How many Jersey people here? I hope Laaloo is doing well. Jersey is probably in the worst hit places.
Just came to work today and so I can access the internet Still no light at my house. No light since MOnday night 11pm. It's been 59 hours since light in my place. Good thing I was able to fill my car up before the storm hit. I've seen a mile long line at the gas stations which are working.

I can't get out of my house after 5 pm. It feels like a ghost town on my block. I've seen kids and families carrying sticks with them for protection. :cantstop: One of my friend was also carrying a pocket knife

:cantstop::cantstop:
The silver lining of the storm? :giggle:
Sorry, bad joke. Losing livelihood is a serious problem to have in life. I lost cable / internet today. Till now I had no problems. I have housed about 15 in the house (friends, etc.) as they don't even have power.
Sorry' date=' bad joke. Losing livelihood is a serious problem to have in life. I lost cable / internet today. Till now I had no problems. I have housed about 15 in the house (friends, etc.) as they don't even have power.[/quote'] Sorry, that did come across as insensitive but had completely to do with my general dislike of the Oak Tree Road mahaul than wishing ill upon anyone's livelihood - and yes I am a bit of a hypocrite here because there are certain restaurants there which I am very fond of.
Almost all road closures in NJ have been resolved - quite an achievement 2-3 days after such a nasty storm. Am becoming a bit of a Chris Christie admirer. :fear:
Became a bit of an admirer when this happened: Appearing on the networks this morning, Christie, for the third day in a row, heaped praise on Obama's handling of the storm. "The President has been outstanding in this," he told the Today show. On Morning Joe, he said, "It's been very good working with the President. He and his Administration have been coordinating with us. It's been wonderful. Speaking on CNN, Christie said that he had been mightily impressed by Obama's accessibility throughout the crisis. "He gave me his number at the White House, told me to call him if I needed anything, and he absolutely means it." Christie also pointed out that Obama didn't once bring up politics in their conversations, and added, "If he's not bringing it up, you can be sure that people in New Jersey are not worried about that, primarily if one of the guys running isn't." Then this happened: Fox News co-host Steve Doocy wondered when Republican presidential nominee Mitt Romney was going to get some of the same benefits from the hurricane with a photo op in disaster-stricken New Jersey towns. "Over the last couple of months, you have appeared throughout the country, Governor, on behalf of Mitt Romney, Doocy remarked to Christie. "[W]e hear that perhaps Mr. Romney may do some storm-related events. Is there any possibility that Gov. Romney may go to New Jersey to tour some of the damage with you?" "I have no idea, nor am I the least bit concerned or interested," Christie replied, immediately shutting down the idea. "I've got a job to do here in New Jersey that's much bigger than presidential politics and I could [sic] care less about any of that stuff." "I have a job to do," he added. "I've got 2.4 million people out of power, I've got devastation on the shore, I've got floods in the northern part of my state. If you think right now I give a damn about presidential politics then you don't know me." :hatsoff:

Chris Christie's actions are not surprising. He is facing elections next year and this storm gives him the perfect opportunity to showcase his governance and his ability to work with democrats putting partisan politics behind. Plus Romney's win doesnt really help Christie who has presidential aspirations himself. He would have t wait till 2020 to stake a claim for the party nomination.

kya sabne Christie, Christie laga rakha hai................republican nomination for 2016 would go to Sarah Palin B-> :phehehe:
:hatsoff: In India if someone does this, people would simply take away the chargers.
In times of calamity, Indians open their homes to strangers. I remember how during Mumbai floods many were given shelter. This is true for every culture though. Humanity prevails in adversity.
In times of calamity' date=' Indians open their homes to strangers. I remember how during Mumbai floods many were given shelter. This is true for every culture though. Humanity prevails in adversity.[/quote'] I was on the receiving end on some of that kindness. But, nothing beats the 'polite' Japanese - they are just too polite!