King Khan Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 As long as its about Gavaskar, ppl change. gets old, his nerve system electric circulation decreases. So no disrespect to him. btw who doesn't lick his paymaster's shoe anyway.
CG Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 He lost in test matches. And Amarnath wanted him dropped from ODI team. Does that make sense?? Even if he wanted to do that he should have axed all seniors including Shewag' date= Gambir and Tendu. A cleaning act like what we did for the 2007 T20 worldcup. :facepalm: we have been a poor odi side away in last few years.We lost to england 5-0,Southafrica series we lost 3-2.We were knocked out of champions trophy ,CB series finals we could not make, Asia cup we lost ,again asia cup we lost Add with 2 world cup t20 debacles .Selectors wanted to look toward the future and selected a young captain kohli and dhoni would still play.
Number Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 He lost in test matches. And Amarnath wanted him dropped from ODI team. Does that make sense?? Even if he wanted to do that he should have axed all seniors including Shewag' date=' Gambir and Tendu. A cleaning act like what we did for the 2007 T20 worldcup.[/quote'] Dhoni's captaincy was nothing special even in ODIs after WC, in fact it was abysmal at times in Aus. You can't kick the whole Team out.
superstar Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 :facepalm: we have been a poor odi side away in last few years.We lost to england 5-0,Southafrica series we lost 3-2.We were knocked out of champions trophy ,CB series finals we could not make, Asia cup we lost ,again asia cup we lost Add with 2 world cup t20 debacles .Selectors wanted to look toward the future and selected a young captain kohli. England we sucked and everything that had to go bad went bad. In Australia there were team unity issues. We won the world cup after the SA tour. Please remove Asia cup. Asia cup was lost because of one selfish individual who was chasing his milestone. He had the courage to go on TV (with ramiz??) during the innings break and say the pitch was slow and hard to bat. It was a pakka flat wicket.
CG Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 England we sucked and everything that had to go bad went bad. In Australia there were team unity issues. We won the world cup after the SA tour. Please remove Asia cup. Asia cup was lost because of one selfish individual who was chasing his milestone. He had the courage to go on TV (with ramiz??) during the innings break and say the pitch was slow and hard to bat. It was a pakka flat wicket. Blah blah blah excuses .Also we lost 2back to back asia cups ,3 world t20s.
King Tendulkar Posted December 12, 2012 Author Posted December 12, 2012 Dhoni's captaincy was nothing special even in ODIs after WC, in fact it was abysmal at times in Aus. You can't kick the whole Team out. Plus a lot of the players were top class test players and some can argue they may come back to form(I want changes though). They also will be remebered as good to great test players. But lets not forget one thing. Dhoni never was and never has been a grea/good test match player. In fact he is a very average/mediocre player who frankly has not been worthy of a place in the team for a number of years. Dhoni is not a good test match player, so all must rember this when talking about him, compared to others who have been good test match players.
superstar Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Haha. Just saw the interview on NDTV. The commentator talks rubbish. I wonder if NDTV reporters can report on things that affect NDTV without approval from their higher ups.
indiefan Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Few days back, Gavaskar was angry at dropping Bhajji! What more should one expect? He didn't like people playing football and today there is a photo of Dhoni playing football in the newspaper. Fully confusing :cantstop:
maniac Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Right now the way our cricket team is performing is embarassing to say the least....The only thing we can be proud of is BCCI and it's money and clout...so let's all support BCCI :finger: haterz
King Tendulkar Posted December 12, 2012 Author Posted December 12, 2012 The way gavaskar kept praising Dhoni and then also heaping constant praise on Kohli in his flielding was odd to say the least. Kept singling Kohli out for praise as one of only 2 players(other was biizarley dhoni even though has sucked) to show effort in field(by the way i am kohli fan and not averse to him being skipper), even though had poor series. Kept going on about how good he was in field. This makes me thinks Gavaskars pay masters have giving him the nod that Kohli will be new skipper. And so to go in to PR over drive to boost him to media. I may be looking too much in to it but I have a strong feeling thats what is going on here.
ravishingravi Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Have been saying this from Day 1. We dont have one unbiased honest voice.
King Tendulkar Posted December 12, 2012 Author Posted December 12, 2012 Have been saying this from Day 1. We dont have one unbiased honest voice. Its like our media in politics, no idea who to trust and who has a paymaster telling them what to say. Our cricket is the same now, cant even get honest view on our sport . As bloody comms are on payrolls as well to spout propoganda. Some newspapers at least still seem objective in regards to the cricket but the on screen tv comms and analyse are a joke. At least it explains why siva is always kept on as a comm, as his bootlicking skills and willingness to spout nonsense is unrivalled. Although sivas abilty to spout nonsense is sadly not always related to being paid to talk rubbish.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Time is not opportune to remove Dhoni: Gavaskar Former selector Mohinder Amarnath has openly stated that Mahendra Singh Dhoni needs to be removed from Test captaincy but his former teammate Sunil Gavaskar feels that “time is not opportune as there is no alternative”. “There is no alternative to Dhoni. He and Virat Kohli have been tireless on the field. Virat has been exception and Dhoni has also been tireless. He hasn’t missed too many opportunities of catching and stumping,” Gavaskar told NDTV on Wednesday. Asked about how would one come to know if there is a suitable alternative unless someone is thrown at the deep end of the pool, Gavaskar replied, “Time is not opportune. May be there can be a rethink after Nagpur Test as the series will get over.” Gavaskar termed Amarnath’s decision to speak out on the selection controversy as “incredibly courageous.” “What Jimmy has done is incredibly courageous and there are lessons to be learnt. He had the courage and conviction and was prepared to face the consequences.” About Amarnath’s allegations on N Srinivasan blocking Dhoni’s removal from captaincy, Gavaskar said,”It has always been the protocol to take final approval from the board. It is nothing out of the ordinary. The practice is also followed by the cricket boards in England and Australia.” Gavaskar even gave a reference to the board’s constitution drawing a parallel with the Indian constitution. “Don’t we see that the country’s President sends a particular recommendation back to Parliament for further discussion. Similarly, the board has a lot of layers. There is a technical committee and it’s recommendations are forwarded to the Working Committee and from there it goes to the main board meeting.” Asked about whether Dhoni being the captain of Chennai Super Kings -- the franchise that is owned by the board president has been a factor, Gavaskar answered, “It’s tough call. We should believe that the BCCI president would certainly have the interest of country’s cricket at heart.” http://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/time-is-not-opportune-to-remove-dhoni-gavaskar/article4192145.ece A question for him - We lost 8-0 in Eng and Aus. Now against Eng at home we can at best draw this series - when exactly will the right time to remove Dhoni come?
Trichromatic Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Time is not opportune to remove Dhoni: Gavaskar http://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/time-is-not-opportune-to-remove-dhoni-gavaskar/article4192145.ece A question for him - We lost 8-0 in Eng and Aus. Now against Eng at home we can at best draw this series - when exactly will the right time to remove Dhoni come? Malik se puchh kar batayenge Sunnyji.
maniac Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 We just were whitewashed in england odis,Lost in southafrica odi series ,were hammered in champions trophy,asia cup ,then agian in asia cup ,cb series , Kya record hai kaptain kool ka. All selectors wanted to look towards the future and give kohli the responsibility.Nothing wrong in that. Make him the T20 captain agree....Viru in tests...Kohli is tstill not a finished product as far as tests go. Dhoni for ODI's..... Viru is probably the only one who is still a guarantee for tests that's why he is the only option,not because he is good...rest all are playing for their spots,including youngsters like Pujara,Kohli and Ashwin
Yoda-esque Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Make him the T20 captain agree....Viru in tests...Kohli is tstill not a finished product as far as tests go. Dhoni for ODI's..... Viru is probably the only one who is still a guarantee for tests that's why he is the only option,not because he is good...rest all are playing for their spots,including youngsters like Pujara,Kohli and Ashwin Separate kaptaans won't work in our hegemonic society.Its in our blood.
saket123 Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Really disgusted with gavaskar a man who I love and respect. But it just shows how cricket india stinks and is full of corruption and conflicts of interests. We all know shastri and co are on BCCI payroll , which means even commentators thoughts are done to please paymasters. Defending this disgusting nature of BCCI and co You are miscomprehending Gavaskar's statement. Gavaskar is not exactly defending an illegal and corrupt action.. He is EXPLAINING, when questioned HOW the BCCI chief could do so.. about how the rules of the BCCI give discretionary powers to the President to veto a popular recommendation. He is pointing to the fact that what the BCCI chief did.. is perfectly within his powers. Gavaskar even mentioned he would like to think that the decision, he hopes, has nothing to do with Srinivasan owning stake in CSK. Gavaskar however, has also said that he doesn't think there is any good alternative at the moment to replace Dhoni. That is not considered defending what the BCCI chief did. There are two reasons to oppose the chief's decision. 1. because we believe he did something he had no authority to do otherwise... or 2. because we do not agree with him using his veto power to throw the recommendation out. Gavaskar may still be aligned with no. 2.. but he is explaining that no. 1 is not what happened here because it is within Srinivasan's power to do so.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Separate kaptaans won't work in our hegemonic society.Its in our blood. no harm in trying because we have reached such lows that there's not much left to lose.
maniac Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Separate kaptaans won't work in our hegemonic society.Its in our blood. We have just 5 players right now who might be the closest to make it to all 3 formats Dhoni-who is the topic of discussion here Ashwin-Not established at test level Kohli-Not established at test level Sehwag-Fitness concerns Gambhir-Test place in jeperody which means we have to go with seperate captaincy and I guess T20 is the best format to bring in a young captain,so if Kohli is the future,T20 has to go to him
King Tendulkar Posted December 13, 2012 Author Posted December 13, 2012 Sunny at it again, saying interfence from up above will happen now again and its nothing to worry about. Also criticising amarnaths selction panel for wanting to dismiss dhoni, as says dhoni is best man and no one else at that time. Said they may have wanted to sack him but if they had not selcted an alternative they were wrong blah blah Totally backing interference from big wigs and slamming amarnaths selctions committe to want to dismiss CSK no 1 brand. We knew these comms were paid up slaves to BCCI but truly sad to see it from sunny. Although if I was offered crores maybe I would say what they want it, its the systems fault not sunnys.