Hearing good reviews about it. All reviews by critics have given it at least 3/5 and upto 4.5/5 even with such a low profile star cast which shows its quality. Even Big B praised it yesterday and said it to be a true biopic. I am not sure why UTV went with so less prints release and so less publicity. If somebody like Aamir Khan Productions would have produced it then perhaps they would have invested loads of money in promotion and made it a big release and a big superhit. I am not sure why UTV is so afraid to release or promote it on a large scale. On the first day, it was even behind the sh!t Ali Zafar film London Paris New York though it has picked up and is leading among the three Friday releases though released in less than half of the screens of LPNY. UTV needs to get some balls to experiment. The movie is picking up due to word of mouth but it could have made a big start if only UTV had more courage to invest in promotion and release in a lot more screens. Even on their youtube page, UTV has got all the Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu promo videos as the featured videos even after three weeks of its release instead of Paan Singh Tomar. WTF UTV Group. Don't produce films if you do not want to promote or give some screens space to the films. If it would have been a crap movie like Dirty Picture I am sure they would have been promoting it like anything at this time. But quality pictures like Paan Singh Tomar are not even promoted by the producers. http://www.youtube.com/user/UTVMotionPictures

"A fulfilling day! Saw an inspiring film, Paan Singh Tomar directed by Tigmanshu Dhulia and enacted by a whole cast of fresh and very talented players, led by that incredible performer Irrfan. Such restraint in direction and performance, but such an impression on the nature of the subject. A biopic true to life and detail," the 69- year-old posted on his blog bigb.bigadda.com. "...this is a true story, of a man from Madhya Pradesh...The tribute to the unsung hero, lists various prominent sportsmen who brought glory on International platforms for the country, but died penniless. Some even having to sell off their gold medal to survive. Such a moving tale," he added. Amitabh, who is currently recuperating at home from his abdominal surgeries, feels the movie is a tribute to unsung heroes. "A wonderful tribute to the many unsung sports heroes of the nation, who contribute so much for the Motherland both within and and on International platforms, yet are left in penury to pass away, unnoticed, uncared for," he said. He also requested the government to support sportspersons. "...the first thought that comes to mind is to lend support to those that find themselves in such condition. To plead with the system to show some compassion and respect for the glory they brought for us, so we could stick our chests out in pride and look after them in their hour of need instead of leaving them in dire straits to perish without any honour," he wrote.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Entertainment/Bollywood/Big-B-calls-Paan-Singh-Tomar-true-biopic/Article1-820686.aspx

some people can digest and gulp hours of nonsensical dialogues, inept film-making & sheer volume of cognitive disconnect all wrapped into 3 hr melodramas as long as the self professed 'badshah' of Bollywood is on the screen delivering his lackluster attempt at 'acting' , his usual verbal diarrhea as he laughs his way to further dubai property deals, black market investment & occasional salaams to his brothers across the border.....so people following this trend might not enjoy this movie as some review suggests ...take a chance and check it out...

Texy, this thread is about Paan Singh Tomar, not your insecurity wrt SRK. You can make a new thread for all that.

some people can digest and gulp hours of nonsensical dialogues' date=' inept film-making & sheer volume of cognitive disconnect all wrapped into 3 hr melodramas as long as the self professed 'badshah' of Bollywood is on the screen delivering his lackluster attempt at 'acting' , his usual verbal diarrhea as he laughs his way to further dubai property deals, [b']black market investment & occasional salaams to his brothers across the border.....so people following this trend might not enjoy this movie as some review suggests ...take a chance and check it out...
Is that why he's representing West Bengal? In case you didn't know, the democratically elected government of West Bengal was practically begging SRK to represent the state ( as a brand ambassador) at various exhibitions. The role involves attracting investments and businesses to the state. An attempt to make WB look commercially viable again, after the Nano fiasco et al.
some people can digest and gulp hours of nonsensical dialogues' date=' inept film-making & sheer volume of cognitive disconnect all wrapped into 3 hr melodramas as long as the self professed 'badshah' of Bollywood is on the screen delivering his lackluster attempt at 'acting' , his usual verbal diarrhea as he laughs his way to further dubai property deals, black market investment & occasional salaams to his brothers across the border.....so people following this trend might not enjoy this movie as some review suggests ...take a chance and check it out...[/quote'] :hysterical: Texy and SRK. I rememeber one of his posts where he described plot of each of SRK's big movies. Epic :cantstop:

PST earned 4.25 cr opening weekend!! PST's production budget: 4.5 cr Once again shows true cinema-goers appreciate content and quality. You don't need to be a self titled badshah/king or Kaangress chamcha to prove your mettle. Well done Irrfan :hatsoff:

Is that why he's representing West Bengal? In case you didn't know, the democratically elected government of West Bengal was practically begging SRK to represent the state ( as a brand ambassador) at various exhibitions. The role involves attracting investments and businesses to the state. An attempt to make WB look commercially viable again, after the Nano fiasco et al.
Politicians never beg or bend unless the rokra is in front. Next thing you will bring out the statistics on the # of people who "begged" SRK to dance at their wedding reception. Unless Mamata didi wants investment & tourist income from Middle East, Afghanistan & Pakistan..it really does not make any viable sense to have SRK as your ambassador
PST earned 4.25 cr opening weekend!! PST's production budget: 4.5 cr Once again shows true cinema-goers appreciate content and quality. You don't need to be a self titled badshah/king or Kaangress chamcha to prove your mettle. Well done Irrfan :hatsoff:
Your arguments are all over the place. For one your commenting on the movie without actually watching it. :confused: Or if you have, you haven't at least mentioned it in this thread. I've seen the movie and found Irfan to be absolutely over bearing. You may have a different opinion, which is fair enough. However its difficult to take your opinion of the movie seriously when you haven't even watched it. FYI, the current trend in Bollywood is that the bulk of your revenues are from the 1st week. Even a crappy movie like SIngham made 47.70 crs (budget 15 crs) in the opening weekend. Ra.1 made nearly a 100 crs. Going by your 'logic' truer cinemagoers appreciated the content and quality of the aforementioned two movies. As a movie PST is definitely better than Singham and Ra.1. Since when are BO returns over the opening weekend any criteria for cinematic excellence? Once again, what does SRK/Congress/Hilsa/grinch have to do with PST? :confused:
Unless Mamata didi wants investment & tourist income from Middle East' date=' Afghanistan & Pakistan..it really does not make any viable sense to have SRK as your ambassador[/quote'] Meh. You really are clueless. The primary objective of having a brand ambassador is not foreign investment/tourists, but to attract domestic tourists and domestic investment. Amitabh Bachchan does the same for Gujarat. Haven't you seen his 'welcome to Gujarat' ad with the back drop of the Somnath mandir. Milind Soman and Nasseruddin Shah have represented Rajasthan etc. Basically it is an attempt to undo the damage to brand West Bengal caused by the whole Nano and Cognizant ( or was it some other IT company?) fiasco. So while it may not make any sense to you, it apparently made a lot of sense to Ms.Mamta Banerjee and her cabinet. I don't think they'd be that stupid to part with rokra unless there is some substantial RoI.