BCCI mulls three captains for Team India

Great performers don't necessarily make great captains. It is a crisis that so many players are going through a slump or on their last heel or just starting out.. It kinda leaves us very few choices.

Gautam Gambhir in Test Matches since 2010 No code has to be inserted here. :laugh: Virender Sehwag in Test Matches since 2011 No code has to be inserted here. :facepalm: MS Dhoni in Test Matches since 2010 No code has to be inserted here.
2011 for Viru,2010 for MSD n Gauti?:hmmm: anyway is that start of 2010,Viru averages 46 since 1st Jan 2010,not too bad:--D

Because Viru's bad form started after 2010 (10 Test matches is still a decent time) - more importantly Sehwag has not played any good knock of note outside the sub continent (including 2010). Sehwag since 2010 in Test Matches No code has to be inserted here.

Don't know if it's some masala news or the truth but why would you want to retain MS Dhoni as the test captain after 8-0 debacle and it would be too early to make Virat the ODI captain but I would like to see Raina as the T20 captain though.
Masala news. Cricketnext is not a reliable source.
MS Dhoni since 2011 in Test Matches No code has to be inserted here. Khush kar le apne aap ko, Bhagwaan Ji.
As a wicket keeper batsman, that's a decent performance. Other batters like Sehwag and Gambhir have done worse.
Because Viru's bad form started after 2010 (10 Test matches is still a decent time) - more importantly Sehwag has not played any good knock of note outside the sub continent (including 2010). Sehwag since 2010 in Test Matches No code has to be inserted here.
well,he was always that kind of player,except Australia,he struggled everywhere even b4 2010,in England this time he was called in despite being half fit coz of pathetic form of our batsmen.I dont think his place is in jeopardy yet,maybe we can look to move him in middle order in away tours
MS Dhoni since 2011 in Test Matches No code has to be inserted here. Khush kar le apne aap ko, Bhagwaan Ji.
arre its not Dhoni,I was wondering why different criteria,u explained,all good. besides,I have never questioned his place as a WK batsman or said hes performed poor,its more about his tactics n looking mentally exhausted.I think his workload,which was always too much,is now showing effect
well' date='[b']he was always that kind of player,except Australia,he struggled everywhere even b4 2010,in England this time he was called in despite being half fit coz of pathetic form of our batsmen.I dont think his place is in jeopardy yet,maybe we can look to move him in middle order in away tours
He has only struggled on one tour of New Zealand. He's scored hundreds in Australia, South Africa and England before. Check out his innings of 109 in England (at Trent Bridge I guess) and that will give you an idea of what he's capable of. I think he does not have a great head on his shoulders. Twice he's had a session with Rudi Webster the psychologist and twice after that session he has scored a 300. Like Greg Chapell said, he's an amazing talent but does not do full potential. Three captains - Ganguly, Dravid and Kumble have wanted him in the team despite not being in form. That says quite something about the man but he's wasted it. In addition, his fitness issues are well documented. I would like to move him to the lower order but I'm afraid he will play like he wants to but not for the team as well.

Stats don't give us any idea whether someone would be an able captain. In that case India should send a team without captain as nobody is qualified to lead us for one reason or other. Dhoni needs some weight off his shoulders. Just look at how ABDV's performance in Tests and dropped once he became a keeper. India has to select the squad first and pick a captain from the list. It is going to be a gamble one way or the other. Be it is Kohli or Ashwin or even Pujara.

Statistics were for those great people who said Dhoni's performance is bad and hence should be replaced with Gambhir/Sehwag/Murali Karthik yada yada. This is not to put Dhoni as a permanent WK batsman in the team.

He has only struggled on one tour of New Zealand. He's scored hundreds in Australia' date=' South Africa and England before. Check out his innings of 109 in England (at Trent Bridge I guess) and that will give you an idea of what he's capable of. I think he does not have a great head on his shoulders. Twice he's had a session with Rudi Webster the psychologist and twice after that session he has scored a 300. Like Greg Chapell said, he's an amazing talent but does not do full potential. Three captains - Ganguly, Dravid and Kumble have wanted him in the team despite not being in form. That says quite something about the man but he's wasted it. In addition, his fitness issues are well documented. I would like to move him to the lower order but I'm afraid he will play like he wants to but not for the team as well.[/quote'] his innings in SA n Eng were in his first year,wen nobody knew his strengths n weaknesses,which is why he did well,after that he was found out,he flopped in 2009 NZ tour too n 2006 v SA. in the earlier part of his career,he used to bat responsibility,but I think all fame n hype got to him.the reason I say middle order coz he'll not have to face swinging ball with which he struggles,spinners he loves.he can be a poor version of KP there:--D
well' date='he was always that kind of player,except Australia,he struggled everywhere even b4 2010,in England this time he was called in despite being half fit coz of pathetic form of our batsmen.I dont think his place is in jeopardy yet,maybe we can look to move him in middle order in away tours[/quote'] He was half fit in the first place due to his pathetic attitude towards the Indian team.
He was half fit in the first place due to his pathetic attitude towards the Indian team.
what?he suffered the injury in 2009 n played many important matches for us,including WC.