The Outsider Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 yet this pic of the pitch indicates that it wont be a turner as has been speculated. Wankhede track turns like crazy if there is no grass left on it, which makes it a very balanced wicket. To prevent it from turning square on day 2, you need to leave grass on the surface but that brings fast bowlers into play on the first 2 days. Traditional Wankhede wickets have been a joy to watch test match cricket on and leaving this amount of grass on the surface will make it play as a perfect test match pitch.
carnish Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 Wankhede track turns like crazy if there is no grass left on it, which makes it a very balanced wicket. To prevent it from turning square on day 2, you need to leave grass on the surface but that brings fast bowlers into play on the first 2 days. Traditional Wankhede wickets have been a joy to watch test match cricket on and leaving this amount of grass on the surface will make it play as a perfect test match pitch. Remember the pitch for last years test against west Indies ... it was flat as a pancake with low bounce till day 3 and suddenly on 4th morning it started turning like a minefield. We dont want the same thing happening especially if Dhoni again loses the toss like he did against sammy on that occasion and Windies scored nearly 600
The Outsider Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 Remember the pitch for last years test against west Indies ... it was flat as a pancake with low bounce till day 3 and suddenly on 4th morning it started turning like a minefield. We dont want the same thing happening especially if Dhoni again loses the toss like he did against sammy on that occasion and Windies scored nearly 600 That's always going to happen at Wankhede. No matter how good the pitch is, batting after Day 3 is going to be a pain. The amount of bounce that the red clay generates coupled with disintegration makes it a very challenging proposition on Day 4 and 5. Even chasing 150 odd in the fourth innings is hardly a formality.
carnish Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 That's always going to happen at Wankhede. No matter how good the pitch is' date=' batting after Day 3 is going to be a pain. The amount of bounce that the red clay generates coupled with disintegration makes it a very challenging proposition on Day 4 and 5. Even chasing 150 odd in the fourth innings is hardly a formality.[/quote'] That is a problem and it brings the toss very much into the game ... thats the reason why Dhoni wanted it to turn from Day one and not on Day 4.
panther Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 A cm of grass is worrying you lot:hysterical:, it's in the mindset I guess.
carnish Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 A cm of grass is worrying you lot:hysterical:' date=' it's in the mindset I guess.[/quote'] Not the grass dumbo ... what is worrying us is that its going to be flat on Day 1 and Day 2 and if we lose the toss the game might slip away quicker than anyone can imagine.
The Outsider Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 That is a problem and it brings the toss very much into the game ... thats the reason why Dhoni wanted it to turn from Day one and not on Day 4. Yaar, if Wankhede starts turning on day 1 you will get a repeat of the 2004 test where chindi spinners like Clarke were picking 6/11. For a good test on Wankhede there has to be grass cover which will bind the pitch for the first 2-3 days before it starts breaking up.
Old guy Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 Wankhede track turns like crazy if there is no grass left on it, which makes it a very balanced wicket. To prevent it from turning square on day 2, you need to leave grass on the surface but that brings fast bowlers into play on the first 2 days. Traditional Wankhede wickets have been a joy to watch test match cricket on and leaving this amount of grass on the surface will make it play as a perfect test match pitch. wow u know a lot abt these tracks btw that picture of pitch was taken 3-4 days ago
The Outsider Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 wow u know a lot abt these tracks btw that picture of pitch was taken 3-4 days ago Arre, I don't know jack*****, just going on my previous experience of watching/following cricket at Wankhede. The earliest match I remember is the Botham test of '80, and not through following it live or anything, but from the descriptions my Uncle gave to me 3-4 years later when I could recall anything. The first Wankhede match I remember is the '83 test against West Indies which started the Vengsarkar-Marshall rivalry and my favorite was the '94 test against West Indies in which Tendulkar and Mongia played top notch innings from India. That was the ideal pitch at the venue where good fast bowlers like Walsh and Benjamin picked up wickets, trash like Cuffy got hammered and at the same time Prabhakar and Srinath bowled very well along with Indian spinners. It was a tough pitch, but a top notch performance from both sides.
Old guy Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 Arre, I don't know jack*****, just going on my previous experience of watching/following cricket at Wankhede. The earliest match I remember is the Botham test of '80, and not through following it live or anything, but from the descriptions my Uncle gave to me 3-4 years later when I could recall anything. The first Wankhede match I remember is the '83 test against West Indies which started the Vengsarkar-Marshall rivalry and my favorite was the '94 test against West Indies in which Tendulkar and Mongia played top notch innings from India. That was the ideal pitch at the venue where good fast bowlers like Walsh and Benjamin picked up wickets, trash like Cuffy got hammered and at the same time Prabhakar and Srinath bowled very well along with Indian spinners. It was a tough pitch, but a top notch performance from both sides. 80's:omg: i have only started watching cricket in last decade :cantstop: and yes if track helps every one it will be perfect...also i think mumbai got warning after that match..i will back our bowlers to do well with bit of spin and bounce..in ahmedabad track didnt had that much bounce and pace (for spinners ).. btw some of u oldies who have watched cricket for so long should share these experiences more often..:hatsoff:
The Outsider Posted November 22, 2012 Posted November 22, 2012 80's:omg: BB, Dhondy, Rajiv, Cricket Tragic etc. have all watched and followed cricket longer than me. i have only started watching cricket in last decade :cantstop: and yes if track helps every one it will be perfect...also i think mumbai got warning after that match..i will back our bowlers to do well with bit of spin and bounce..in ahmedabad track didnt had that much bounce and pace (for spinners ).. They've relaid the Bombay track, so I don't know how it's going to behave since we've only had the WC Final and the India - WI test on the track afterwards. But I would love to see a wicket which has bounce on it, and that will only help quality spin bowling. The last thing cricket needs is tailenders putting on 200 runs or part time bowlers running through sides because of conditions. btw some of u oldies who have watched cricket for so long should share these experiences more often..:hatsoff: Oldies! :mad:
Old guy Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 BB, Dhondy, Rajiv, Cricket Tragic etc. have all watched and followed cricket longer than me. They've relaid the Bombay track, so I don't know how it's going to behave since we've only had the WC Final and the India - WI test on the track afterwards. But I would love to see a wicket which has bounce on it, and that will only help quality spin bowling. The last thing cricket needs is tailenders putting on 200 runs or part time bowlers running through sides because of conditions. Oldies! :mad: :vroam:
SLICKR392 Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 SLICKR what are the sources of those images ... are they of the pitch to be used tomorrow ... it looks flat with a tinge of green in it ... not a turner by any means ... Confirm. Got the shots from Simon Huges's twitter a/c. Its almost 3-4 days now. I think I sent this one to Sabby on FB?
Old guy Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Got the shots from Simon Huges's twitter a/c. Its almost 3-4 days now. I think I sent this one to Sabby on FB? yes thts i knew tht they are 3-4 days old
rkt.india Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Is PK injured?? If not' date=' them picking Bilbo Baggins over him is pure comedy by selctors[/quote'] PK is injured and BTW, do you want another TIm Bhainsan this itme playing for India?
rkt.india Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Remember the pitch for last years test against west Indies ... it was flat as a pancake with low bounce till day 3 and suddenly on 4th morning it started turning like a minefield. We dont want the same thing happening especially if Dhoni again loses the toss like he did against sammy on that occasion and Windies scored nearly 600 actually it was a batting paradise for first 4 day. There was no hope for result. WI IN innings was going on and not many wicket fell and suddenly on 5th morning ball started turning crazy.
CSK Fan Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Chalo, Lord got his wish. All the best to Bhajji. But I beleive we needed a second seam option just to give Zaheer some help and India a slight variance in its attack. But since we have won the toss, that should help the spinners
carnish Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Yaar' date=' if Wankhede starts turning on day 1 you will get a repeat of the 2004 test where chindi spinners like Clarke were picking 6/11. For a good test on Wankhede there has to be grass cover which will bind the pitch for the first 2-3 days before it starts breaking up.[/quote'] When Monty Dart Panesar gets 2 wickets on Day one its turning on Day One ... India is fecked.
Lord Posted November 23, 2012 Posted November 23, 2012 Chalo' date=' Lord got his wish. All the best to Bhajji. But I beleive we needed a second seam option just to give Zaheer some help and India a slight variance in its attack. But since we have won the toss, that should help the spinners[/quote'] its the sardarji test match.one has already done well.another would too