Straight Drive Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 You can add that legalizing gambling could have a huge potentially disastrous impact on the national economy. All of it would permanently change India's position in the WTO and in trade talks with other countries. If a change this massive is to happen it better not be because of the frickin IPL. Betterbe because of the potential economic benefits to the nation. Why look west though....Japan, South Korea, Singapore and Taiwan don't have gambling and they're wayyyyyy better prepared to handle people saving less money. It seems that these countries know where their cars are parked.......because they park it in the same spot every time. It is the bookies who end up winning. Majority of betters lose the money. We don't even have a law for spot fixing or match fixing if Kapil Sibals interview is to be believed. And heck, the fans are talking about legalizing betting. Majority of betters in UK are going bankrupt. They are being bombarded by adverts to bet and trying to convince the Uk citizens that its the best thing they can do during austerity :cantstop:
Ibes Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 It is the bookies who end up winning. Majority of betters lose the money. We don't even have a law for spot fixing or match fixing if Kapil Sibals interview is to be believed. And heck' date=' the fans are talking about legalizing betting. Majority of betters in UK are going bankrupt. They are being bombarded by adverts to bet and trying to convince the Uk citizens that its the best thing they can do during austerity :cantstop:[/quote'] Even the best punters are lucky to go 50/50 gambling on sports over a long period of time. The house always gives nice enticingly dumb odds only to take it all back on the bigger matchups. Seriously who in the right mind would believe horse racing in India is legit. :haha:
Straight Drive Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 Even the best punters are lucky to go 50/50 gambling on sports over a long period of time. The house always gives nice enticingly dumb odds only to take it all back on the bigger matchups. Seriously who in the right mind would believe horse racing in India is legit. :haha: Probably most of those who want betting to be legalized have never put enough bets on cricket matches. They will realize what they are up to once they are into it. :giggle:
Crookbond Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 Probably most of those who want betting to be legalized have never put enough bets on cricket matches. They will realize what they are up to once they are into it. :giggle: Oh we have the betting king posting here. Please do an AMA.
Straight Drive Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 Nope, i am not a betting man. :winky: :omg: It's illegal in India. I am telling from whats happening to youths who bet on cricket in UK. I'm totally opposed to betting even if it was legal. would never bet. What's your take on it. Do you think making it legal it will help India considering various aspects of betting and its effects ?
rkt.india Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 Probably most of those who want betting to be legalized have never put enough bets on cricket matches. They will realize what they are up to once they are into it. :giggle: still 40,000 crores betting going on in India.
Old guy Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 legalizing betting will actually help reduce these huge bets there is a limit i think upto which person can bet..
Straight Drive Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 legalizing betting will actually help reduce these huge bets there is a limit i think upto which person can bet.. Don't you think it will drive many towards poverty.
Straight Drive Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 still 40' date='000 crores betting going on in India.[/quote'] Quite possible.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 still 40' date='000 crores betting going on in India.[/quote'] a lot more than that. The figure is more than 1 lac crore from what I've read.
urbestfriend Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 still 40' date='000 crores betting going on in India.[/quote'] Blame the police for not going after these well brunette betting syndicates, when it is easy to disband them. 40000 crores seems to be an exaggeration as no one can precisely say the total amount bet, but mostly these are easy momey/black money that's bet. Why do you want legal money to go into these syndicates?
urbestfriend Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 legalizing betting will actually help reduce these huge bets there is a limit i think upto which person can bet.. Not true at all. If you know betting on horse racing only 10% happens through legal channels and 90% illegal to save the tax. What guarantee that it does not happen for cricket?
Crookbond Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 Don't you think it will drive many towards poverty. There are many other things which drive people towards poverty - doesn't mean we make them illegal. Look, you've got to understand the mechanics behind it.
Straight Drive Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 There are many other things which drive people towards poverty - doesn't mean we make them illegal. Look' date=' you've got to understand the mechanics behind it.[/quote'] I have not yet understood what you mean by mechanics. As in placing bets, or the odds on offer or how the betting pattern of people is.
Crookbond Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 I have not yet understood what you mean by mechanics. As in placing bets' date=' or the odds on offer or how the betting pattern of people is.[/quote'] Illegal betting is a problem. The money for these is funded from the underworld who in turn want to make more money. This drives bookies to fix matches; so that they can con the small timers and make money on results depending on the odds of the matches. Anyways, legalizing betting is not a panacea but will help reduce some burden on the system. It will also bring in more accountability. For example, in the current spot fixing case the maximum penalty that the RR players face is life bans and/or suspensions (unless the franchisees file cases in court). Jail terms may be served only if player conduct during court sessions are not at the best behavior etc. (which is practically ruled out due to lawyers hired) and at best such jail terms will be very small. Now, if you had legalized betting there could have been far serious implications on the players as they can then be guilty of multiple fraud counts (not just the franchisee). In the end, your argument about "driving people to poverty" is out of place. Legalizing is NOT an encouragement to indulge in betting. It just means declaring to the state the details of your bet so that the government keeps a tab on activities. Of course, if you are found gaming the system you are as good as dead meat. But having said all the above, India as we stand are not ready from a pragmatic point of view to legalize betting owing to extrinsic factors. Theoretically, legalizing betting should not be an issue.
jalebi_bhai Posted May 25, 2013 Posted May 25, 2013 Illegal betting is a problem. The money for these is funded from the underworld who in turn want to make more money. This drives bookies to fix matches; so that they can con the small timers and make money on results depending on the odds of the matches. Anyways, legalizing betting is not a panacea but will help reduce some burden on the system. It will also bring in more accountability. For example, in the current spot fixing case the maximum penalty that the RR players face is life bans and/or suspensions (unless the franchisees file cases in court). Jail terms may be served only if player conduct during court sessions are not at the best behavior etc. (which is practically ruled out due to lawyers hired) and at best such jail terms will be very small. Now, if you had legalized betting there could have been far serious implications on the players as they can then be guilty of multiple fraud counts (not just the franchisee). In the end, your argument about "driving people to poverty" is out of place. Legalizing is NOT an encouragement to indulge in betting. It just means declaring to the state the details of your bet so that the government keeps a tab on activities. Of course, if you are found gaming the system you are as good as dead meat. But having said all the above, India as we stand are not ready from a pragmatic point of view to legalize betting owing to extrinsic factors. Theoretically, legalizing betting should not be an issue. Not the worst solution.....as long as it means that insider betting gets eradicated (by not letting franchise owners or general stakeholders in participating).......and long prison sentences are handed to players/officials found guilty of spot/match-fixing.....main hurdle could be having a transparent/ anti-corrupt body to oversee the smooth functioning of such legalized betting organizations....
diga Posted May 26, 2013 Posted May 26, 2013 Did gurunath admit in court to betting as this miday article makes it out to be? I admit I am a gambler. I have bet crores, and have won and lost crores too on IPL matches all summer. Vindu (Dara Singh) also forced me to pass on inside information on team compositions to him. But I am no fixer,†Gurunath Meiyappan alias ‘Guru’, the disgraced team principal of the Chennai Super Kings told a Mumbai court yesterday. The CSK team boss was subjected to detailed grilling on Saturday. The 37-year-old son-in-law of BCCI chief N Srinivasan was grilled by top crime branch officers before being produced in court and finally being remanded to custody till May 29. Won all bets on CSK: Guru A police officer, on condition of anonymity, said, "Guru told the police and the court that he had won almost all bets he placed on his own team this year. We are trying to find out if he had a hand in Chennai Super Kings losing to bottom-ranked Pune Warriors, as it is unlikely that such a strong team could lose so easily to Pune.†Guru also claimed he had won 80 per cent of all the bets he has placed on IPL matches over the years. Speaking to SUNDAY MiD DAY a senior police official claimed that Guru and Vindu were in constant touch with each other during many of the IPL matches, especially during the strategic time outs. The IPC section of harbouring offenders, already applied on Vindu, has now been slapped on Guru as well. Heated arguments in court Charged under various sections of forgery under the Indian Penal Code, along with cheating and even criminal conspiracy, Sections 4 and 5 of the Gambling Act and Section 66A of the Information Technology Act, several police guards escorted Guru to the Metropolitan Magistrate’s Court at Esplanade on Saturday afternoon, to secure his remand. Gurunath Meiyappan’s lawyers Appearing on Guru’s behalf, advocate Aabad Ponda argued that betting was a bailable offence. “He has a wife, kids and family. There is no point in arresting him. He is not going to run away,†Ponda told the court. As the arguments dragged on for over an hour, it looked as though the wily school dropout might slip through police fingers. But the tide turned when Metropolitan Magistrate MP Paaghe was shown transcripts of Guru’s conversations with Vindu Dara Singh. The court promptly remanded him to police custody till May 29. Vindu and Guru face to face Meanwhile co-accused Vindu and Guru were brought face to face. A police officer said, “Guru used to pass on information to Vindu, who would place bets on his behalf. Everything from details of fielding, who will open the bowling, changes in the lineup that must have been discussed during team meetings by captain MS Dhoni, were all passed on to Vindu.†Guru has now told the police that Vindu used him and the tips he supplied, for his own gain. CSK losing to Pune suspicious according to the above article.. was there a betting motive in introducing Strategic timeouts ???:hysterical:
diga Posted May 26, 2013 Posted May 26, 2013 Officially IndianPremierLeague @IPL 7m BCCI suspends Mr. Gurunath Meiyappan from any involvement in the sport of Cricket and @ChennaiIPL team
superstar Posted May 26, 2013 Posted May 26, 2013 Did gurunath admit in court to betting as this miday article makes it out to be? CSK losing to Pune suspicious according to the above article.. was there a betting motive in introducing Strategic timeouts ???:hysterical: Yes. Guru said he did betting without mammus knowledge CSK losing to pune...hmmm. That probably explains saharas anger. Probably he lost all money :--D
CG Posted May 26, 2013 Posted May 26, 2013 CSK losing to Pune suspicious according to the above article.. was there a betting motive in introducing Strategic timeouts ???:hysterical: