Asia Cup to go ahead in Dhaka; Afghanistan to take part

Looking forward to it. Hope we do better now that we have aaron, umesh, bhuvi, shami, pandey, jadeja, ashwin which beats an attack of dinda, vk, pk, irfan (aka full toss bonanza!) Dhawan! Rohit Kohli Rahane/Rayudu Dhoni Raina Jadeja Good set of batsmen too!

If only Pujara gets selected, I'd replace Raina with Pujara and bump Dhoni down to 6.
If only Pujara gets selected' date=' I'd replace Raina with Pujara and bump Dhoni down to 6.[/quote'] Wouldn't be a bad thing but i feel that rayudu is solid as well and can score at a high rate. great fielder too so we should give him a chance before pujara. But its good we have options.

Didn't we just have in in Bangladesh last time? Whats wrong with hosting it in India or Srilanka? (see how I left Pakistan out of it :P) It's great to see that they have included Afganistan. They deserve it.

In B'desh again? India mein kab hoga bhai yeh Asia Cup ?
Abey, I doubt BCCI cares about hosting such tournaments. Agarr BCCI ke paas window hoti to host tri series or other tournaments, toh they would have extended IPL season instead of hosting Asia Cup

First XI:- Rohit Dhawan Kohli Rayudu Raina(if he does well in the NZ ODIs) Dhoni Jadeja Ashwin BK Aaron Shami Resreves:-Rahane,Kedar Yadav,Mishra,Ishant. This is a probable squad though I'd like Kedar in the first XI,then Saurabh Tiwary takes the reserve spot.Rasool for Mishra & Dhawal for Ishant.If we need an all-rounder then it should be Rishi not golgappa Binny.

Didn't we just have in in Bangladesh last time? Whats wrong with hosting it in India or Srilanka? (see how I left Pakistan out of it :P) It's great to see that they have included Afganistan. They deserve it.
yep.you should looking forward to play in Afghanistan thn .... :P
BCCI refused due to a tight schedule

Such a meaningless tournament, atleast for me. In terms of importance, it probably is somewhere close to a series against BD/Zim. 1. ODI WC 2. Tests against SA/Aus/Eng 3. Bilateral ODI against SA/Aus/Eng/Pak 4. IPL/Champions trophy 5. Tests against SL/WI/NZ @ home 6. World T20 7. Bilateral ODI against SL/WI/NZ 8. Asia Cup/Champions league 9. Cricket against BD/Zim Instead of this crap, wish we would go back the days of Hero cups and Australasia cups.

Participation in Asia Cup not guaranteed: Pakistan http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/top-stories/Participation-in-Asia-Cup-not-guaranteed-Pakistan/articleshow/28458830.cms The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) may have decided to hold the Asia Cup in the strife torn Bangladesh but Pakistan is refusing to commit itself to participation in the continental tournament. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) says its participation is subject to many a condition, effectively stating that there is no guarantee that it will take part. Primarily, the PCB wants to assess the situation before giving the goahead. "Pakistan will have to assess the developing situation carefully before confirming its participation if the matches are held in Bangladesh," a high level PCB official close to Pakistan board interim president Najam Sethi, told Mirror. He termed the situation in Bangladesh as adverse to the Pakistan cricket team. On Saturday, the ACC decided to go ahead with the tournament in Bangladesh despite reports of nation-wide protest in the country. Reports also said the situation in Bangladesh is volatile and Sunday's election was marred by violence and protests. The PCB said that anti-Pakistani sentiments are prevailing in Bangladesh and it cannot ignore the threat perception to its team in Dhaka. The Pakistan board has also revealed that the country's foreign office is as much concerned. "PCB and Pakistan foreign office cannot ignore the particular nature of the security threat to the Pakistan team if it is asked to play in the sort of civil strife circumstances that prevail in Bangladesh today," the official said. The official also strove to give a political colour to the issue linking the Asia Cup to the case of Quader Molla, a religious leader, who was recently executed by the Bangladesh government. "Unlike other teams, there are anti-Pakistan protests relating to the case of Quader Molla," the official stated. The ACC,led by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), however, is confident Pakistan will participate in the tournament, that has now been upgraded to a five-nation event. Previously, only four teams - India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh besides Pakistan - used to participate. The ACC has invited Afghanistan for the tournament. "The PCB was a party to the decision of the ACC and the Pakistan board has not objected to the decision," ACC chief executive Ashraful Huq said on Saturday. "That is our understanding. We're hopeful that Pakistan will take part," a BCCI official added. The Asia Cup is slated to be held from February 25 to March 7 in Dhaka.
The PCB said that anti-Pakistani sentiments are prevailing in Bangladesh and it cannot ignore the threat perception to its team in Dhaka. The Pakistan board has also revealed that the country's foreign office is as much concerned. "PCB and Pakistan foreign office cannot ignore the particular nature of the security threat to the Pakistan team if it is asked to play in the sort of civil strife circumstances that prevail in Bangladesh today," the official said.
:hysterical: Bunch of jokers. Who are they trying to fool? Just cause they got a cold shoulder from BCB, they want to act like babies? Troll level on these morons are over 9000.
Such a meaningless tournament, atleast for me. In terms of importance, it probably is somewhere close to a series against BD/Zim. 3. Bilateral ODI against SA/Aus/Eng/Pak
bilateral odi's against eng/pak,aus/sa is of greater importance than champions trophy,,,,and than ipl=champions trophy,,,,,,,,,,,speaks volumes of ur cricketing knowledge:hatsoff:
bilateral odi's against eng/pak' date='aus/sa is of greater importance than champions trophy,,,,and than ipl=champions trophy,,,,,,,,,,,speaks volumes of ur cricketing knowledge:hatsoff:[/quote'] Cos my preference to certain tournaments absolutely speaks about my "cricket knowledge"....speaks volumes of ur general intelligence:hatsoff:

They should replace Asia cup with Austral asia cup like good old days :agree: This Asia cup is boring which only gurantees one Indo - Pak clash, which even might not happen this year. I am interested to see Bang - Afg match though. Will decide who is the best minnow from Subcontinent:giggle:

Abey' date=' I doubt BCCI cares about hosting such tournaments. Agarr BCCI ke paas window hoti to host tri series or other tournaments, toh they would have extended IPL season instead of hosting Asia Cup[/quote'] It's election season.. IPL bhi shayad India mein nahi hoga iss baar

@carnish @zero_unit. dont just blindly spill garbage. the situation in bangladesh is directly linked with pakistan and hense more danger to pak players. thats why pcb is reluctant. its not bcci who threatns to cancel the series just coz they dont like the host boards ceo.

If they feel a threat to the players, PCB is well within its rights to withdraw from the tournament. But it would also reflect poorly on their own efforts to get other countries to tour Pakistan given the security situation.