Cook's epic failure in Ashes series

a really good technically sound player. the fact that he's getting starts and then getting out suggests that he is suffering from some sort of mental blockage atm.

Can you apply the same logic to Pak batsmen and forgive them :cantstop: . Mental blockage is part of weakness. Anyway it was not just mental also a bit technical. He does have the habit of poking

his average is a partly 36 against Pak (his worse) which isn't too bad. Some players are much worse off when it comes to their worst team. Also he had to face Asif and Aamer for a full series which isn't too much fun for the best of batsmen.

he is not good against quality bowlers even when he played against us in england he had scores of 12,1,2,5 but scored 294 (team score 710- 7)) on a flat deck in third test he could not handle praveen kumar with the new ball he cash in against weak attack when the ball is not doing much

But for Zak's injury he would have continued to have poor series. Also didn't do much against SA. Great batsman on flat wickets lol. THoroughly enjoyed in India albeit had lot of luck with umpiring decision.
Can you apply the same logic to Pak batsmen and forgive them :cantstop: . Mental blockage is part of weakness. Anyway it was not just mental also a bit technical. He does have the habit of poking
What does this have to do with Pak batsmen? They range from extremely talented (Shafiq) to extremely limited (Azhar Ali) and all have different ailments... As far as Cook goes, you would expect a batsmen to get out poking in the first 10-20 deliveries... but if a batsmen does that when he gets to 50-60 then something else is amiss
Nope. He thrives on flat decks and average attacks by being patient. THat is all his strength. Patience. Techniquewise he is just average.
yup :agree: But i wont call him FTB just yet he handled ashwin well in india by being patient unlike aus we don't have a fast bowler to scare these guys when they bore us :sad:

Had a bad series. Won't be surprised if he gives away captaincy soon too. But to be honest, regardless of his failures, he is still pretty good against every kind of bowler. He has played spin well in India and has done well against pace in Australia. Still one of the best in the world whom I would definitely pick in my current world x1. He is like Amla, failed in few games recently, but still a top class batsman.

He has failed in the last 20 or so innings. No centuries, and only a couple of 50's.
Law of averages man. He was scoring too well before. Again he isn't Sachin or anything close, but definitely one of the best in the world. I would love to see Rohit Sharma average as much as 46 after 100 no. of test. I will take it.
Law of averages man. He was scoring too well before. Again he isn't Sachin or anything close' date=' but definitely one of the best in the world. [b']I would love to see Rohit Sharma average as much as 46 after 100 no. of test. I will take it.
if he plays that many Tests then I can guarantee you that he will average more than 46.
Law of averages man. He was scoring too well before. Again he isn't Sachin or anything close' date=' but definitely one of the best in the world. I would love to see Rohit Sharma average as much as 46 after 100 no. of test. I will take it.[/quote'] Law of averages doesn't last for 20 innings(11-12 test matches).

This England team has totally fallen apart. Cook has lost not just his batting form but also his captaincy has been very poor. They need to regroup quickly or else a downward spiral is around the corner which can push them back to 90s.

Law of averages man. He was scoring too well before. Again he isn't Sachin or anything close' date=' but definitely one of the best in the world. I would love to see Rohit Sharma average as much as 46 after 100 no. of test. I will take it.[/quote'] Bloody good test opener. But he does have some weaknesses in technique. So far managed to negate it with impeccable temperament. Let us wait and see if it was just a great one off patch.
Law of averages doesn't last for 20 innings(11-12 test matches).
Yaar bhai, Cook isn't one game or one series wonder. If he continues to fail also from here on, no one can deny that he had a brilliant run. Not just for frew series, but a span of big 75+ test. He has played 100 test for a reson. He has been brilliiant. Yes, he has failed a lot recently, but that doesn't take away anything from his achievements that he has had a terrific career so far.
if he plays that many Tests then I can guarantee you that he will average more than 46.
Yes. I hope so too. For an Indian player, a 100 test match cap person ususally average pretty good. So hopefully he does that.
Bloody good test opener. But he does have some weaknesses in technique. So far managed to negate it with impeccable temperament. Let us wait and see if it was just a great one off patch.
His decline has started since he has gotten back to the ODI team. Now he is playing more cricket then what he used to. That patch lasted close to 100 matches. SO definitely one of the brightest English player to have emerged in test cricket. He will still continue to score runs I believe but I guess with not same consistency as before.