Era of aggressive Test fields over - Dhoni

In-out fields were employed by Cook and Clarke/Watson as well.
This. But of course since Dhoni has used it first, it has to be the worst thing to happen to indian cricket.
Could you please tell me when did that happen?
Eh.. The question is I might want to find out instances when it did not happen. But for starters you can look up NZ tour of India before India left for SA because there is an actual evidence of me starting a thread on that occasion. NZ were 60 for 6 in first innings. They went on to score 200 iirc. Of course, I also remember the fanboyzz in that thread going after me.
This. But of course since Dhoni has used it first' date=' it has to be the worst thing to happen to indian cricket.[/quote'] So you think in out fields were never used before Dhoni?:hysterical:
Eh.. The question is I might want to find out instances when it did not happen. But for starters you can look up NZ tour of India before India left for SA because there is an actual evidence of me starting a thread on that occasion. NZ were 60 for 6 in first innings. They went on to score 200 iirc. Of course, I also remember the fanboyzz in that thread going after me.
When did that happen now! NZ scored 159 in the first innings of the 1st Test match in India. I guess you are referring to India's tour of NZ in 2009 where NZ were 60-6 and went on to score 279. The No. 8 batsman you're talking of was Daniel Vettori who (at that time) was batting as good as anyone in his team. The accompanying batsman was Jesse Ryder. Finally, it was not a spinning pitch.
Look at dhoni. Wins a test series finally at home against poor aussie side. Suddenly guru on tactics
When India was getting hammered Ashwin was being sent to answer questions.:hysterical:
1zvfon.png Here is an example of aggressive field by McCullum. You see 4 slips. 5th guy stands at Gully close to 4th slipyou won't see him in the pic. But Boult is far far superior than any of our bowlers bar Zak at his peak.
total BS,ofcourse boult is better than the crap pacers msd picks like pishant,vinee koomar in perth haha,no way better than yadav,bk,aaron (though injured) and some young untested bowlers..dhoni is a very defensive captain and doesnt play genuine fat bowler in his side rather sticks with koomars and ishant ,so when these bowlers leak runs like hell he opens the field..very rarely we see msd attack with pacers and that is not good for the confidence of a fast bowler
Look at dhoni. Wins a test series finally at home against poor aussie side. Suddenly guru on tactics
series kya jeet li,faaltu bakwaas start
When India was getting hammered Ashwin was being sent to answer questions.:hysterical:
And suddenly fat cement maker srini is now on tv doing interviews. Where was the fatso after 8-0 and home loss to england. Quiet as a mouse. A holes
Minor nitpicking but Dhoni was there to answer the questions after the series losses in Eng and Aus or vs Eng at home, was attending his mandatory press briefings as he did here. The context being different, the questions asked and the answers given are poles apart. Then they were asking him of team rifts, change in personnel, why he should not be asked, now he's asked about strategy, secret behind the win, changes in his style etc. Coming to the thread title, that he's a defensive captain is nothing new. There were various phases of play when with a bit of aggressive field setting, we could have crushed the Aussies with bigger margins. Under Dhoni, the number of times we have let the opposition recover from shaky opposition due to easy singles being given would run into dozens. Unfortunately, there's no change in sight as Dhoni would continue to do things as he pleases.
Minor nitpicking but Dhoni was there to answer the questions after the series losses in Eng and Aus or vs Eng at home, was attending his mandatory press briefings as he did here.
Yeah it was more of a flippant remark. However the convention teams usually follow is that the end of the day questions and answers are done by the player who performed well on the day. Ashwin was regularly being thrown in front of the bus in Australia despite not doing well at all.
Coming to the thread title, that he's a defensive captain is nothing new. There were various phases of play when with a bit of aggressive field setting, we could have crushed the Aussies with bigger margins. Under Dhoni, the number of times we have let the opposition recover from shaky opposition due to easy singles being given would run into dozens. Unfortunately, there's no change in sight as Dhoni would continue to do things as he pleases.
That's hypothetical. Another side of it that they might have scored more runs through boundaries than singles like Siddle did in Delhi.
Thinking of listing all down all the matches where MSD let the game drift..will require some effort..dekhte hain kab thread banta hai :) Phir discuss karenge

IMO it depends on the opposition and the particular match and the bowler. If i was the captain i would attack in the first hour and see how things are. then maybe change my mindset. The problem with Dhoni is that he seems to have only one mode for majority of the match. Despite the win's i thought Dhoni let the momentum slip with the last few wickets in the test v Australia. He was quick to back off their number 7.

Thinking of listing all down all the matches where MSD let the game drift..will require some effort..dekhte hain kab thread banta hai :) Phir discuss karenge
I agree about his defensive captaincy abroad when he does not have spinners to fall back on but at home his captaincy with handling of spinners is pretty fine. He is a spinners captain. You will always have a few instances of game drifting at home but you also need to remember that teams like England and Australia don't really have any proper tailenders like ours and partnerships are bound to happen when batting is deep.
I don't quite remember but it must have been an in-out field. If there 5 sweepers, there must have been 3-4 catchers.
So you think in out fields were never used before Dhoni?:hysterical:
I guess Dhoni used them before Cook/Clarke/Watson at least.

@people who are asking Dhoni to have 3-4 slip fielders! Indian pitches dont have anything for the pace bowlers, and add to that, Indian pace bowlers are ordinary and cannot make any use of the swinging ball hence captains have no other choice. Alongside India, BD also hardly keeps more than 3 slips(sometimes, we only have 1) because our trundlers bowl at wrong lines, length and dont know how to swing the ball. Team tactics depends on your resources. A team like SA would continuously bowl steyn, morkel and philander on similar indian pitches instead of their spinners. You play to your strengths, not to your weakness. Imagine India dropping ashwin for praveen kumar or NZ dropping Southee for some of their rubbish spinners