rkt.india Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Kholi at 5 is useless' date=' we need him to cement his way into number 3, number 5/6 are arguably the two least important positions when comparing them with 3 and 4( bear in mind the other positions are taken by GG/Dhoni n seh)[/quote'] Puhara is technically better than Kohli to bat at 3, IMO.
Vijay.Sharma Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Puhara is technically better than Kohli to bat at 3' date=' IMO.[/quote']I would prefer a dasher than a blocker at 3. Of course Rahul was a great success for India in the last decade and a half but we've always had stroke-makers playing at 3..and that has been the case with other teams too
rkt.india Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 I would prefer a dasher than a blocker at 3. Of course Rahul was a great success for India in the last decade and a half but we've always had stroke-makers playing at 3..and that has been the case with other teams too Pujara is not just a blocker. He has every shot in his book. Neither Kallis is a dasher nor Amla and neither Trott.
rkt.india Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Pujara batted at 3 when he scored his first 50 against Aus with ease when Dravid was struggling was dropped down and played fluently in a chase and even Kohli is not a dasher. He too plays his own steady game.
saneindian Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Should actually move down to number 5. Pujara at 3, Kohli at 4, Sachin at 5 and Rohit at 6 should be the bating line up for the home leg of next 10 tests. The home series is the time for us to prepare the side to play without Sachin and he will have to gradually move down the order to let the younger batsmen take more responsibility.
Number Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 We should have thought about it, but tbh even he is out of form and not scoring enough runs so I don't think it will be a good move.
Vijay.Sharma Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Pujara is not just a blocker. He has every shot in his book. Neither Kallis is a dasher nor Amla and neither Trott.Even Dravid has every shot in the book...it is not just the ability to play shots that differentiates dashers and blockers...it is the approach towards batting. Pujara is a guy who will take less risks...generally blockers take less risks. Between Pujara and Kohli I would think the latter would have a higher SR on most days even given that the former may possess more strokes in his arsenal
Sachin=GOD Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 I doubt Tendulkar will retire anytime soon Laxman will retire first, Tendulkar will probably retire when youngsters like Pujara, Rohit, Kohli have settled in their new positions Sehwag Gambhir Pujara Tendulkar Kohli Rohit Dhoni Laxman will be in the team for sometime in place of Rohit/Pujara and when he retires/fails in India as well then we will have this lineup. As for Goddy moving to #3 - not happening so no point discussing it.
wanted_desi Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Give it to Kohli, and #4 to Rohit. Sachin should move to 5
vamos_rafa Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Bhaiyo, Sachin kahi nahi jane wala. Wo 4 number par hi khelega.
bulbul Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 lol...he never moved up when India desperately needed openers ..why should he will do now
Needforspeed Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 lol...he never moved up when India desperately needed openers ..why should he will do now +1. And who is going to move him? :cantstop:
daryl1985 Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Even Dravid has every shot in the book...it is not just the ability to play shots that differentiates dashers and blockers...it is the approach towards batting. Pujara is a guy who will take less risks...generally blockers take less risks. Between Pujara and Kohli I would think the latter would have a higher SR on most days even given that the former may possess more strokes in his arsenal Pujara and Rahane are more suited to the number 3 role than Kohli, for the time being at least. Kohli should be at 5 or 6 (5 if VVS retires).
ravishingravi Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 There should be a third question. Can any of maharathis be moved anywhere ? 4th Who will do that job ?
adi B Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 i dont wanna sound bad, but i think he cant face the new ball nowadyas nd his reflexes have gone down , so he will struggle againt fast bowling, he is better off at #5
CoverDrive Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 Why can't Gambhir move to 3? because currently there are more middle order players fighting to get in - Pujara, Rohit etc. the reserve openers (Mukund, Vijay) have not made a good impression and sehwag is anyway shaky so we can't remove gambhir from the opening slot.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 at most England series. That should be the very latest coz you need enough time for the youngsters to settle in before we start touring away.
Precambrian Posted June 5, 2012 Posted June 5, 2012 How's 4th position lesser important than 3rd is beyond me. Next - Sachin should open bowling in absence of good test phaast bowlers. Well, why the selfish hack cannot? he's got abt 200 international wickets and have won games bowling medium pace aint he?