Lord Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 By creating thoughts. Your natural instinctive thoughts will be in your mother tongue as of now' date=' but try thinking of something new and construct the sentence in English. It's a forceful process at the beginning but will become normal gradually. A bit like swimming.[/quote'] hmmm.sounds interesting.will give it a try.
Crookbond Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 Also' date=' if you start thinking in English (instead of thinking in ur mothertongue and translating it in English) it might help. It might take a bit of time but that way you'll be much more comfortable in the language.[/quote'] +1 for this suggestion. Very important for anyone who wants to quickly learn a new language.
Lurker Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 Actually, I did face a lot of difficulty when I went to Delhi from Odisha. I fast realized that if I did not improve my English and my dressing sense, I was not going anywhere with my career. You won't understand the problem unless you have experienced it. At that time, I could not manage to speak even a single complete sentence in English. Thankfully, I had learned my grammar well in school. So for me, it was not about learning the language, but about practicing it in speech and in writing. Took me about six months of real hard work. I used to stand in front of a mirror and speak to myself on random topics, read news papers and novels aloud and learn from their sentence construction. I started watching English channels more and concentrated on pronunciations of different words. And I started talking to people in English. I was made fun of when I made stupid mistakes, but it helped me learn the language faster. Since I was knew my grammar well, I mostly knew when I made mistakes. So it was about reducing mistakes while speaking in English, without fumbling, without slowing down, not stopping searching for the right words and without showing in anyway that I was putting efforts into it. I also practiced writing a lot and it was key to improving my language. I would write a sentence and then try to write the same sentence in many different ways and figure out which is the best for the tone of the topic. Thanks to God, I got over my language problems and managed to build myself a decent career in advertising, where communication in English plays an instrumental role - not just in communicating with clients, but in telling them how they should communicate with their TG. Great work there DK. You can write an article about it sometime maybe, would make for a great read. :hatsoff:
Lurker Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 I have the same problem' date='speaking English,though can read n write well.in my case,there are'nt many people I can speak in English to.so I fumble and jumble when I'm forced to speak:(([/quote'] The battle is perhaps as much psychological as it is linguistic. Don't put any pressure on yourself. You do not have to prove anything to anyone. English is your second language and that is that. It is an added skill at best but being proficient in you is not going to make you a different man, so no reason why lack there of should be either. If you have a recording device, do a mock self-interview of 3 questions and then record how you answer. You can hear how you sound and then work from there. Looking in the mirror, specially right in the eyes, is a great suggestion too. Half the battle is in the mind mate, let it go and you will win ur battle. Good luck :icflove:
Lord Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 The battle is perhaps as much psychological as it is linguistic. Don't put any pressure on yourself. You do not have to prove anything to anyone. English is your second language and that is that. It is an added skill at best but being proficient in you is not going to make you a different man, so no reason why lack there of should be either. If you have a recording device, do a mock self-interview of 3 questions and then record how you answer. You can hear how you sound and then work from there. Looking in the mirror, specially right in the eyes, is a great suggestion too. Half the battle is in the mind mate, let it go and you will win ur battle. Good luck :icflove: ya,good point.its all in mind.I am anyway a bit of a shy guy so that doesnt help thanks for the suggestions:icflove:
akshayxyz Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 Actually' date=' I did face a lot of difficulty when I went to Delhi from Odisha. I fast realized that if I did not improve my English and my dressing sense, I was not going anywhere with my career. You won't understand the problem unless you have experienced it. At that time, I could not manage to speak even a single complete sentence in English. Thankfully, I had learned my grammar well in school. So for me, it was not about learning the language, but about practicing it in speech and in writing. Took me about six months of real hard work. I used to stand in front of a mirror and speak to myself on random topics, read news papers and novels aloud and learn from their sentence construction. I started watching English channels more and concentrated on pronunciations of different words. And I started talking to people in English. I was made fun of when I made stupid mistakes, but it helped me learn the language faster. [b']Since I was knew my grammar well, I mostly knew when I made mistakes. So it was about reducing mistakes while speaking in English, without fumbling, without slowing down, not stopping searching for the right words and without showing in anyway that I was putting efforts into it. I also practiced writing a lot and it was key to improving my language. I would write a sentence and then try to write the same sentence in many different ways and figure out which is the best for the tone of the topic. Thanks to God, I got over my language problems and managed to build myself a decent career in advertising, where communication in English plays an instrumental role - not just in communicating with clients, but in telling them how they should communicate with their TG. irony ;) Good story. It is always refreshing to hear stories of struggle followed by hard work, translating to success.
KeyboardWarrior Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 I can read-write , urdu english sindhi panjabi chinese russian french spanish, also can read arabic, and trying to learn hindi.
Ram Posted January 13, 2013 Posted January 13, 2013 Actually, I did face a lot of difficulty when I went to Delhi from Odisha. I fast realized that if I did not improve my English and my dressing sense, I was not going anywhere with my career. You won't understand the problem unless you have experienced it. At that time, I could not manage to speak even a single complete sentence in English. Thankfully, I had learned my grammar well in school. So for me, it was not about learning the language, but about practicing it in speech and in writing. Took me about six months of real hard work. I used to stand in front of a mirror and speak to myself on random topics, read news papers and novels aloud and learn from their sentence construction. I started watching English channels more and concentrated on pronunciations of different words. And I started talking to people in English. I was made fun of when I made stupid mistakes, but it helped me learn the language faster. Since I was knew my grammar well, I mostly knew when I made mistakes. So it was about reducing mistakes while speaking in English, without fumbling, without slowing down, not stopping searching for the right words and without showing in anyway that I was putting efforts into it. I also practiced writing a lot and it was key to improving my language. I would write a sentence and then try to write the same sentence in many different ways and figure out which is the best for the tone of the topic. Thanks to God, I got over my language problems and managed to build myself a decent career in advertising, where communication in English plays an instrumental role - not just in communicating with clients, but in telling them how they should communicate with their TG. Your angrezi is almost flawless. :hatsoff: If only I was a half as hard-working and motivated as you are. :((
Old guy Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 Your angrezi is almost flawless. :hatsoff: If only I was a half as hard-working and motivated as you are. :(( well how did u learned english ? :hmmm: cos even ur troll posts are awesome to read :P
Magneto Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 I can read-write , urdu english sindhi panjabi chinese russian french spanish, also can read arabic, and trying to learn hindi. With or without smileys?
Clarke Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 I can read-write , urdu english sindhi panjabi chinese russian french spanish, also can read arabic, and trying to learn hindi. Next target/attack India mein hai kya
DomainK Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 Your angrezi is almost flawless. :hatsoff: If only I was a half as hard-working and motivated as you are. :(( You are the ultimate master of long yet interesting posts. How much more motivated you want to be?
DomainK Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 irony ;) Good story. It is always refreshing to hear stories of struggle followed by hard work, translating to success. :--D
KeyboardWarrior Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 With or without smileys? Both :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
EnterTheVoid Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 On the topic of language, read up the work of Noam Chomsky, he is the godfather of modern linguistics.
King Khan Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 Other than hindi-punjabi-english I guess I'm preety good with Bengali also; not just because I know how to read/write. I can interract with about 7-8 different regional dialects of it and some 4-5 more similar tribal languages as well.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 On the topic of language' date=' read up the work of Noam Chomsky, he is the godfather of modern linguistics.[/quote'] :agree:
Magneto Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 Other than hindi-punjabi-english I guess I'm preety good with Bengali also; not just because I know how to read/write. I can interract with about 7-8 different regional dialects of it and some 4-5 more similar tribal languages as well. What regional dialects?
India-KXIP fan Posted January 14, 2013 Posted January 14, 2013 I can read-write , urdu english sindhi panjabi chinese russian french spanish, also can read arabic, and trying to learn hindi. Wah. :nice: