Satyamev Jayate - Aamir Khan's first TV show

ViruRulez

Middle Class Guilt And Satyamev Jayate It’s not easy being middle-class. Rising prices. Sweatier traffic jams. Global warming. And then there is that thing which keeps gnawing away at us, ceaselessly, like a rat at a sack of grain. Guilt. Guilt at how shallow we have become, how we choose that-which-is-fun over that-which-is-good. Social-media over social service. Junk food over vegetables. IPL over Tests. Katie Perry over Carnatic. Page 3 over the Editorials. “Oops pictures” over…you get the picture. Of course, it’s never really our fault. It’s everyone else’s. Authors write books that pander to the lowest-common-denominator. Greedy TV execs make TRP-friendly trash. Bad journalists peddle yellow copy. If only “they” would give us something wholesome, we would consume it. And till they do, we just have to, with infinite reluctance, discuss how much weight Aishwarya Rai has gained post-pregnancy. Even though we should be talking about…mm…let’s see farmer suicides and child labor. This pervasive guilt of course creates a demand. A demand for programming that is surreptitiously entertaining in a non-intrusive way while providing a “Look Ma, I am being socially conscious by watching this instead of a Zee re-incarnation soap” comfort-blanket to the middle-class audience. This is when “Satyamev Jayate” steps up to the plate with less calories but the same great taste. Dealing with issues-that-must-be-talked-about and helmed by Aamir Khan, whose image of a socially-conscious entertainer is pitch-perfect for the show’s general tenor, it has gasping audience members (the type last seen on Rakhi ki Insaaf), tastefully teary-eyed anchor (much more subtle than Rakhi Sawant not to mention pleasing on the eye), shocking personal stories of the kind that make morning talk shows such a darling of US programming, a dash of humor (the Salman Khan reference),somberly inspirational musical theme and, most tellingly, a concrete call to action designed to give the audience a much-needed sense of participation. Yes it is commercial. Yes it is manipulative. But it is also needed. Because if there was no mega-celebrity, we would not watch. If there was not the egregious heart-string-pulling, we would change the channel. If there was not money to be made, the concept would never be greenlighted. Is the treatment simple? Yes. It has to be. Is it non-edgy? Yes again. For the same reason—-it has to appeal to the mainstream in order to be commercially viable. Would Aamir Khan’s 3 crores per episode be better used to benefit those that are the subject of the show, those that it claims it cares about? Yeah. Sure. But it’s not as if anyone else would get this money if it did not go to Aamir Khan. We would not give Rs 300 to help a foundation that helps battered women. We would give 3 crores a pop though to see Aamir Khan’s handsome face and sensitively serious expressions of concern. Whose fault do you think that is? Given the way we are and given how we like to spend our time, “Satyamev Jayate” is really the best one can hope for.And ultimately, if it ends up generating even a bit of awareness or, and I am being grossly optimistic here, the slightest of societal change, the show would be well worth it. Even if it does neither and remains yet another exercise in massive money-making and audience entertainment, how worse will it be from everything else on TV? http://greatbong.net/2012/05/08/middle-class-guilt-and-satyamev-jayate/

Is Amir going to talk about Men leaving their kids and wives for some young mistresses ? If yes' date=' is going to talk about his own life too ?[/quote'] Very good point . The wannabe Secular Indian has already played the religious card to suit his needs . His own 1st wife must be leading a very satisfied and happy life after being dumped by her husband just because a Muslim man has the luxury to walk out of marriage anytime after hes bored . This guy also has an illegitimate child with one of her foreign crew members whom he met during the filming of Lagaan , obviously he refused to accept the charge . This is the same guy whose was accused by his own father and brother for mentally torturing his younger brother , right in front of all news channels . Sala jo apne gharwalo ka na ho saka chala hai duniya ka kalyan karne . Lol@ people who get so emotional over this draamebaaz as if hes some second coming of Jesus. Whatever he is doing he is not doing it for free or he is not going to donate all the income generated by his show to some Naari Kalyan Kendra . But for sure hes donating some of the moolah to people in charge of spreading rumours about some kind of instant impact being made by his show . One has to be extremely naive to not see through the reality of this money making business .

Very good point . The wannabe Secular Indian has already played the religious card to suit his needs . His own 1st wife must be leading a very satisfied and happy life after being dumped by her husband just because a Muslim man has the luxury to walk out of marriage anytime after hes bored . This guy also has an illegitimate child with one of her foreign crew members whom he met during the filming of Lagaan , obviously he refused to accept the charge . This is the same guy whose was accused by his own father and brother for mentally torturing his younger brother , right in front of all news channels . Sala jo apne gharwalo ka na ho saka chala hai duniya ka kalyan karne . Lol@ people who get so emotional over this draamebaaz as if hes some second coming of Jesus. Whatever he is doing he is not doing it for free or he is not going to donate all the income generated by his show to some Naari Kalyan Kendra . But for sure hes donating some of the moolah to people in charge of spreading rumours about some kind of instant impact being made by his show . One has to be extremely naive to not see through the reality of this money making business .
++

Very good point . The wannabe Secular Indian has already played the religious card to suit his needs . His own 1st wife must be leading a very satisfied and happy life after being dumped by her husband just because a Muslim man has the luxury to walk out of marriage anytime after hes bored . This guy also has an illegitimate child with one of her foreign crew members whom he met during the filming of Lagaan , obviously he refused to accept the charge . This is the same guy whose was accused by his own father and brother for mentally torturing his younger brother , right in front of all news channels . Sala jo apne gharwalo ka na ho saka chala hai duniya ka kalyan karne . Lol@ people who get so emotional over this draamebaaz as if hes some second coming of Jesus. Whatever he is doing he is not doing it for free or he is not going to donate all the income generated by his show to some Naari Kalyan Kendra . But for sure hes donating some of the moolah to people in charge of spreading rumours about some kind of instant impact being made by his show . One has to be extremely naive to not see through the reality of this money making business .
Nobody is perfect,everybody has the right to atone. He is doing something at least.

Dil Pe Lagi Aur Baat Bani After being widely appreciated for his TV show Satyamev Jayate, Aamir Khan will now connect with millions of radio listeners in a programme called Dil Pe Lagi Aur Baat Bani. From May 12, the show anchored by the actor will be broadcast every Saturday at 11 am on primary channels of All India Radio covering Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan and West Bengal. It will be also available on all Vividh Bharati stations of AIR on Saturdays at 3.30 pm, a Prasar Bharati release said. Dil Pe Lagi Aur Baat Bani aims at stringing together real-life incidents touching a common chord across people of the country. http://www.dnaindia.com/entertainment/report_now-aamir-khan-to-connect-through-radio_1687250

Did his wife tell you or anyone she is unhappy with her situation?Did his children say anything about the situation?Why bring his wife's religion into it .His wife was a hindu just like his present wife. He has married them under the special marriage act.If they separated...how is it your problem? Kyun logon ke phate mein pair gusane chale ho. It is amazing that you have so much hate for the man(which seems more so because of his religion)that you cannot even appreciate the effort of the man. How much are you doing to prevent the ****ed up people of this country from killing their daughters.They kill them in the womb,bury them alive ,drown then after birth or choke them to death.You have not a word to say about this barbarism that is so common but have the nerve to puke vitriol against someone who is willing to do something. You have a problem with taking money....do you bloody work for free . Pathetic post..

Very good point . The wannabe Secular Indian has already played the religious card to suit his needs . His own 1st wife must be leading a very satisfied and happy life after being dumped by her husband just because a Muslim man has the luxury to walk out of marriage anytime after hes bored .
What do you made they get divorced, has she ever claimed that AK was unjust ? And where does being Muslim come into the picture when they mutually got divorced and then we have superstar Dharmendra and producer Boney Kapoor who didnt even divorce their wives and got married again
This guy also has an illegitimate child with one of her foreign crew members whom he met during the filming of Lagaan , obviously he refused to accept the charge .
She is on record saying that its her decision to raise the kid by herself
This is the same guy whose was accused by his own father and brother for mentally torturing his younger brother , right in front of all news channels .
from what I have read, he gave him a break and his brother suffers from mental illness and AK has looked after him for a very long time. He forced his brother to take medication and protected him from harming himself. Baaki god knows
Sala jo apne gharwalo ka na ho saka chala hai duniya ka kalyan karne .
At least he is trying , isnt he ?
Lol@ people who get so emotional over this draamebaaz as if hes some second coming of Jesus. Whatever he is doing he is not doing it for free or he is not going to donate all the income generated by his show to some Naari Kalyan Kendra .
When has he said that he is donating everything ? He is making money but is raising social issues. IMHO its better than asking 10 questions and showing off 1 crore check every few mins and getting paid the same amount
But for sure hes donating some of the moolah to people in charge of spreading rumours about some kind of instant impact being made by his show . One has to be extremely naive to not see through the reality of this money making business .
and how is that negatively affecting people's life ( if its happening at all).

He is not a saint and is not calling his show saintly either. Well, for all I know, he could be planting such things in the media as he is known to do, but that is only the media and the readers' fault. Regardless of how he is (I totally despise him as actor, well, as anything to be honest. I just hate pretentious people like that.) - if the show can do some good, I say more power to him. I don't like the show personally, I think it is too fake to be taken seriously, but if it can bring about a change, why not.

Have you watched crime patrol before declaring the Aamir as the only sachha Indian ?
So?? Just because crime petrol also raised the issue and kudos to them....does it make this show less meaningful.Can't the effort be appreciated without getting into a stupid comparison.Do we not need more and more shows and more people to get involved .Does the killing of crores of girls not require the efforts of more than one show?

:clap:

He is not a saint and is not calling his show saintly either. Well' date=' for all I know, [b']he could be planting such things in the media as he is known to do, but that is only the media and the readers' fault. Regardless of how he is (I totally despise him as actor, well, as anything to be honest. I just hate pretentious people like that.) - if the show can do some good, I say more power to him. I don't like the show personally, I think it is too fake to be taken seriously, but if it can bring about a change, why not.
Just for my knowledge can you please let us know what has he planted before ? Also, why do u think its fake ? U disagree with the facts or his expression of sadness ?

Well said . Thats one of differences which makes shahrukh even more special. The guy is a devoted family man inspite of his worldwide fame ..... fan following among ladies but never has be been even rumoured to be linked with anyone . Thats a big plus point for someone in bollywood where everyone is a stray dog including amir . Amir is a good pretender and gives a good impression that " he cares" while looking at some of his attention seeking tactics its too hard to believe .

:hysterical: Retardometer is off the charts on this thread

Lol. Also trps being bandied about as if its haraam. what do you watch at home? Krishidarshan followed by the news in sanskrit? When your content is so relevant then I'm all for packaging it in the most attractive way to get the attention of as many people possible. Or did you find the subject of female infanticide so boring and irrelevant to your existence that it shocked you that it could be presented in such an audience friendly manner?

SRK has a spotless character indeed. No controversies and he came from a very humble background. Very hardworking man. :hatsoff: