Vijy Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 Would pick neither of them. Axar would have been better on these roads. He's a terrible batsman (worse than Ashwin and much worse than Jaddu), but I trust his style of bowling a bit more.
bharat297 Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 India's best chance of keeping teams under 300 is to take wickets. So I would pick Ashwin and probably Mishra and go with Bumrah/Shami, Yadav and Dhawan as my other 3 bowlers. To me Dhawan is the all-rounder choice for non-spinning pitches and Jadeja is better on turning pitches.
Vijy Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 India's best chance of keeping teams under 300 is to take wickets. So I would pick Ashwin and probably Mishra and go with Bumrah/Shami, Yadav and Dhawan as my other 3 bowlers. To me Dhawan is the all-rounder choice for non-spinning pitches and Jadeja is better on turning pitches. Ashwin is pretty useless on pitches that don't help. Yadav leaks far too many runs and can't be trusted in ODIs - even Pisshant is better. I had high hopes for Dhawan but he can contain runs at best, but I don't see him as a wicket-taking option.
Adi_91 Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 Ashwin is pretty useless on pitches that don't help. Yadav leaks far too many runs and can't be trusted in ODIs - even Pisshant is better. I had high hopes for Dhawan but he can contain runs at best, but I don't see him as a wicket-taking option. Dhawan was still bowling better than Umesh. I still feel Ashwin should have played yesterday in place of Gurkeerat. He hardly played a role yesterday Gurkeerat.
bharat297 Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 I think the fields set by Dhoni is a big factor to the guys leaking runs. I like the field that Smith set to Kohli in Canberra where he had 4 men on the off side saving 1, and the guys back on the leg side and backed his bowlers to bowl straight at the stumps and force Kohli to go inside out over the off side (if he wants a boundary). I haven't seen those sort of innovative fields from Dhoni in the last 4-5 years. With guys like Ashwin and Mishra, who have a lot of variations and skill, it's a big onus on the captain to channel that skill in the right direction. I think Ashwin is more likely than Jadeja to get 3-4 wickets in an ODI game.The big thing that Jadeja provides over Ashwin is fielding. It's just on another level. Jadeja is a really good support spinner but can't be the lead spinner.
Vijy Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 Dhawan was still bowling better than Umesh. I still feel Ashwin should have played yesterday in place of Gurkeerat. He hardly played a role yesterday Gurkeerat.I agree with both. Gurky is simply not for this level.
tweaker Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 Instead of this 2,Mishra would be better choice.
Vijy Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 Instead of this 2,Mishra would be better choice.Not sure about that. Mishra is too slow, and doesn't have sufficient zip. The batsmen would have ample time to tonk him on these pattas.
tweaker Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 Jadeja should be thrown out of team due to his selfishness. He was trying to stay notout& exposing tailenders by taking singles.As a allrounder with 3 300 ,he should have tzkdn responsibility of the chase.
Vijy Posted January 24, 2016 Posted January 24, 2016 Jadeja should be thrown out of team due to his selfishness. He was trying to stay notout& exposing tailenders by taking singles.As a allrounder with 3 300 ,he should have tzkdn responsibility of the chase.It was a pretty bad innings. However, those 3 triples mean diddly squat... anyone could have scored on those pitches against those attacks. tweaker 1
Trichromatic Posted November 10, 2016 Posted November 10, 2016 While Ashwin has been very good bowler, Jadeja rarely fails to contribute in home matches. He is a perfect support spinner. Keeps it tights and picks crucial wickets. However who is better on flat pitches? One thing about Ashwin is that he leaks run even when he is picking wickets. He is not the type of bowler who will strangle the opposition. Jadeja on the other hand always finds a way to keep run rate down if he is not picking up wickets and eventually it rewards him. So who can be our main bowler on flat pitches and overseas. Jadeja has already picked up a 5-fer in SA. Outbowled Ashwin in first inn against England. tweaker 1
Trichromatic Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 Although Ashwin picks up more 5-fers and more wickets at phenomenal rate, following observaton has been consistent if Jadeja struggles, then both struggle if Ashwin performs then Jadeja also does well (6-70 v 2-55 type ) if Ashwin doesn't perform even then Jadeja also performs sometimes. (1-100 v 5-90 type)
sensible-indian Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 (edited) ^Well....Ashwin picked up a 7fer in Nagpur when Jaddu went wicketless, 6 wickets in NZ Kanpur 2nd innings when Jaddu took 1 wicket. A few other instances too if we dig in. While Jaddu is undoubtedly more consistent of the two (in the sense he never gets humiliated or destroyed), Ashwin's performances impact the team results a lot. When he does well, it doesn't matter if others do well or not. He will take you home on his own. When he doesn't do well, it doesn't matter if others do well. We get screwed. Exception was Chennai 2016 where Jaddu was phenomenal. Edited March 6, 2017 by sensible-indian
zakk Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 jab dono ko ek saath khila sakte hai to phir kyu kisi ko bahar rakhna? dono bhi accha kar rahe hai
Trichromatic Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 49 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: ^Well....Ashwin picked up a 7fer in Nagpur when Jaddu went wicketless, 6 wickets in NZ Kanpur 2nd innings when Jaddu took 1 wicket. A few other instances too if we dig in. While Jaddu is undoubtedly more consistent of the two (in the sense he never gets humiliated or destroyed), Ashwin's performances impact the team results a lot. When he does well, it doesn't matter if others do well or not. He will take you home on his own. When he doesn't do well, it doesn't matter if others do well. We get screwed. Exception was Chennai 2016 where Jaddu was phenomenal. 2 instances with 50-0 and 58-1 in 20-25 overs. Those are not spectacular failures like how Ashwin manages to do 167-2, 151-1 and this inning. kira 1
sensible-indian Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 (edited) 22 minutes ago, Trichromatic said: 2 instances with 50-0 and 58-1 in 20-25 overs. Those are not spectacular failures like how Ashwin manages to do 167-2, 151-1 and this inning. I don't think anyone disagrees that Jaddu never gets humiliated like Ash. As for the topic in discussion, there will be more instances if I dig in. Chennai 2013 test where Ashwin took all 6 wickets to fall at first. If not for that, Australia would have run away with that game. Again Mumbai 2016, Ashwin picked up like 5 out of the first 6 wickets to fall. If not for that, situation would have been really bad. In series vs NZ.....Ashwin took 27 wickets and Jaddu took like 13-14. If not for Ash, Jaddu's 25 average in that series would have ballooned up to 30+. Even in the England series, while it was alive, Ash had like 27 wickets at 23 average and Jaddu had like 15 wickets at 30 average. Last game Jaddu set his record right so as you can see...both benefit from each other. Ashwin wins you far more games while Jaddu gives you far more control. Perfect combo. Edited March 6, 2017 by sensible-indian Gollum 1
Gollum Posted March 6, 2017 Posted March 6, 2017 Ashwin is a better bowler than Jaduu who himself is no slouch. As far is batting is concerned it isn't even a contest. However I would have both of them at all times in our test XI even for overseas matches. Reason is they complement each other beautifully and we need a southpaw who can bat in our team. Too many right handers in the squad and that may stop us from becoming a truly great team.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted March 19, 2017 Posted March 19, 2017 I am glad that they both play for India.But who is better?