Mosher Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 12 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: @express bowling @Mosher @singhvivek141 What is the pace attack you like to see in these Three 4 day games. My pick is Tyagi Harshit Mayank & a Fast bowling A/R Raj Bawa. For 4 day game I would like to see Sen also along with these guys. express bowling and Lone Wolf 2
Mosher Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 (edited) Deleted Edited November 25, 2023 by Mosher
Mosher Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 12 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: @express bowling @Mosher @singhvivek141 What is the pace attack you like to see in these Three 4 day games. My pick is Tyagi Harshit Mayank & a Fast bowling A/R Raj Bawa. For 4 day game I would like to see Sen also along with these guys. singhvivek141 and express bowling 2
singhvivek141 Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 (edited) 13 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: @express bowling @Mosher @singhvivek141 What is the pace attack you like to see in these Three 4 day games. My pick is Tyagi Harshit Mayank & a Fast bowling A/R Raj Bawa. Same as yours + Kuldeep Sen. In batting Easwaran, Jaiswal, Gill, Rasheed, Sarfaraz, Upendra Yadav (wk) should play. But if "seniors" are in consideration then Pujara, Rahane, Umesh, Ashwin, Axar, Unadkut etc will eat up the slots. Edited November 25, 2023 by singhvivek141 Lone Wolf and Mosher 1 1
Lone Wolf Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: Same as yours + Kuldeep Sen. In batting Easwaran, Jaiswal, Gill, Rasheed, Sarfaraz, Upendra Yadav (wk) should play. But if "seniors" are in consideration then Pujara, Rahane, Umesh, Ashwin, Axar, Unadkut etc will eat up the slots. Have a feeling Mukesh Undercutter & maybe Umesh or Saini will be picked based on eggsperince completely nullifying the point of these crucial A tour games. Hahane Kela will take up batting spots. express bowling and Mosher 2
express bowling Posted November 25, 2023 Author Posted November 25, 2023 15 hours ago, Lone Wolf said: @express bowling @Mosher @singhvivek141 What is the pace attack you like to see in these Three 4 day games. My pick is Tyagi Harshit Mayank & a Fast bowling A/R Raj Bawa. For 4 day games .... Harshit Sen Prasidh Kaverappa ... medium pacer quota [ Would have loved to have Mayank Y, but he has not played much FCC yet ] For 50 over games, if any .... Mayank Y Harshit Sen Kaverappa ... medium pacer quota Bawa .. A/R Mosher and Lone Wolf 2
Need4Speed Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 (edited) 7 minutes ago, express bowling said: For 4 day games .... Harshit Sen Prasidh Kaverappa ... medium pacer quota [ Would have loved to have Mayank Y, but he has not played much FCC yet ] For 50 over games, if any .... Mayank Y Harshit Sen Kaverappa ... medium pacer quota Bawa .. A/R Bcci doesnt have a vision to groom Bawa as AR…wo abhi bahut duur hai selection se… Edited November 25, 2023 by Need4Speed Lone Wolf 1
Lone Wolf Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 (edited) 16 minutes ago, Need4Speed said: Bcci doesnt have a vision to groom Bawa as AR…wo abhi bahut duur hai selection se… No sporting body can be this dumb... Then they say India doesn't produce pace bowling all rounders lol.. Jo hain unko groom nahi karte ye Selectors have no idea about exciting talent in domestic cricket... They pick based on eggsperince... Good nature, gentle people with hardcore Ranji grind & past their peak players. No new pacer has been groomed Since Siraj who used to play in A sides in 2017 of all people Edited November 25, 2023 by Lone Wolf singhvivek141, Need4Speed, Mosher and 1 other 4
singhvivek141 Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 (edited) Raj Bawa 4-25 vs J&K Deepak Chahar 6-41 vs Gujrat Tyagi & Mayank 1 wkt so far. Harshal Patel 4-49 vs Bihar No Harshit, No Hangargekar, No Kuldeep Sen Edited November 25, 2023 by singhvivek141 express bowling, tapandrun and Mosher 3
rkt.india Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 T20 cricket is least favorable to genuine quicks as the ball flies of the edges on small grounds. express bowling, tapandrun and singhvivek141 3
express bowling Posted November 25, 2023 Author Posted November 25, 2023 Tyagi .. 3 wickets so far Mosher, tapandrun and singhvivek141 3
express bowling Posted November 25, 2023 Author Posted November 25, 2023 39 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Raj Bawa 4-25 vs J&K Deepak Chahar 6-41 vs Gujrat Tyagi & Mayank 1 wkt so far. Harshal Patel 4-49 vs Bihar No Harshit, No Hangargekar, No Kuldeep Sen Looks like Harshit and Ishant have been rested against a weak opposition. Mosher and singhvivek141 2
express bowling Posted November 25, 2023 Author Posted November 25, 2023 Mayank Yadav economical again 1 wicket and ER of 2.9 singhvivek141 and Mosher 2
singhvivek141 Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 Tyagi 3-46 vs Himachal Pradesh express bowling and Mosher 2
MediumPacer Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 22 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: See, in all the discussions we do here on this thread..the bare minimum pace is always mentioned as 135k...that's the pace range which bowler must hit atleast if he is auditioning for a pure bowler..if he is less than that..he must have some exceptional skills (banana swing, tall hit the deck) or a secondary skill...McGrath, Pollock, Philander, Hadlee, Kapil etc all come under this criteria. Now mathematically 130-140 does mean average of 135k, but bowlers who oscillate at this range their average pace is generally 132 or 133k. We have seen this example with likes of Arshdeep, Harshal who does clock 141-142 at times...but their average pace always is under 135...they are medium fast or borderline trundler. While when we talk of pacers who are 135-145k, their average pace comes somewhere around 138-139k..above the acceptable limited of 135k...fast medium category which most of our tier 1 quicks are. Bowlers who are 140-150k usually have their average pace in 143/144k...they are fast. Now you can create a subcategory here with fast & express but usually bowlers with 145+ average pace are very rare. Ofcourse any bowler whose average pace is under 130 is trundler for me...but some consider under 125k as trundler. For me 130-140 with avg around 132,133 is the minimum,the rest comes down to skill, height conditions etc. I am not claiming mukesh is great but I will bet he is a better option than someone like lahiru who will better fit your desired pace bracket.
MediumPacer Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 9 hours ago, Need4Speed said: Yorkers shudnt be only speciality..it needs to be variety..block hole yorkers..wide yorkers..slower bowls..wide slower balls…dipping full tosses...bouncers…slower bouncers etc.. one needs to have all the varieties to be a successful T20 pacer.. Agree,specially with dew the yorker is too risky,also need lots of options 1 or 2 guys aren't enough. Need4Speed 1
MediumPacer Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 Cricinfo considers philander fast medium but bhuvi,lord are medium pace.
express bowling Posted November 25, 2023 Author Posted November 25, 2023 24 minutes ago, MediumPacer said: I am not claiming mukesh is great but I will bet he is a better option than someone like lahiru who will better fit your desired pace bracket. Lahiru lacks accuracy and consistent movement and Mukesh lacks pace snd bounce. So, neither are good enough in my book as I want a vicious attack filled with pacers who have all 4 abilities .. like Bumrah, Shami, Siraj ( and Prasidh in tests/ ODIs ) Mayank Yadav and Harshit Rana will probably end up having all 4 attributes too, with more pace and bounce than Shami and Siraj. Mosher 1
MediumPacer Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 14 minutes ago, express bowling said: Lahiru lacks accuracy and consistent movement and Mukesh lacks pace snd bounce. So, neither are good enough in my book as I want a vicious attack filled with pacers who have all 4 abilities .. like Bumrah, Shami, Siraj ( and Prasidh in tests/ ODIs ) Mayank Yadav and Harshit Rana will probably end up having all 4 attributes too, with more pace and bounce than Shami and Siraj. Prasidh ,siraj are hardly vicious.none of these guys are that quick ,Bumrah has injury concerns as well, Having seen likes of lee,akhtar,even likes of jofra,Mitch ,these guys don't look that quick to me.
singhvivek141 Posted November 25, 2023 Posted November 25, 2023 (edited) 1 hour ago, MediumPacer said: For me 130-140 with avg around 132,133 is the minimum,the rest comes down to skill, height conditions etc. I am not claiming mukesh is great but I will bet he is a better option than someone like lahiru who will better fit your desired pace bracket. Tushar Deshpande is also 140+, KM Asif is also 140+, Avesh also used to be 140+ 2-3 years back..I hardly talk about them. Not every 140+ fast bowler is an automatic selection, its a balance that a 140+ skillful bowler will always be more valuable than a 130k trundler...if they both offer exact same skillset. So a Mohammad Shami or Bumrah will always be my choice over Unadkut or Bhuvi. I will mostly always favour Siraj over Arshdeep & Mayank over Mukesh. Amongst trundlers I have liking towards Deepak Chahar because of the strong secondary skill he comes with. But if a Harshit Rana or Rajvardhan Hangargekar or Yudhvir Singh can offer me even 80% of the performance with bat...I will naturally go for them coz they are faster, fitter & can do the job for me with new as well as old ball. Edited November 25, 2023 by singhvivek141 MediumPacer and Mosher 2