There was time only privileged people used to afford TV sets, and there was only 1 TV channel. Coverage was restricted. Today everyone has TV, 2-3 sets in one household is common sight. 100s of channels and 10s of news channels. Now we all day receive news of rape and murder. Kids grow up with these kind of news. It is NORMALCY for them whereas it is shock for us who are born in late 70s and early 80s. From days of Alif-Laila, Chitraahar, Chandrakanta, Vikram Baital, Swabhimaan, Jaspal Bhatti etc to these depressing news all day. Now you go anywhere in India, even paan waala shop has 14" TV and these news channel ON. These days my barber charge Rs. 100 for hair-cutting and has 40" LCD and AC installed there. :omg: Yes we are developing at rapid pace, new gadgets are now affordable. But content wise, it's been depressing journey. you switch on TV and hear Sardesai/Arnab barking. Such news send wrong signal, even sane guy like me start to think 'heck whole India is indulging in breaking law, why I should stay behind?' Such news is giving free publicity to bad people and painting a image that it's normal to be rapist, murderer, corrupt in India. Now we don't take crime seriously, only rare of rare case get our attention, rest are there just for time pass. That low our conscious has dropped.

No...they are just reporting what is happening around us. Yes they do sensationalise the cases but they are happening and have always happened. Earlier there were few channels and only a few cases could be reported.Now there are many channels giving news 24/7 .They just have more time to show more cases. People can still choose to watch parivarik TV if they choose to.Now we just have the choice to be informed.

Yes, its very normal for us to be influenced by what we see in the news. Just the other day, I saw a news report of 20 kids being gunned down in cold blood by a manic killer. A sudden, irrepressible urge to replicate that feat surged thru my brain and I really had to hold myself on that one. :relief: :bird:

No. It is not media's fault that in the day and age where pretty much everything is accessible to common gentry we, the citizens, keep flocking to rubbish news. I mean look at the Hindi movie for example. In the days of Gangs of Wasseypur and Paan Singh Tomar the movies that people actually go watch is Rowdy Rathore. Whose fault is that? In particular about the Delhi rape incident, the Indian media covered it very well. Of all the institutions the media is the one that came out smelling like roses. Had it not been for them the outrage may not have been as widespread and intense. Specially if one considers how these days every other media outlet is supposed to have a bias for Congress, BJP or something else. This time every media outlet went at the political party in charge(Congress).

:hysterical:

I don't want to troll but compelled to do here... IS rohit S Ambani responsible for increase in trolling activities on ICF ??

^ Or for that matter lowering the collective IQ single-handedly :haha: I saw Adams Family when I was a kid but didn't feel like sleeping in a grave.

Come on guys, thats a pretty fair question. Dont shoot the messnger and all that. There is a very pertinent point about the lack of quality programming. In particular TV series and movies. Only yesterday I was looking at an article at CNN where Americans are also wondering how much of reality TV and superheroes have affected quality programming and why there is dearth of good content. The highlight of 2012 is Gangnam Style, really????

What's that got to do with crime rates ?

You could blame every indirect aspects of your life. At the end of the day It is LAW and ORDER, LAW and ORDER nothing else.. They arrest people for liking on facebook and give presidential pardon to rapists .

Have you ever heard of AK Roy Clarke?
No, I had to look him up on the interwebs. Is that because the media does not cover his struggles ? Please make your point.
No' date=' I had to look him up on the interwebs. Is that because the media does not cover his struggles ? Please make your point.[/quote'] AK Roy is the ONLY politician who voted against MPs getting pension. Every single party had voted for it. And once it was turned into law Mr Roy ensured that his pension is diverted to President Relief Fund. He is a 4 time MP, 6 time MLA from Dhanbad. Has a one room office, two chairs and a stack of books to call his own. About Rs 20,000 is his entire life savings. JP had to pull back his candidate since AK Roy wouldnt budge. Chances are though that you are more aware of the coal-mafia in Dhanbad than perhaps one of the most selfless politician in our entire country who hails from the same town. Whose fault is that folks like Roy are not highlighted while the goondas/mafia are??:hmmm:
Whose fault is that folks like Roy are not highlighted while the goondas/mafia are??:hmmm:
:hmmmm2: I'm not seeing how that's related to crime rate. The people of his area know him and thus were responsible enough by electing him multiple times. What if the media covered him better, how exactly does it help ? How is that compensating for political corruption & non-existent policing ?
Thought that was amply clear. From the same town you have completely different school of thoughts. One upright politician, second a completely corrupt political-criminal nexus. And the media keeps bringing the latter into spotlight. A young reader/viewer sees the latter non-stop as making crores. Former does not get any coverage, much less respect. Who do you think will influence more??

The news agencies/media reports the news. Its upto us as to whether we are look to do the same things ourselves (be it doing corrupt activities or such heinous acts as murder/rape etc) or we make some effort to control these things. The media's fault is that in trying to blur the boundaries between news and entertainment, they are resorting more and more to sensationalization and in presenting their own opinions rather than simple stating the facts and letting the viewers forms their opinions based on them.

Thought that was amply clear. From the same town you have completely different school of thoughts. One upright politician, second a completely corrupt political-criminal nexus. And the media keeps bringing the latter into spotlight. A young reader/viewer sees the latter non-stop as making crores. Former does not get any coverage, much less respect. Who do you think will influence more??
Ok, so I've heard of Mohammad Shahabuddin and not RK Roy, and lets assume its the media's fault that they cover the former's gundagardi which I thought was their job. How is that leading to an increase in crime rates ? Is the media helping Mr. Shahabuddin by making a hero out of him ? He has a very negative image generally so I'm not really following what you mean by influence. Feel free to walk away if this sounds too simplistic a discussion. Anyone else following how the media has a role in crime rates in our society can carry on and enlighten me.