JourneyMan Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 I've seen much slower knock in situations when quick runs are needed You're probably thinking of Yuvi during the group stages
vvvslaxman Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 Only Yuvi can explain what was going on. What his thought process was. Everything else is mere guess.
Switchblade Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 Only Yuvi can explain what was going on. What his thought process was. Everything else is mere guess. I feel the pressure the big stage got to him and he became blank and just did not know what to do.I read on TOI that Virat was swearing and thudding his bat on his pads in anger while Shami was telling a joke to MSD who was ignoring it and looked serious and Raina was stunned and at loss for words and Rohit had his hands on his heads and was shaking his head.I feel he got blank nervous and was unable to react well to the pressure.
Lord Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 I feel the pressure the big stage got to him and he became blank and just did not know what to do.I read on TOI that Virat was swearing and thudding his bat on his pads in anger while Shami was telling a joke to MSD who was ignoring it and looked serious and Raina was stunned and at loss for words and Rohit had his hands on his heads and was shaking his head.I feel he got blank nervous and was unable to react well to the pressure. agree.I feel that way too.
Switchblade Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 agree.I feel that way too. I have read his book where he said the effect chemotherapy has he said that your reflex slow down along with many other things no one is denying that he played poorly but I personally don't feel he was trying to be selfish.Plus blame has to go to Dhoni as well for sending him at 4 when he knows Raina in T20 is our gun player so it was an idiotic move.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 7, 2014 Author Posted April 7, 2014 I feel the pressure the big stage got to him and he became blank and just did not know what to do.I read on TOI that Virat was swearing and thudding his bat on his pads in anger while Shami was telling a joke to MSD who was ignoring it and looked serious and Raina was stunned and at loss for words and Rohit had his hands on his heads and was shaking his head.I feel he got blank nervous and was unable to react well to the pressure. we can only guess about all that - IMO it wasn't a case of pressure getting to him as he has played in bigger matches than this. As for the other part of your post - it was a Final and one top player wasn't playing well so others were bound to be a little frustrated/irritated at that point.
Lord Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 Well, it's because of his big star attitude. He wanted to save himself and his wicket while hope others have a wonderful time. But unfortunately, rest of our team also struggled but yet tried to do something to overcome the difficulties. Whereas, UV refused to do anything, he simply refused the responsibility. arrey yaar why would he try to save his wicket when even at personal level,such an innings was gonna make things bad for him :wall:
Lord Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 we can only guess about all that - IMO it wasn't a case of pressure getting to him as he has played in bigger matches than this. As for the other part of your post - it was a Final and one top player wasn't playing well so others were bound to be a little frustrated/irritated at that point. dealing with pressure when in form and out of form is totally different.
Switchblade Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 we can only guess about all that - IMO it wasn't a case of pressure getting to him as he has played in bigger matches than this. As for the other part of your post - it was a Final and one top player wasn't playing well so others were bound to be a little frustrated/irritated at that point. He has played in the past but now he is coming after a serious treatment and at that time he used to come out of pressure situation this time he couldn't.His timing was not there neither he had any power.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 7, 2014 Author Posted April 7, 2014 dealing with pressure when in form and out of form is totally different. He has played in the past but now he is coming after a serious treatment and at that time he used to come out of pressure situation this time he couldn't.His timing was not there neither he had any power. Obviously since coming back from injury he has not been that player he used to be. I remember that before the 2011 WC many people (including me) were asking for him to be dropped from the side because he wasn't in good form. Add to that the pressure of a Home WC - yet he performed brilliantly under pressure. He has been playing cricket at the highest level for many years and has performed well in big tournaments before so I don't think it was a case of too pressure getting to him. He had a bad tournament (apart form one match). Hopefully he will come back in form, and if not then he will definitely be dropped because there are a lot of young players knocking at the door.
Switchblade Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 Will be under more scrutiny now in the IPL as they have paid him 14 crores if he fails then it might end his IPL career too.
Lord Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 I would have agreed with that, If I hadn't seen him turning down a risky single/couple and at both instances he would have been at danger. A batsman who was trying to up the ante would have taken the risk, given Dhoni, raina, Jadega were still in the dug out. Malinga was always going to be difficult to Hit. You should have a game awareness, and tried to compensate before hand. Also you need to see the way Dhoni played malinga and the way yuvi did. Dhoni was unsuccessful too, but there was intent. Yuvi, even if had connected against Malinga wouldn't have got him much. Have we seen slower innings? yes, Misbhah comes to your mind immediately. But that is the way he always plays, that his natural game. Yuvi's natural game was something else. I am not sure how else I can define the innings. I don't remember the innings exactly.but the denying of single/double was early on in his innings IIRC. Anyway I'm not defending the innings.But I can't call him selfish based on that.Maybe he was clueless/blanked out/Succumbed to pressure.I think he deserves that benefit of doubt to not be called selfish after all hes done.
IndianRenegade Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 arrey yaar why would he try to save his wicket when even at personal level' date='such an innings was gonna make things bad for him :wall:[/quote'] My best guess is he overrated his ability. Some years back that wouldn't have been the case, he could have backed himself to come good latter on even if it took him some time. With age and all the medical problems he has had seems to have taken a toll on him. He needs more time in the middle. He attempted to get himself in, hoping he can compensate for the dots latter on, I guess the time never came. :((
riya Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 I thought he wanted to hog as much as strike possible,and didn't want to give ito a settled batsman like kohli..selfishness,confusion or i am just being idiot./.?
maniac Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 Apart from his disatorous outing with the bat,lets not forget his drop catches and did not do anything with the ball. At his age cant see his fielding or bowling go up from here.....so don't know on what basis we need to support Yuvraj....so don't get the overall point.
Lord Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 My best guess is he overrated his ability. Some years back that wouldn't have been the case, he could have backed himself to come good latter on even if it took him some time. With age and all the medical problems he has had seems to have taken a toll on him. He needs more time in the middle. He attempted to get himself in, hoping he can compensate for the dots latter on, I guess the time never came. :(( yeah you hit the nail on the head.When you have done a big thing as six sixes,you'd back yourself in most situations and this was a bad result of that.We get good results bcoz of that zidd,determination and this was other extreme at the wrong time.Even Manju was saying same thing today.
Switchblade Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 My best guess is he overrated his ability. Some years back that wouldn't have been the case, he could have backed himself to come good latter on even if it took him some time. With age and all the medical problems he has had seems to have taken a toll on him. He needs more time in the middle. He attempted to get himself in, hoping he can compensate for the dots latter on, I guess the time never came. :(( :offtopic: Back in 2011 if you can somehow read his book his problem started during 2011 tour before that Joburg ODI where he started having problems and he also said that when they won by a single run against Saffers Yusuf Pathan and few others fell on him or that Rugby style celebration they have he said he felt he could not breathe or something like that and he played the WC with problems he did not wanted to play against England in that WC game but Zak and I forgot who the other guy was insisted that he plays the game which he ended up playing and before Windies game he started to cough up blood.Sadly he himself and the selectors were foolish to pick him after he recovered from the cancer when he should have avoided it and taken rest feel he was rushed into the team which should have never happened.Plus he did say that effects of the treatment are loss of hair slow reflexes and few others which I am forgetting.Regarding his innings I was angry at him but after a while I realized that he became blank and could just not do anything despite trying.I won't call him selfish though.
vvvslaxman Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 http://www.espncricinfo.com/world-t20/content/story/735637.html There were reports that Yuvraj's house in Chandigarh was pelted with stones following the dismal performance in the World T20 final. Tendulkar urged fans to show their support for him. "Last evening, Yuvi had a tough day and he can be criticised. But he should not be crucified nor should he be written off".
IndianRenegade Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 http://www.espncricinfo.com/world-t20/content/story/735637.html There were reports that Yuvraj's house in Chandigarh was pelted with stones following the dismal performance in the World T20 final. Tendulkar urged fans to show their support for him. "Last evening, Yuvi had a tough day and he can be criticised. But he should not be crucified nor should he be written off". I guess that's fair enough. He is going to be dropped. I hope Yuvi works hard and things work out for him. He can get a call, prove his detractors wrong. But for now he should stay away from the team.
vvvslaxman Posted April 7, 2014 Posted April 7, 2014 On further analysis Former India batsman Sanjay Manjrekar, meanwhile, told ESPNcricinfo that he could understand what Yuvraj was facing out in the middle, and could sympathise with him having faced similar situations himself. "When you get into this sort of situation where the runs are not coming, you just don't want to throw it away and make it look like a horrible innings," Manjrekar said. "You still feel because you have done it in the past and all you need is two-three hits. It happened against Australia [in the Super 10s], James Muirhead gave him two short balls, he hit two sixes and the innings suddenly changed, so this is what goes through a batsman's mind, he thinks it can all change, so he doesn't want to throw his wicket away, he wants to make amends for what has happened before. "The other thing that happens is you realise that you are doing a lot of damage to the team, the shots are not coming, the balls that you want are not coming... There is another thing that happens, which I have also personally experienced, which is suddenly the strength and everything just vanishes from your forearms because of the state of mind that you are in. So yes, you can feel for Yuvraj Singh for what happened to him." © ESPN Sports Media Ltd.