The Outsider Posted August 24, 2013 Posted August 24, 2013 I wonder what some posters are doing still posting on ICF. Don't they have a chauraasi kos yatra to attend and chant "Ram lala hum aayeinge, mandir wahin banaayeinge" tomorrow? :dontknow:
diga Posted August 24, 2013 Posted August 24, 2013 and there are posters who can never come out of Namophobia
adi B Posted August 24, 2013 Posted August 24, 2013 what has icf come down to nowadays!! the level of posts in the last few days here have been comical :hysterical:
diga Posted August 26, 2013 Posted August 26, 2013 Karan Thapar: What would you say to people who say he (Modi) is divisive, he frightens minority, he will rupture India's communal harmony? Arun Shourie: At the moment what the country wants is not divisive but decisive leadership and he has certainly demonstrated that. Karan Thapar: If he becomes BJP's PM candidate which looks quite likely... Arun Shourie: He is BJP's PM candidate. Karan Thapar: Will he unite the party behind him or could he fracture the top leadership like Sushma Swaraja's, LK Advani's? Arun Shourie: I will not speak about stateless leaders in Delhi. :haha: Karan Thapar: Stateless leaders in Delhi? Arun Shourie: Yes, that's Gyani Ji's description. He said 'India mein do tarah ke leaders hain, state leaders like Kamraj, SK Patil or dooje stateless leaders VP Singh'. (There are two kinds of leaders in India - state leaders like Kamraj, SK Patil and the second kind are stateless leaders like VP Singh) Karan Thapar: So you are comparing Sushma and Advani to VP Singh? Arun Shourie: I am not comparing them to anybody in Delhi. I'm saying that Modi has united the party at the grassroot level as far as I can see. I am not in touch with the party, but if that is the party of workers and volunteers are all for him, I am sure that people in Delhi will now reconcile with him. http://ibnlive.in.com/news/arun-shourie-says-narendra-modi-is-bjps-pm-candidate/417192-37-64.html
jalebi_bhai Posted August 26, 2013 Posted August 26, 2013 As interesting a proposition as Modi being PM is.....I personally get the feeling that the PM post will prove to be a poisoned chalice for him........as it is.....he only has about 60-70 % approval within the NDA, which I personally think is not enough (40-30 % being a rather sizable portion)......electing him as the Opposition's PM candidate might not prove to be the most politically savvy decision by the BJP..... Modi is popular and is definitely the public's choice as per recent polls....but the BJP needs to really think this through and play their cards correctly......
Khalpat Posted August 27, 2013 Posted August 27, 2013 http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/markets/analysis/clsa-sees-greatest-hope-for-indian-stock-markets-in-narendra-modi/articleshow/22063737.cms Listing a number of negatives for the Indian stock markets, Chris Wood of CLSA says: "the Indian stock market's greatest hope is the emergence of Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi as the BJP's prime ministerial candidate." In his weekly GREED & fear, Chris says the one potential positive amid all the negatives that the country is witnessing is that the gathering macroeconomic crisis could trigger an improvement in governance. "In this respect, it hardly inspires confidence that Congress leader Sonia Gandhi appeared in Parliament talking up her expensive food security bill," he says. Chris adds, "even as the odds are definitely stacked against him (Modi), the view is simply that the worse the sense of crisis the better Modi's chance of winning. This is why a decision to go to the IMF would appear to be political suicide for the current Congress-led government."
ravishingravi Posted August 27, 2013 Posted August 27, 2013 ^What Arun says about MMS is quite sad but correct. He has turned from Good man to "Good for nothing" man. Sad, given that he was one of the architects of the so called growth story. One of the great minds we had, just not a PM candidate.
diga Posted August 27, 2013 Posted August 27, 2013 ^What Arun says about MMS is quite sad but correct. He has turned from Good man to "Good for nothing" man. Sad' date= given that he was one of the architects of the so called growth story. One of the great minds we had, just not a PM candidate. agree.. Manmohan's legacy as the architect of reforms will be lost in his failures as PM
diga Posted August 29, 2013 Posted August 29, 2013 Ahmedabad: Janata Dal (United) MP from Muzaffarpur Captain (retired) Jai Narain Prasad 'Nishad' recently met Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi and expressed his desire that the BJP election Campaign committee chief should become next Prime Minister of India. "Three days ago I met Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi at his Gandhinagar office and we had detailed discussions on the political situation in Bihar as well as the country," said Nishad said on Tuesday. JD(U) has recently broken its 17-year alliance with the BJP and spilt from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) after Modi was made BJP's 2014 election campaign committee chief. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, who is strongly opposed to Modi, had earlier not allowed the Gujarat chief minister to come to his state for campaigning before assembly elections. The meeting of a JD(U) parliamentarian close on the heels of another Bihar Congress leader Sadhu Yadav meeting Modi is being seen by political observers as an indication that BJP strongman could be preparing the ground to campaign in Bihar. "I strongly believe that the way Modiji has served the poor people of Gujarat, he is best suited to serve the poor people of the country. He should be the next prime minister of the country," Nishad said. Nishad, who had even organised a 'yagna' in March 2013, to seek divine intervention so that Modi could become Prime Minister, has also claimed that he is not concerned about disciplinary actions his party might take after his meeting with Modi becomes public. "In past, I have changed five political parties and yet I got elected from the Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha seat for five terms. So I am not afraid about any party taking action against me," he said. :hysterical: opportunist
ravishingravi Posted August 29, 2013 Posted August 29, 2013 Just sharing an FB status "Recently, India's most well-known film script-writer Salim Khan (actor Salmaan Khan's father) has said to a senior journalist in an interview: "Does anyone remember who the chief minister of Maharashtra was during the Mumbai riots which were no less deadly than the Gujarat riots of 2002? Does anyone recall the name of the chief minister of UP during Malliana and Meerut riots or that of the Bihar CM when the Bhagalpur or Jamshedpur riots under Congress regimes took place? Do we hear names of earlier chief ministers of Gujarat under whose charge, hundreds of riots took place in post-Independence India? Does anyone remember who was in-charge of Delhi's security when the 1984 massacre of Sikhs took place in the capital of India? How come Narendra Modi has been singled out as the Devil Incarnate as if he personally carried out all the killings during the riots of 2002?" No speck of doubt about what Salim Khan has said. When one says Gujarat's agriculture growth is 10-11% since whole last decade The other says 2002 Riots! When one says he made the Asia's biggest solar plant, The other says 2002 Riots! When one says Gujarat is the only state in the whole of India to provide 24*7 and 365 days electricity to almost all of its 18,000 villages, The other says 2002 Riots! When one says - World Bank's statement of 2011 said, Gujarat roads are equivalent to international standards, The other says 2002 Riots! When one says Gujarat is the first State in country to have "high speed wireless Broadband service in its all 18,000 villages, The other says 2002 Riots! When one says Forbes Magazine rated Ahmadabad as the fastest growing city in India and 3rd in the world, The other says 2002 Riots! When one says Gujarat Tourism is growing faster than ever before, The other says 2002 Riots! When one says according to central govt's Labour Bureau's report, Gujarat has the lowest unemployment rate in country, The other says 2002 Riots! When Narendra Modi is being chosen as the best current Indian leader in almost all surveys & polls again and again The other says 2002 Riots! When one says 2003-2013 are the only 10 straight years in Gujarat history which are totally riot-free, The other STILL says 2002 Riots! But when we remind them about riots which occurred during Congress and in Communist Party rule : 1947 Bengal....5,000 to 10,000 dead ...CONGRESS RULE. 1967 Ranchi....200 DEAD..........CONGRESS RULE. 1969 Ahmedabad...512 DEAD........CONGRESS RULE. 1970 Bhiwandi....80 DEAD.............CONGRESS RULE. 1979 Jamshedpur..125 DEAD......CPIM RULE (COMMUNIST PARTY) 1980 Moradabad...2,000 DEAD...CONGRESS RULE. 1983 Nellie Assam.....5,000 DEAD...CONGRESS RULE. 1984 anti-Sikh Delhi...2,733 DEAD...CONGRESS RULE 1984 Bhiwandi....146 DEAD....CONGRESS RULE 1985 Gujarat.....300 DEAD..CONGRESS RULE 1986 Ahmedabad......59 DEAD.....CONGRESS RULE 1987 Meerut....81 DEAD...CONGRESS RULE 1989 Bhagalpur......1,070 DEAD......CONGRESS RULE 1990 Hyderabad......300 PLUS DEAD....CONGRESS RULE 1992 Mumbai....900 TO 2000 DEAD....CONGRESS RULE 1992 Aligarh....176 DEAD.....CONGRESS RULE 1992 Surat.......175 DEAD.....CONGRESS RULE"
Sachin=GOD Posted August 30, 2013 Posted August 30, 2013 Just sharing an FB status "Recently, India's most well-known film script-writer Salim Khan (actor Salmaan Khan's father) has said to a senior journalist in an interview: "Does anyone remember who the chief minister of Maharashtra was during the Mumbai riots which were no less deadly than the Gujarat riots of 2002? once again I wil ask the same question - is this somehow supposed to justify the Gujarat riots?
diga Posted August 30, 2013 Posted August 30, 2013 once again I wil ask the same question - is this somehow supposed to justify the Gujarat riots? no.. but you cant keep harping on 2002 for every thing discussed on Guj
ravishingravi Posted August 30, 2013 Posted August 30, 2013 once again I wil ask the same question - is this somehow supposed to justify the Gujarat riots? I agree with you with 2 caveats. 1) I don't see the same level of suspicion, doubts and vitriol raised when it comes to leadership in other riots. 2) Again comes back to evidence to determine culpability. If anybody has evidence to nail him him, hang him for all I care. Otherwise it is mere "selective" character assassination.
Sachin=GOD Posted August 30, 2013 Posted August 30, 2013 I agree with you with 2 caveats. 1) I don't see the same level of suspicion, doubts and vitriol raised when it comes to leadership in other riots. 2) Again comes back to evidence to determine culpability. If anybody has evidence to nail him him, hang him for all I care. Otherwise it is mere "selective" character assassination. 1. there I agree with you. In general, apart form the '84 riots, we have not seen questions raised over many other riots till date. Its sad but thats the reality. BUT that does not mean that people should stop questioning Modi/Gujarat Govt. regarding the riots. 2. actually it comes down to how much do you believe in the judicial process and the power of the Govt. (I mean the Gujarat Govt.) to conceal evidence/present selective evidence. I have seen far too many cases of corrupt people (especially those in power) and criminals go free in the Indian judicial system to blindly believe in a "not guilty" verdict for Modi (if such a verdict does come). Also, as I have said many times, my opposition to Modi is not merely because of the riots, its also because I just do not like his style of Governance centred on one person and I do not trust him as a leader.
saneindian Posted August 30, 2013 Posted August 30, 2013 SG can you name at least three very popular ministers from each of these governments? Sheila Dixit Shivraj Singh Chauhan Nitish Kumar Raman Singh Jaylalita Mamta Bannerjee Naveen Patnaik Manik Sarkar Prakash Singh Badal Akhilesh Yadav Or from the ministeries of erstwhile popular CMs? Mayawati YSR Reddy Karunanidhi Lalu Yadav Jyoti Basu Budhadeb Bhattacharya Sushma Swaraj :P Keshubhai Patel Suresh Mehta Shanlker Singh Waghela Late Saahib Singh Verma
saneindian Posted August 30, 2013 Posted August 30, 2013 Aakash Chopra @cricketaakash 29 Aug Yesterday I met a businessman who moved all his factories to Gujrat from UP...says life has never been easier. Well done, Narendra Modi! Communal kahin ka
ravishingravi Posted August 30, 2013 Posted August 30, 2013 1. there I agree with you. In general, apart form the '84 riots, we have not seen questions raised over many other riots till date. Its sad but thats the reality. BUT that does not mean that people should stop questioning Modi/Gujarat Govt. regarding the riots. 2. actually it comes down to how much do you believe in the judicial process and the power of the Govt. (I mean the Gujarat Govt.) to conceal evidence/present selective evidence. I have seen far too many cases of corrupt people (especially those in power) and criminals go free in the Indian judicial system to blindly believe in a "not guilty" verdict for Modi (if such a verdict does come). Also, as I have said many times, my opposition to Modi is not merely because of the riots, its also because I just do not like his style of Governance centred on one person and I do not trust him as a leader. Which is completely fair point. I think there are serious question marks on his approach and whether it can work at national level. But we know what doesn't work and that is in power today.