Since we are at this topic, I believe Raj Kapoor was the one who started it all and should be considered as the first hero of Indian Cinema. He was even so popular in Russia, and other parts of Europe, Iran etc. Just 2 weeks ago here in Maryland, they even had Raj Kapoor movie festival week where they played some of histop hits. Nothing against Rajesh Khanna, who was a legend himself, but I believe the current generation ought to know more about Raj Kapoor, who simply was awesome at everything. What you all think?

..in the same breath, there was massive craze for Manoj Kumar, Rajendra Kumar as well but I think its more to do with terminology used in 70's 80's

why Mera Naam Joker flopped?? isn't it his magnum opus read somewhere it was popular in eastern europe

I think Rajesh Khanna was the first star to be considered No1. Raj Kapoor was considered great in his time, but since Dev Anand, Dilip Kumar, Raj Kumar etc were there at that time he was considered to be one of the stars, Not THE STAR. One of my uncles told me this, so I am not sure. But this could the explanation for calling Rajesh Khanna the first Superstar.

why Mera Naam Joker flopped?? isn't it his magnum opus read somewhere it was popular in eastern europe
flopped? My dad told me that it was a big super hit when it was released the 2nd time. Still remains I think most popular movie of the old times among the younger generation

The first star with a fan following was Ashok Kumar. Then came the trio - Yusuf Khan, Dev Anand and Raj Kapoor. Rajesh Khanna was indeed the first super star who had a lot of female fans, with a Beatles-like crazed fans and the frenzy he would cause. It was new to HFI in the 70s. Kind of what the present day Khans, Hritiks do cause.

flopped? My dad told me that it was a big super hit when it was released the 2nd time. Still remains I think most popular movie of the old times among the younger generation
It flopped big time and RK and the studio was in deep debts after the losses. He was kind of saved by Haji Mastan who helped/financed RK to make Bobby which was big hit. It was an all out production that made Bobby a major hit - he got back Laxmikant Pyarelal to make popular music, got a new girl and exploited her to the fullest.
The first star with a fan following was Ashok Kumar. Then came the trio - Yusuf Khan, Dev Anand and Raj Kapoor. Rajesh Khanna was indeed the first super star who had a lot of female fans, with a Beetles-like crazed fans and the frenzy he would cause. It was new to HFI in the 70s. Kind of what the present day Khans, Hritiks do cause.
Beetles nahi Beatles. Beetle aunty will belan you totally!
Salay Sexter tu auto correction hai kya?

e

It flopped big time and RK and the studio was in deep debts after the losses. He was kind of saved by Haji Mastan who helped/financed RK to make Bobby which was big hit. It was an all out production that made Bobby a major hit - he got back Laxmikant Pyarelal to make popular music' date=' got a new girl and exploited her to the fullest.[/quote'] But i always been hearing Mera nam Joker re relased with two different part and became a big hit which it wasnt the first time. I am sure some other people here would confirm this.

Also have to take into account the time period when Rajesh Khanna reigned; 60s was a time of mass hysteria for everything and a period of extremes whether love or rebellion Hard to replicate the same in other eras

e But i always been hearing Mera nam Joker re relased with two different part and became a big hit which it wasnt the first time. I am sure some other people here would confirm this.
He became famous for his role but the movie flopped http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mera_Naam_Joker Six years in the making, with Raj Kapoor investing much of his own personal fortune, Mera Naam Joker flopped at the box office.[1] In later years, however, the film has garnered critical prais Now, talk about Sangam - that was a major hit

My folks were fond of movies, my mother told me Raj delivered the hit "Jis Desh Men Ganga Behti Hai" and the following year Dilip Kumar came up with "Gunga Jumna". She used to have quarrels with my late mama as her fav was Rajendra Kumar and he liked Manoj Kumar and Raj Kapoor

LOgo ko samajh nahi aayi. It was made ahead of its time, was the biggest flop of Raj Kapoor inflicted huge loss to him, but later remembered as classic.
The first star with a fan following was Ashok Kumar. Then came the trio - Yusuf Khan, Dev Anand and Raj Kapoor. Rajesh Khanna was indeed the first super star who had a lot of female fans, with a Beatles-like crazed fans and the frenzy he would cause. It was new to HFI in the 70s. Kind of what the present day Khans, Hritiks do cause.
CR has pretty much nailed it, but just a slight elaboration that Raj Kapoor, Dev Anand, and Dilip Kumar were "super stars" in their own genre which seldom if ever mingled. Rajesh Khanna was the first actor who brought together a female and poor following to Indian cinema - I am a huge Amitabh Bachchan romantic but I would be hard pressed to say that he had the women following in Indian cinema. Across the strata, Rajesh Khanna was the biggest star. It was a short rise to stardom, but it was one which no one has been able to replicate - not Amitabh Bachchan, nor Shahrukh Khan. But if I were to list superstars of Indian cinema they would be - Rajesh Khanna, Amitabh Bachchan, and Shahrukh Khan with Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand, and Raj Kapoor right behind.