Student from Arunachal 'beaten to death' in south Delhi

NEW DELHI: A college student from Arunachal Pradesh was allegedly beaten to death at Lajpat Nagar in south Delhi, Times Now reported. According to reports, Nido Taniam, a student from Arunachal Pradesh, along with his friends, had gone to Lajpat Nagar market on Wednesday (January 29). Taniam, a first year student, had reportedly gone to Lajpat Nagar with three friends on Wednesday afternoon, and was looking for an address when someone at a sweet shop started mocking him. Police sources say a fight erupted in which Taniam broke a glass at the shop. A group of seven or eight local men then allegedly beat him with sticks and rods. Someone called the police, which reportedly arrived at the spot and took the four students away but inexplicably dropped them back at the same place after a while. There were allegedly beaten again, sources added. Meanwhile, the victim's cousins have claimed that Taniam was targeted because of his hairstyle. The Aam Aadmi Party has put the onus on Delhi police over the death of Arunachal student. "Whoever is responsible for the attack on Arunachal student must be given stringent punishment," Dilip Pandey, AAP leader, said. The shopkeeper behind the attack has been detained by the Delhi police. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/delhi/Student-from-Arunachal-beaten-to-death-in-south-Delhi/articleshow/29660823.cms

Indian police sit in stations all the time. I have rarely seen them patrolling the streets in cars like in other countries. Isn't active patrolling and the fear of getting shot by the police that scares a lot of potential trouble makers? We don't have the men, the cars, the guns so i doubt if these violent crimes are going away any time soon.

Indian police sit in stations all the time. I have rarely seen them patrolling the streets in cars like in other countries. Isn't active patrolling and the fear of getting shot by the police that scares a lot of potential trouble makers? We don't have the men' date= the cars, the guns so i doubt if these violent crimes are going away any time soon.
You never been to Tamil nadu i assume ?
You will find regular patrolling vehicles even in smaller towns let alone chennai
That's good. I haven't see that in Bangalore and i have read that india has the one of the lowest police to civilian ration in the world. There should be regular patrolling by armed policeman and the number of police patrolling the streets should be high, like if i walk down any street say for 30-40 minutes i should have seen a cop car or two in that period.

Why is this being seen as a hate or a racist crime? People get killed in delhi for overtaking cars,for 20 rs...for any damn reason. He broke a glass in anger...that is more than enough reason for most nut cases to go at people. Sad case...but I don't think it is a case of racism here.....unless I have missed something.

Why is this being seen as a hate or a racist crime? People get killed in delhi for overtaking cars' date='for 20 rs...for any damn reason. He broke a glass in anger...that is more than enough reason for most nut cases to go at people. Sad case...but I don't think it is a case of racism here.....unless I have missed something.[/quote'] Completely Agree. There are goons everywhere, these goons are just looking an opportunity to beat up people..Sadly in this case, the poor kid died. I have seen myself in Bangalore ,3-4 autowallahs are beating a guy for a minor accident. Cant call it racism or hate crime, media is going overboard.
Delhiwallas just need an excuse to sit on a protest.kaam waam kuch hota hai nai' date=' baat baat pe anshan pe beth jate hai.[/quote'] Delhi is city of privileged, and all of India works for delhiwallahs. No wonder they have all the time to do politics.
Why is this being seen as a hate or a racist crime? People get killed in delhi for overtaking cars' date='for 20 rs...for any damn reason. He broke a glass in anger...that is more than enough reason for most nut cases to go at people. Sad case...but I don't think it is a case of racism here.....unless I have missed something.[/quote']

The media says it was very likely, desi racist attitudes, which made the mla's son go berserk. There was a north eastern lady on ndtv yesterday who was reading out incidents from all over india which were hushed up by giving it a street fight, suicide angle.

Indian police sit in stations all the time. I have rarely seen them patrolling the streets in cars like in other countries. Isn't active patrolling and the fear of getting shot by the police that scares a lot of potential trouble makers? We don't have the men' date=' the cars, the guns so i doubt if these violent crimes are going away any time soon.[/quote'] They do not get enough money for patrolling and they cannot patrol by their own expenses. This is what a Delhi officer said when that Dharna was going on.