rkt.india Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 THis is really awesome' date=' after the 1st test, the same coach was criticizing Ishant for not coming to him for advice anymore!! :haha:[/quote'] so how is he wrong here? What he had said then.. What he said now...
saneindian Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 so how is he wrong here? "I told him to look at his wrist position which should be very straight. He was also becoming a bit open-chested on his final delivery stride which needed to go back to the old-fashioned side on action in order to generate speed." "These are little things I told him and I believe that Joe Dawes has done a lot of good work with Ishant after the low he hit with Prasad as the coach," Sharvan said. The veteran coach also said that he has told Ishant that he should be happy with what he has got. "There are times when he feels bad about not being picked for one-dayers but I tell him to look at the positive side that he is India's spearhead in Test matches." Sravan Kumar had forgotten about these things after 1st test! Us time sab criticize kar rahe the, Sravan Kumar bhi saath mein lag gaye. Abhi ladke ne achcha kiya credit le lo
saneindian Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 so how is he wrong here? What he had said then.. What he said now... I am talking about his comments 2 days before the 2nd test started and not 2013. I know that Ishant doesn't go to him anymore and prefers to train on his own when he is in Delhi.
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Sravan Kumar had forgotten about these things after 1st test! Us time sab criticize kar rahe the' date= Sravan Kumar bhi saath mein lag gaye. Abhi ladke ne achcha kiya credit le lo I do not think people really criticized Ishant after first test. Even here, a lot of people who discarded him then wanted him in the team after his spell in first innings on a docile pitch. He actually showed improvements in first test in his wrist and seam position and the only issue was no balls which he rectified to certain extent in 2nd test.
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 I am talking about his comments 2 days before the 2nd test started and not 2013. I know that Ishant doesn't go to him anymore and prefers to train on his own when he is in Delhi. So, he was not wrong in those comments. He wanted him to come back to him and work in his issues because he is the best person to know him and improve him as he has done it since Ishant was a teenager. Ask and he would still say the same, as there is still room for improvement.
maniac Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Yes' date=' he did well initially with Ishant but then his obsession with outswingers like he himself used to bowl and variations like leg cutters lead to the downfall as well.[/quote'] Isn't that the whole idea of a coach to teach a bowler new variations? Anyways I respect Ishant more than some of the other seamers because the guy has tremendous fitness...Him losing pace was never to do with fitness like some of our other bowlers ...it was a matter of technique. I respect Duncan a little....Raina,Ishant etc have seemed to have praised him a lot for working with them. Kirsten was another freeloader(before SaneIndian notices this :vroam:
Temujin Khaghan Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Basically Ishant is a little too obedient and easily influenced. This is something which comes out from his innocence. He wasnt street smart like Kohli, Pujara, Rahane who learned everything they want from Sachin and Dravid but only took what suits their style and improvised on it. Kohli would have ruined his career if he tried to imitate Sachin and similarly Pujara and Rahane with Dravid. But they did not. Coaches all around the world would speak about how the player has little attitude, not hardworking and bad habits. But no coach will mention over-coaching as a reason for a player's failure.
saneindian Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 I do not think people really criticized Ishant after first test. Even here' date=' a lot of people who discarded him then wanted him in the team after his spell in first innings on a docile pitch. He actually showed improvements in first test in his wrist and seam position and the only issue was no balls which he rectified to certain extent in 2nd test.[/quote'] Are yaar, 1st test ke baad tumne is coach ka interview dekha tha ye kya bol raha tha? I am pointing out that hypocrisy
maniac Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Basically Ishant is a little too obedient and easily influenced. This is something which comes out from his innocence. He wasnt street smart like Kohli, Pujara, Rahane who learned everything they want from Sachin and Dravid but only took what suits their style and improvised on it. Kohli would have ruined his career if he tried to imitate Sachin and similarly Pujara and Rahane with Dravid. But they did not. Coaches all around the world would speak about how the player has little attitude, not hardworking and bad habits. But no coach will mention over-coaching as a reason for a player's failure. Irfan too listened too much to Wasim Bhai :headshake: Also can't blame bowlers.....SRT,Dravid are not only smart enough but they are world class so when they talk about batting you listen. Unfortunately our best bowlers Kapill Paaji is not too intellectual andnot too involved or Srinath who has distanced himself from coaching/mentoring. Hope Zak steps up....Only guy who can pull it off
renjith Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 At international level u are bound to get so many suggestions from everyone around. These guys are professionals and should be wise enough to take valuable comments and discard ****. Simply continuing to do what helped you to get into national team is always the best way especially if you are a success initially.
asterix Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 I am talking about his comments 2 days before the 2nd test started and not 2013. I know that Ishant doesn't go to him anymore and prefers to train on his own when he is in Delhi. What's the harm in taking Credit? Who else is not taking credit? :giggle:
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Are yaar' date= 1st test ke baad tumne is coach ka interview dekha tha ye kya bol raha tha? I am pointing out that hypocrisy but usme hypocrisy kis baat ki?
maniac Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 At international level u are bound to get so many suggestions from everyone around. These guys are professionals and should be wise enough to take valuable comments and discard ****. Continuing to do what helped you to get into national team is always the best way. Can't blame Indian bowlers....once they show potential at world stage they don't know where to turn to for advice,with batting it is different though,they have some of the best people to give them advice. Sekhar is the only guy who has done remarkably well as a fast bowlign coach....the other guy I hope takes up this role in the future is Zak....He is smart,well spoken and obviously will connect better to these bowlers. Actually Prasad wasn't too bad an option
maniac Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 What's the harm in taking Credit? Who else is not taking credit? :giggle: :giggle:
rkt.india Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Isn't that the whole idea of a coach to teach a bowler new variations? A: Yes, but bowlers learn it gradually. You change things too soon, it gets worse. Even Wasim Akram had a pretty different action when he started than when he ended.
vvvslaxman Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 He went down moment he started playing ODIs and T20s regularly. He could not make the adjustment and lost his test match skill as well gradually. If anything his line and length got worse. Earned the nick name short and wide Sharma. These ex coaches always find someone to blame. He is not a thinking bowler like Zak.
CG Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 He went down moment he started playing ODIs and T20s regularly. He could not make the adjustment and lost his test match skill as well gradually. If anything his line and length got worse. Earned the nick name short and wide Sharma. These ex coaches always find someone to blame. He is not a thinking bowler like Zak. No he was the best bowler in cb series in 2008.his problem has been technical.
CG Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 What's the harm in taking Credit? Who else is not taking credit? :giggle: :hysterical:
Temujin Khaghan Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Zak has lot of issues with fitness trainers because of his arrogant attitude. His skill was top class though, because of his rebellious streak, he wasn't afraid of experimenting on his own and finally mastered reverse swing. Ishant would run around all day and do everything what the coach tells him to do, so he ended up with a confused skill set but a very fit pace bowler's physique. Ishant could actually break Kapil's record of most matches by an Indian Pace bowler. How I wish we had a bowler with Zak's skill and Ishant's fitness. P.S - by no means Zak was as lazy as munaf, nehra and RP though. Nehra and Munaf had the attitude of Micheal Holding and Alan Donald almost.
CG Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Zak has lot of issues with fitness trainers because of his arrogant attitude. His skill was top class though. Ishant would run around all day and do everything what the coach tells him to do, so he ended up with a confused skill set but a very fit pace bowler's physique. Ishant could actually break Kapil's record of most matches by an Indian Pace bowler. How I wish we had a bowler with Zak's skill and Ishant's fitness. P.S - by no means Zak was as lazy as munaf, nehra and RP though. Nehra and Munaf had the attitude of Micheal Holding and Alan Donald almost. Ishant is superior to zak in every aspect except mental.If he gets everything right ishant can take pitch out of equation like in 2008 series vs aus.