BCCI confirm benefit of $13m to ex-players

Even Vishy/Kirmani/Amarnath/Vengsarkar will be denied the moolah from BCCI The BCCIÃÔ media release on May 12 concerning these rewards didn't mention this, but one learns that those players who have had one-day internationals as benefit games will not be entitled to the ÃÃne-time benefit payment the reason being they earned big bucks from those games. In fact, one of the reasons why the Board decided to reward players was because some of them were not able to get one-day internationals as benefit games like Srinivas Venkataraghavan, who has not been able to get a game. Thus, players like Dilip Vengsarkar, Mohinder Amarnath, Syed Kirmani and Gundappa Vishwanath will not get a share of the Board's latest benevolence. While Vengsarkar would have gained Rs 1.5 crore for his 116 Test appearances, Amarnath, Kirmani and Vishwanath would have been richer by Rs one crore. http://www.mid-day.com/columnists/2012/may/170512-Not-a-blemish-less-innings-but-well-done.htm

What was wrong with ICL? It was a private league. Yes they ran it badly in terms of finances etc cause the BCCI managed to kill it' date=' otherwise they were entitled to start their own league.[/quote'] No you cant have to cricket body in India similarly we cant have IHF and HI. No one can have their own league of such a stage without BCCI permission in India. BCCI is India's cricket body that is why it was named rebel cricket cricket league.
No you cant have to cricket body in India similarly we cant have IHF and HI. No one can have their own league of such a stage without BCCI permission in India. BCCI is India's cricket body that is why it was named rebel cricket cricket league.
So let's say the BCCI was not interested in a T20 league, are you saying no one else should be allowed to start one?
So let's say the BCCI was not interested in a T20 league' date=' are you saying no one else should be allowed to start one?[/quote'] Not without BCCI and goverment permission. Reasons are obvious. Any businessman with any money can start their own private league for their entertainement if not controlled. The result? Many younger and some older players will start playing for them and ignore international duties. Players from other countries will be poached. International cricket will be in a permanent state of conflict with private leagues which will have even lesser control over bookies and fixing. Cricket will become WWE if private companies are allowed
So let's say the BCCI was not interested in a T20 league' date=' are you saying no one else should be allowed to start one?[/quote'] No unless BCCI had given them permission or indulged in the league and they were running a parallel cricket body. They were rebels if you remember the proceedings on those days. How ICL was started. It was 2007, following India's debacle in 2007 WC, protesting BCCI, Subhash Chandra gathered some former cricketers and announced to start a another parallel league to BCCI. You don't encourage rebels to grow.
Not without BCCI and goverment permission. Reasons are obvious. Any businessman with any money can start their own private league for their entertainement if not controlled. The result? Many younger and some older players will start playing for them and ignore international duties.
Oh sure, that never happens with the IPL. No point extrapolating a possible side effect of the extinct league while it happens with a current one. If some of you think the ICL was 'wrong' & the IPL isn't, you should ask for Indian Govt's & BCCI's permission before playing cricket in your mohalla. Who knows what sort of impact you are having, you might be distracting the world's greatest potential scientist who doesn't quite find the same joy in quantum physics in his youth as he does in cricket. There's no way you're pro-cricket (India or otherwise), pro-IPL & suggesting the ICL was wrong. Both of the latter are run privately with the solitary goal of making millions.
Forget PRO-ICL, If you are against IPL, then you are against BCCI & cricket... Just ask Kirti Azad, who too has been denied the benefit money

This whole fiasco sums up Indian cricket very well. If Kapil Dev refused to bow his head in front of Viv Richards and Dennis Lillee, would be ever bow in front of Sanjay effing Jagdale?? The morons at BCCI might be dreaming if they think Kapil Dev would ever go for amnesty. By the way who/what comprises BCCI? Srinvisan, Jagdale, Thakur, Ajay Shirke?? ( http://www.bcci.tv/bcci/bccitv/index/office) Kapil Dev played more Test cricket in his first year of International cricket than any of these would ever. And these are the retards to judge Kapil Dev. Also interesting to see more Indian fans seem to spend time on Yusuf Pathan's "coming of form" in IPL than disrespect on one of India's greatest player.

Wonder why BCCI all of a sudden decided to give IPL money away....does this have anything to do with tax benefits?? :hmmm:

So let's say the BCCI was not interested in a T20 league' date=' are you saying no one else should be allowed to start one?[/quote'] Only if they adequately compensate the BCCI. I would hardly be considered a supporter of BCCI or IPL, but the cricketers employed by ICL grew up on subsidized resources from the BCCI and other state associations. ICL was not spending any money or effort on the development of cricketers at the grass root level and just wanted ready made cricketers to fill their own coffers, while the BCCI and state associations keep producing cricketers for them. Regarding the Kapil issue, I did not expect anything better from an organization like the BCCI. India's win in '83 on Kapil's shoulders can be considered a catalyst for BCCI's tremendous growth, but these Babus are good for nothings.

^^ If doctors & engineers use their subsidized education to work abroad, cricketers deserve the right to make money elsewhere as well :orderorder: Besides, who sympathizes with the cash rich BCCI ? We're heading in the wrong direction though, ICL is dead while Kapil paaji deserves better.

^ Well, I am in favor of a regulation which makes paying for the subsidies received during education mandatory, if one decides to leave the country before X number of years after completing your education. Too many free lunches.

Wonder why BCCI all of a sudden decided to give IPL money away....does this have anything to do with tax benefits?? :hmmm:
No, it could be to "purchase" all the former leading cricketers. Now that they have fortified themselves ( very few big names are going to be against the generous BCCI), they can go about their ways peacefully.
No' date=' it could be to "purchase" all the former leading cricketers. Now that they have fortified themselves ( very few big names are going to be against the generous BCCI), they can go about their ways peacefully.[/quote'] Yes, some plyers who are almost bankrupt and who will benifit because of BCCI goodwill, weild enormous power to change BCCI policy, lol. I cant believe you actually believe what you wrote. All the big names (like Gavaskar, Ravi, Manu) etc are already pro-BCCI. What big names are you talking about? For once BCCI has done something good. Learn to appreciate instead of always seeing the glass half empty
No' date=' it could be to "purchase" all the former leading cricketers. Now that they have fortified themselves ( very few big names are going to be against the generous BCCI), they can go about their ways peacefully.[/quote'] LMAO...
No' date=' it could be to "purchase" all the former leading cricketers. Now that they have fortified themselves ( very few big names are going to be against the generous BCCI), they can go about their ways peacefully.[/quote'] :WTF: not everything is a conspiracy. Except few cricketers on the list the others could really use the money that they werent able to make in their playing days.
No' date=' it could be to "purchase" all the former leading cricketers. Now that they have fortified themselves ( very few big names are going to be against the generous BCCI), they can go about their ways peacefully.[/quote'] Hahah. Most of the people in the list have been forgotten by everyone. Have not even heard their names. What is the use of buying those people? BCCI has been fair. Think practically why would an organisation pay for a guy who refuses to appologize for joining an organisation that was bent towards destroying them. Remember BCCI's money comes from media and Zee formed ICL just to have that. ICL was formed to make money, not to improve lives of cricketers. Kapil is joker for destroying so many lives. He is making so much noises but have not seen him asking zee to pay the ICL cricketers.