Prakat Posted April 16, 2013 Posted April 16, 2013 Selling the product has been their KRA long before IPL. Right as cricket viewership was breaking new records in 90s India there was the new problem of lakhs of TVs being switched off if it looked like India was not going to win. Losing eyeballs during the match meant advertisers could negotiate their TV ad deals at average viewership rates rather than peak viewership rates based on TRP data. This potential loss in revenues lead to the producers (starespn) briefing the commentators to spin the story positively no matter what was happening on the ground to keep the viewers glued till the last ad slot.
G_B_ Posted April 16, 2013 Posted April 16, 2013 OP is jealous because his job is more difficult than the commentators and is paid lesser than them. :hehe: spot on.... I would love to be a commentator. Please hire me BCCI. I will even have a DRS sucks tatoo on my arm
Desi Cartman Posted April 16, 2013 Author Posted April 16, 2013 OP is jealous because his job is more difficult than the commentators and is paid lesser than them. :hehe: Nahi yaar, of course paise ke liye I would do it as well but its very artificial excitement. I always thought the same about Tony greigh going OTT in games where his country wasnt involved. Must be boring
Crookbond Posted April 16, 2013 Posted April 16, 2013 Nahi yaar' date=' of course paise ke liye I would do it as well but its very artificial excitement. I always thought the same about Tony greigh going OTT in games where his country wasnt involved. Must be boring[/quote'] I was kidding - no, I wasn't. :winky: Well, some of the games like today do have a level of excitement and this is quite a personal thing. I prefer this commentary than the slow ones.
Mariyam Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 spot on.... I would love to be a commentator. Please hire me BCCI. I will even have a DRS sucks tatoo on my arm :cantstop::cantstop:
saneindian Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 How much do the likes of Bishop, Doull, Mcmillan, Morrison make for their IPL stint?
King Tendulkar Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 Lots of fake enthusiam in other sports commentay as well I actually I enjoy IPL games and I hate IPL, so maybe its not fake all time
Needforspeed Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 Dude, people fake in every profession, why not in commentary. Some of my most high value clients are so despicable that I have mentally shot them dead many times.
G_B_ Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 when there is a close finish or even a super over, its hard to fake it. A super over is very exiting. Issues play with one sided contests. Maybe you need to fake things to do your job and keep the audience hooked till the last ball. btw even if i was not paid, i would still take it. Best seats in the house and staying in 5 star hotels travelling the country. sign me up. @sane $100k plus expenses taken care of. Plus these guys also write columns in newspapers in india and the countries of their origin. Thats what i have been told.
Debutant Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 Matches are pretty exciting. Most of the commentators are ex players and obviously they will get excited when they see a close match or some breath taking catches. Even we spectators get excited. Whats the big deal if commentators get excited. Well since its IPL everything has to be fake and done only for money.
Sidhoni Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 Who wouldn't love to do the job of a commentator? You get paid for talking about your passion! Plus you also get to meet so many famous cricketers.
King Tendulkar Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 when there is a close finish or even a super over, its hard to fake it. A super over is very exiting. Issues play with one sided contests. Maybe you need to fake things to do your job and keep the audience hooked till the last ball. btw even if i was not paid, i would still take it. Best seats in the house and staying in 5 star hotels travelling the country. sign me up. @sane $100k plus expenses taken care of. Plus these guys also write columns in newspapers in india and the countries of their origin. Thats what i have been told. Really!!! What even siva the oily rat!!!
DarthSimian Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 I am excited every day watching every match in IPL. Nobody pays me money :P
Crookbond Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 Dude' date=' [b']people fake in every profession, why not in commentary. Some of my most high value clients are so despicable that I have mentally shot them dead many times. True - women are known to fake orgasms.
G_B_ Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 Really!!! What even siva the oily rat!!! yup internationally the going rate is $1500 per day. (i read that somewhere) so the ipl which most people commentate on about 30 matches gives you more than double. I think even the umpires (icc panel) earn about $120,000 if they stand the entire tournament. Local non icc umpires earn about (60k)
Swing_n_Speed Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 True - women are known to fake orgasms. to be fair it mostly depends of the guy their with :punter:
diga Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 True - women are known to fake orgasms. to be fair it mostly depends of the guy their with :punter: :hysterical: :hysterical:
someone Posted April 17, 2013 Posted April 17, 2013 That's called doing their work. Everybody does need to do some acting in their jobs.