitation of simple Pahadi people, Dushyant-Shakuntala story and somewhere in between he also had to promote his son, indulge in his usual voyeuristic tendencies and churn out superb music. Mandakini had a tough role. This was a rare movie built around a female actress mind you, and she had to woo Rajeev Kapoor, raise her unmarried kid, get exploited by powerful and represented the most forgiving of them all - Ganges. She did a pretty decent job I think. RTGM is our Erin Brochovich. Funny how it remains our only mainstream movie dealing with Ganga and its pollution. Come to think of it is may also be the last mainstream Hindi movie with Ganga in its title. Long gone from the days of Jis Desh Mein Ganga Bahti hai, Ganga ki Saugandh etc. That said I guess I can see why you might have found it overrated DK.
punjabi_khota Posted February 26, 2012 Posted February 26, 2012 ^Aap yeh movie bhool gaye :phehehe: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0263491/
KhanSaab Posted February 26, 2012 Posted February 26, 2012 Worst- Sunny Deol Kareena Kapoor Best- Sanjeev Kumar Konkona Sen Sharma
Lurker Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 ^Aap yeh movie bhool gaye :phehehe: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0263491/ lol. Although Gangajal was another one that I missed.
Lurker Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 Worst- Sunny Deol Kareena Kapoor Best- Sanjeev Kumar Konkona Sen Sharma He was awesome in Gadar...no seriously I liked him in it, histrionics aside. Damini was good as well. Ghayal too.
Jersey #10 Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 Arjun Rampal John Abraham Katrina Kaif Deepika Padukone /thread
Mariyam Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 Govinda is pretty cr@p No he isn't. Au contraire, he's one of the most under-rated actors in Bollywood. When it comes to comic timing, no mainstream hero is as good as Govinda. He's carried absolutely senseless movies by the sheer weight of his comic timing. Coolie no.1, Hero no.1, Deewana Mastana and Aankhen. How many of his contemporaries did you see who could dress in a red pant, yellow shirt and sing totally meaningless songs like "Main to raste se ja raha tha" and still manage to bring a smile to your face. You've to watch Aankhen ( the Govinda-Chunky starer). Govinda's antics will leave you spell bound.
DomainK Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 I guess I can understand your frustration about Ram Teri Ganga Maili. When the movie was released it was given an A cerificate, which means most likely you didnt get to see it then. When I finally got around to see it an entire decade had passed by and the world was simply not the same. Ram Teri Ganga Maili is hardly Raj Kapur's best work. It is not Awaara or Mera Naam Joker. But what it is a great story telling laced with analogies. RK was caught perhaps in mixing too many stories - Pollution of Ganga by Indians, Environmental consciousness that had just started, exploitation of simple Pahadi people, Dushyant-Shakuntala story and somewhere in between he also had to promote his son, indulge in his usual voyeuristic tendencies and churn out superb music. Mandakini had a tough role. This was a rare movie built around a female actress mind you, and she had to woo Rajeev Kapoor, raise her unmarried kid, get exploited by powerful and represented the most forgiving of them all - Ganges. She did a pretty decent job I think. RTGM is our Erin Brochovich. Funny how it remains our only mainstream movie dealing with Ganga and its pollution. Come to think of it is may also be the last mainstream Hindi movie with Ganga in its title. Long gone from the days of Jis Desh Mein Ganga Bahti hai, Ganga ki Saugandh etc. That said I guess I can see why you might have found it overrated DK. I did not dislike the movie completely. It had it's strong points an there was some very clear RK touch to it. In fact IMO it was a very good movie. I really thought Mandakini was a bad choice for the role. She looked good for the character, but she could not act. It looks even worse when you have veterans in the film like Saeed Jaffrey, Raza Murad and Kulbhushan Kharbanda in the film. Rajeev Kapoor was okay. And the music was imply awesome.
mhr123 Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 Govinda is pretty cr@p His earlier ones where crap but his jodi with David Dhawan was awesome... comedy comes naturally to him.. Even Amir Khan in his interview once said he loved Govinda's comedy and he often watches Govinda movies when he is Free.. These days i agree he is doing some crap movies.
DomainK Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 No he isn't. Au contraire, he's one of the most under-rated actors in Bollywood. When it comes to comic timing, no mainstream hero is as good as Govinda. He's carried absolutely senseless movies by the sheer weight of his comic timing. Coolie no.1, Hero no.1, Deewana Mastana and Aankhen. How many of his contemporaries did you see who could dress in a red pant, yellow shirt and sing totally meaningless songs like "Main to raste se ja raha tha" and still manage to bring a smile to your face. You've to watch Aankhen ( the Govinda-Chunky starer). Govinda's antics will leave you spell bound. Not to forget, when big stars like AB and Sanjay Dutt attempted a come back and failed, they both took Govinda's help and quite successfully. That says quite a bit about Govinda's popularity and success rate.
DomainK Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 He was awesome in Gadar...no seriously I liked him in it' date=' histrionics aside. Damini was good as well. Ghayal too.[/quote'] I thought he was at his best in Damini and Ghayal, both brilliant performances. Then he sort of reduced to screaming and panting and nothing more in the movies that followed - all similar roles. Otherwise, he is not exactly a bad actor. He was very good in Darr. FYI: A sequel to Ghayal has been announced. It's called Ghayal returns.
rkt.india Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 Worst- Sunny Deol Kareena Kapoor Best- Sanjeev Kumar Konkona Sen Sharma :facepalm: you must see Damini, Ghatak, Ghayal, etc.
akshayxyz Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 :facepalm: you must see Damini, Ghatak, Ghayal, etc. ......but keep the volume on lowest, and wear ear-buds.
Lurker Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 I thought he was at his best in Damini and Ghayal, both brilliant performances. Then he sort of reduced to screaming and panting and nothing more in the movies that followed - all similar roles. Otherwise, he is not exactly a bad actor. He was very good in Darr. FYI: A sequel to Ghayal has been announced. It's called Ghayal returns. Sunny is reluctant actor. He always came across as someone who would be willing to be in the backdrop and not in the limelight, almost uncomfortable up there. Which is why many of his movies dont always spring up to mind. But he had some good movies. Rahul Rawail directed him well in Arjun and Dacait in his early days. He did wear a bit of comedy hat in Chaalbaaz but mostly he was always the macho hero as in Lootere (loved it), Darr (not much to like about it really), Sunny (good movie), Border (good) and of course Rajumar Santoshi's movies built around him. With his personality he was always going to be either a goonda, or a Police Inspector, or a Police Inspector who had turned goonda. To me he was always a man's man. Watch him in Jeet against Salman Khan and you would see how small(physically) SK looks opposite to SD. SK needs to strip to show his physique, SD needs to lift his eyebrow, raise a fist and you know exactly who you want in your corner. :winky:
Khalpat Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 Dont know the hero name but nothing can be worse than this. LYUBL4cWSO8
nikred Posted February 27, 2012 Posted February 27, 2012 Dont know the hero name but nothing can be worse than this. LYUBL4cWSO8 Very Amitesque. :cantstop: