To clarify what I meant further 1) How much difference will be there between this guy and the second or third guy. Or someone who scored 95% only? Aren't they equally likely to do well in life? So why celebrate this one guy who just inched above others and put extra pressure on him later in life? 2) Once you come into the office environment, you need a lot of other skills to survive. I have found that these toppers sometimes lack social skills because some of them cut of all social interactions for studying and mugging. In our company, we hire people from IIT and IIM. So many of the toppers don't do well after joining while people from their same institutes who were behind them do better. Some lack social skills. Some wear their academic qualifications as a badge. Their CVs proudly proclaim them being toppers. 3) Imagine the plight of those who came 2nd or 3rd or 10th. Their achievements are equally wonderful, but I bet some of them are feeling sad for not topping. 4) I think it's about time we stop this mad dash after decimal points and stop plastering these kids photos in newspapers. It distorts the importance of marks in real life and also creates a very unhealthy atmosphere of competition for a few decimal points instead of knowledge
I see your point. But the thing is the ones who were 2nd or 10th also would've studied like the topper did. At such level of competition 1 mark can easily make a difference and hence they fell behind. It's not as if they didn't mug up.
Everyone writes the same answer. Handwriting, presentation to some extent but mostly the mood of the one who corrects the paper has an imact. :winky:
Everyone writes the same answer. Handwriting' date=' presentation to some extent but mostly the mood of the one who corrects the paper has an imact. :winky:[/quote'] Yup that's a factor too :D Depends on the last copy he/she checked.
Haan, thats why celebrating just one person is wrong when everyone puts so much effort. And also when you make a big deal out of marks, it doesn't prepare students for the harsh reality of actual work environment
Stop making fun of the poor kid.Padd likh kar marks laya hai....apne papa ke khet se nahi. Go boy Sarthak!!! :two_thumbs_up:
Haan bahut bada teer maar liya marks la kar.
Some of them are not super successful but Im sure this kid has a pretty good chance to have a decent career. There are no guarantees but its usually an advantage
See, this is the thing. When someone is the top of the top from the entire country, just having a good career doesn't suffice. He should be outstanding in his career and make a real difference to his country and leave a legacy. Doubt this happens with class X or XII toppers
There is no second language in CBSE? We had to learn another language - Hindi' date=' Kannada, Sanskrit, French , etc for Class 12.[/quote'] when I studied, there was a compulsory second language tamil(or hindi ) till 10th.third language(again hindi/tamil depending on second language) was from 4th to 8th
:icflove:He has done great & his parents must be extremely proud what more can you ask of him @ this stage. Best of luck buddy
Sahi baat boli!!!Look at all these 60 %ers making fun of the good hard working boy.:hehe: Someone in my extended family missed becoming a meme by just 1.5 %:--DGood for him......:nervous:
most of the 60%ers here have achieved more than this boy atm. hes getting fame due to his marks,whats harm in making fun?goes both ways
I don't get why people are being sarcastic its a great achievement for which he & his parents must have made sacrifices just appericiate his efforts :hatsoff:
most of the 60%ers here have achieved more than this boy atm. hes getting fame due to his marks,whats harm in making fun?goes both ways
We don't know what the future holds for this guy....lets just wish him well. :dance:
There is no second language in CBSE? We had to learn another language - Hindi' date=' Kannada, Sanskrit, French , etc for Class 12.[/quote'] Optional, not compulsory. Even in Hindi people get 98 marks in boards like ICSC.
I don't get why people are being sarcastic its a great achievement for which he & his parents must have made sacrifices just appericiate his efforts :hatsoff:
See, that's the point, why is it a great achievement? If his parents made huge sacrifice, he will pay it back when he gets an amazing job and helps them financially or if he does something for his country or the world in the future. How does scoring highest mark in class 12 an achievement in life? When you do well academically, it just shows how well you have absorbed the knowledge you were given. (Now whether these toppers from the Indian education systems have real knowledge compared to just rote learning is another discussion). But it is when you use that knowledge to achieve something you should be applauded. For example, you can learn the art of making paintings and you might be the world's best learner. But unless you start painting amazing pictures yourself and sell them, you are not a painter.
See' date=' that's the point, why is it a great achievement? If his parents made huge sacrifice, he will pay it back when he gets an amazing job and helps them financially or if he does something for his country or the world in the future. [b']How does scoring highest mark in class 12 an achievement in life? When you do well academically, it just shows how well you have absorbed the knowledge you were given. (Now whether these toppers from the Indian education systems have real knowledge compared to just rote learning is another discussion). But it is when you use that knowledge to achieve something you should be applauded. For example, you can learn the art of making paintings and you might be the world's best learner. But unless you start painting amazing pictures yourself and sell them, you are not a painter.
Would that be your reaction if you did the same thing?
See, that's the point, why is it a great achievement? If his parents made huge sacrifice, he will pay it back when he gets an amazing job and helps them financially or if he does something for his country or the world in the future. How does scoring highest mark in class 12 an achievement in life? When you do well academically, it just shows how well you have absorbed the knowledge you were given. (Now whether these toppers from the Indian education systems have real knowledge compared to just rote learning is another discussion). But it is when you use that knowledge to achieve something you should be applauded. For example, you can learn the art of making paintings and you might be the world's best learner. But unless you start painting amazing pictures yourself and sell them, you are not a painter.
Becoz in India you are respected only for money & power. Most of the youngsters dream of securing good marks & going abroad to work & earn huge money. Nobody not even our government & educational system cares about being being best in the world it all depends on how much you earn for yourself.
How does marks in class XII help in any of that? Won't it be later if you are a topper at IIT/IIM? Please tell me which of the past class X, XII have become really rich or richer than the peers who did not do so well? And do not blame India when the mentality is clearly within ourselves too
Would that be your reaction if you did the same thing?
Definitely. Too much celebrations just for marks would be very harmful for my own future. Nothing I do later would top that. I have seen resumes of many toppers in life who struggle to fit in to their work thinking their academic proficiency will carry them through. And you can also see that many who are arguing against that point here are students themselves who have not seen life outside academics