randomGuy Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Delhi is city of privileged, and all of India works for delhiwallahs. No wonder they have all the time to do politics. little correction, all of india works for 0.01% of delhi wallahs.(this is what AAP will change one day i hope, i.e. India will work for all indians
beetle Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 The article says he was mocked for his hairstyle...that is not racist.
yoda Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 The article says he was mocked for his hairstyle...that is not racist. http://www.rediff.com/news/report/arunchal-student-beaten-to-death-in-delhi-friends-allege-racial-attack/20140131.htm A youth claiming to be his cousin told a TV channel, "This is surely about racism. Everybody in Delhi discriminates against us based on our looks. We are living in India, but we don't know whether we are actually living in India or not…every time we are discriminated against." “His family has been informed," he said. According to Avinash Mishra, Chief Resident Commissioner, Arunchal Pradesh Bhavan, the incident took place on Wednesday when Tanian along with a friend had gone to Lajpat Nagar market to locate a friend's address. "He asked for directions for at one of the shops there. Some workers of the shop started making fun of his blonde hair. He asked them not to laugh at him but they didn't budge. In a fit of rage, he perhaps hit the shop's counter breaking its glass," he said.
hhunaeh Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 http://indianexpress.com/article/india/india-others/nido-taniam-arunachal-student-northeast-protest-at-lajpat-nagar-market/ They stopped at Rajasthan Paneer Bhandar in A block to ask for directions. The victim’s friends have alleged that in response, the shopkeeper passed a rude comment about his clothes and the colour of his hair, called him “chinkiâ€, and laughed at him along with some other people at the shop. This allegedly provoked Nido to bang his fist on the shop counter, which shattered the glass and triggered a scuffle between him and the shopkeeper.
rageaddict Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 ager thoda sa hasne pe dukaan ka kaanch todega, toh fatke to khaega hi. "Hey dont look at me that way or I"ll break your feckin Shop" Sochta hoga yaha bhi Arunachal wali Bhaigiri chal jaaegi aur" MLA ka beta hoon "dhamki se subki phat jaegi. Kya pata tha esay ki ye Delhi wale to en cheezo mai ense 2 kadam aage hai. Ab Bhugto.
ravishingravi Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Disease called Delhi. Nope, I have no issues labelling the city. It has a reputation to keep.
hhunaeh Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 ager thoda sa hasne pe dukaan ka kaanch todega' date=' toh fatke to khaega hi.[/quote'] This is good enough reasoning only when the victims, on account of where they come from and how they look, are not constantly harassed for their differences. In face of constant harassment this kind of violent glass breaking response becomes understandable if not justified.
avicric Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Not defending police but police cant be every corner of a city all the time.the attitude of people need to change.rape is not done by police it is done by people from our socity.
scorpio90 Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 From The Hindu: Nido Tanian’s cousin Vinay Kumar said on Friday that the first-year college student was thrashed even after reaching a compromise with shopkeepers in Lajpat Nagar. “When he began walking down the street along with his friend, two shopkeepers, Akram and Farhan, waylaid them and again thrashed him with the help of around three to four men,” said Mr. Kumar. Somnath Bharti is directly responsible for the death of the NE student. The bugger made it fashionable to do mob justice to defenseless 'outsiders'. So now we are back to "secular" business then. Certain "minority communities" have the right to bash up people, always and every time. Khirki village is a green hotspot. After what this sootiya law minister did there, the believers have taken over the baton of mob justice. After the incident with Africans, loud speakers in mosques blared out warnings to Kafirs & instructions to believers. They specifically targeted Africans and our NE brethren, asking believers not to do business with them, not to rent them houses or PGs. Lajpat Nagar is not far away from this place. This was definitely coming. Greens are scared to physically assault Africans, so NE folks are natural targets. This also links up to the incident when NE peoplw were scared by the believers to run back from most of south india (during the same time as Azzad Maidan incident)
Sachin=GOD Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Disease called Delhi. Nope' date= I have no issues labelling the city. It has a reputation to keep. sadly this disease is present in almost all parts of the country and is spreading rapidly.
randomGuy Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 sadly this disease is present in almost all parts of the country and is spreading rapidly. Let people abuse delhi selectively if it helps them in any way. :)
Muloghonto Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 Why is this being seen as a hate or a racist crime? People get killed in delhi for overtaking cars' date='for 20 rs...for any damn reason. He broke a glass in anger...that is more than enough reason for most nut cases to go at people. Sad case...but I don't think it is a case of racism here.....unless I have missed something.[/quote'] It may or maynot have been a hate crime but sadly, it will be looked as hate crime by some people. This is because the reality is, Indians are extremely racist towards North-easties. Their 'chinese looks' are routinely mocked as 'chaptaas', 'chinkis', 'anarya', etc. , practically anything that makes them seem inferior and less indian. This is most obvious in western & northern India but even in the east, where the North-easties have regular presence, such as Bengal and Bihar, they are routinely heckled for racist reasons. So because of this backdrop of 'arya' racism against the north-easties, it is a bit like the white and black people situation in the US: whenever a white dude kills a black person in the US, there is a side-story about possible racism, same with whenever a north-eastie dies/gets ripped off by the rest of the mainstream Indians. They are actually one part of India that i am surprised have not broken off India yet. For they are one part of India, if they wanted independence from India, as an Indian, i'd support it. Because the sad reality is, we have done less for the North-East than any other region in India, we treat them like 2nd class citizens, we fight tooth and nail over Kashmir and the rights of 'kashmiri pandits' is a hot-button issue but we didnt say anything when the Chittagong hill tracts, right next to Mizoram were granted to Pakistan despite a 70% non-muslim population. We've done nothing for the north east, except for exploiting it for its prime tea growing regions and its border with china. We should correct it or as soon as Bodoland and those Assam separatists grow some sense and bring these issues to forefront in a non-violent way, the North East would seceede from India. And unless we change how we treat the people of that region and develop it, they would be completely justified in giving India a big middle finger and going their own way.
Rebel Agent Posted February 1, 2014 Posted February 1, 2014 So according to some posting on this thread calling a person "chinki" is not racist? No wonder India is the most racist country in the world, yet Indians seem to think everyone else is racist expect for them. A bit like "eve teasing" when it actually is sexual harassment or sexual assault, India has a long way to go. India would do well to clean up it's own country before beating its chest about how racist other nations are.
randomGuy Posted February 2, 2014 Posted February 2, 2014 So according to some posting on this thread calling a person "chinki" is not racist? No wonder India is the most racist country in the world, yet Indians seem to think everyone else is racist expect for them. everything depends on the context. if people say it in order to deride or to insult, its racist otherwise not. my cousins nick-name given to her by her parents is also chinki btw.
Raghav_12 Posted February 2, 2014 Posted February 2, 2014 Why is this being seen as a hate or a racist crime? People get killed in delhi for overtaking cars' date='for 20 rs...for any damn reason. He broke a glass in anger...that is more than enough reason for most nut cases to go at people. Sad case...but I don't think it is a case of racism here.....unless I have missed something.[/quote'] Yes. Attributing this death to racism is not fair and reeks of trp hunt of media. In most part of the world when you attack a person's property in his/her own area, you are inviting trouble. Being mocked at hair style not enough reason for you to break somebody's shop and neither that amounts to racism. It is simply a case of crime not of hate crime. Media and morally superior persons trying to find something for their self-contentment.
randomGuy Posted February 2, 2014 Posted February 2, 2014 Yes. Attributing this death to racism is not fair and reeks of trp hunt of media. In most part of the world when you attack a person's property in his/her own area, you are inviting trouble. Being mocked at hair style not enough reason for you to break somebody's shop and neither that amounts to racism. It is simply a case of crime not of hate crime. Media and morally superior persons trying to find something for their self-contentment. right,it's not a hate crime.
beetle Posted February 2, 2014 Posted February 2, 2014 May be the fact that the guy is an MLA's son is making me doubt this ......because in this country power trumps every thing else. Politicians children do tend to throw their weight around. But there is no doubt that people from the north east are discriminated against specially the woman are considered easy targets as they are stereotyped as more liberal or easy. As for being called chinki......may be because of the obvious discrimination they face the people from the north east are more sensitive to being called that. I am pretty chinki myself and would easily pass of as a Nepali ....but I have not ever found it offensive. I don't know anyone in my family who finds it offensive.Maybe having a name like Radhika makes a difference or maybe I have not faced that kind of discrimination.
CSK Fan Posted February 2, 2014 Posted February 2, 2014 everything depends on the context. if people say it in order to deride or to insult' date=' its racist otherwise not. my cousins nick-name given to her by her parents is also chinki btw.[/quote'] You have to understand the historical context of that word and why north east people would find it insulting. It is like calling a Punajbi a Pakistani. Some words have so much historic significance it cannot be used in any context. Plus when you paint an entire sect of people by one term based on only their ethnicity and features, it leads to generalization and stereo-types.
CSK Fan Posted February 2, 2014 Posted February 2, 2014 Yes. Attributing this death to racism is not fair and reeks of trp hunt of media. In most part of the world when you attack a person's property in his/her own area' date=' you are inviting trouble. Being mocked at hair style not enough reason for you to break somebody's shop and neither that amounts to racism. It is simply a case of crime not of hate crime. Media and morally superior persons trying to find something for their self-contentment.[/quote']
CSK Fan Posted February 2, 2014 Posted February 2, 2014 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/Goons-assault-two-Manipuri-women-in-Delhi-cops-go-slow-on-case/articleshow/29733863.cms NEW DELHI: Barely 3km from the spot in Lajpat Nagar where 19-year-old Nido Tania was brutally assaulted on Wednesday, two young women from Manipur were thrashed in full public view by some local goons at Kotla Mubarakpur. It happened four days before the latest outrage and came to light in the aftermath of the death of Tania. What provoked the men to attack the two hapless women was the fallout of a prank targeting the latter. One of them had kicked a dog in panic, as a reflex action, when she found its leash tied to her boots. It was part of their daily harassment and the men, as if on cue, attacked them. Tharmila Jajo and Chonmila came face to face with the harsh reality of living in Delhi around 9pm on January 25. Chonmila, who works at a local mall, had gone to a local shop managed by Tharmila to buy some Manipuri herbs. On spotting them, the goons first hurled racial abuses at them. When they didn't react, one of them tied the leash of his pet dog to Chonmila's boots. She got so scared that she started kicking the dog away, afraid that it would bite her. First, the men were just doubling up in laughter. But when they saw the woman trying to get away from the dog, they suddenly started beating her, accusing her of ill-treating the animal. When Tharmila intervened, two men dragged her out by the hair, virtually pulling her over the counter. But hey, this is not racism. If you kick anyone's dog in Delhi, how can you not be beaten up. if Delhi is not civilized and violence is a common way of life, why do you think rest of the country would allow this as an excuse?