virufan Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 Usually we see a very defensive Dhoni in Test matches. But in the 2nd test, we could see a different Dhoni who looked to attack the opposition. He coerced Ishant Sharma to pepper the English batsmen with short-pitched deliveries and this tactic proved successful and India went on to win the Lords Test. If we goes on to win this away series, he would have set a great record which his successors may find very difficult to break for years to come. Did Wadekar win a series in 1971, if yes, Dhoni would have done the same after 43 years. I think Dhoni is learning from his mistakes and we need to tone down the criticism towards him. Only thing he has to do is perform well as a batsman in away series in Tests. At home he has done well with the wonderful 200+ score against Australia etc.
JourneyMan Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 There is improvement for sure. He's becoming a bit more proactive and slightly more aggressive.
BlueBee Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 3rd test team selection spoilt it. 5 bowlers were a must in this pitch. Aaron/Ashwin for Binny would have been a decent team. Pitch is not really helping seamers, might help the spins though. Let's see.
Lord Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 Usually we see a very defensive Dhoni in Test matches. But in the 2nd test, we could see a different Dhoni who looked to attack the opposition. He coerced Ishant Sharma to pepper the English batsmen with short-pitched deliveries and this tactic proved successful and India went on to win the Lords Test. If we goes on to win this away series, he would have set a great record which his successors may find very difficult to break for years to come. Did Wadekar win a series in 1971, if yes, Dhoni would have done the same after 43 years. I think Dhoni is learning from his mistakes and we need to tone down the criticism towards him. Only thing he has to do is perform well as a batsman in away series in Tests. At home he has done well with the wonderful 200+ score against Australia etc. We won under Dravid in 2007
bharat297 Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 Let's not give Dhoni too much credit here. Ishant has been persisting with the tactic of bowling short for years and years. Even when batsmen were pummelling him all around the park, Ishant knew that one day, his short-pitched bowling would pay off. Hats off to the real mastermind.
virufan Posted July 27, 2014 Author Posted July 27, 2014 We won under Dravid in 2007 We did not win the series in England under Dravid.
CG Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 We did not win the series in England under Dravid. :hysterical::cantstop: Bhai kya bol rahe ho.
Temujin Khaghan Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 :hysterical::cantstop: Bhai kya bol rahe ho. maybe he thinks kumble was the captain of that series :D
Laaloo Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 When you are already 6 feet under, even if you move a couple of inches up, it looks like an improvement. Dhoni has a long way to go to even redeem for his idiotic captaincy over the last year.
zep1706 Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 I don't see much improvement. The short ball in the last test was a fluke helped by some stupid batting from England.
adi B Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 When you are already 6 feet under' date=' even if you move a couple of inches up, it looks like an improvement. Dhoni has a long way to go to even redeem for his idiotic captaincy over the last year.[/quote'] Agree.op call me when he wins the series,that'll be an improvement
Gollum Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 Dhoni improving as a test skipper :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: This ch****a has no clue about tactics,strategy, no leadership qualities, curse on Indian cricket !!!
CSK Fan Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 cricinfo Rishi: "Dhoni back to his usual. Letting the game drift, expecting the batsmen to make mistake rather trying to make things happen."
zep1706 Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 Bowled 30 overs of part time spin on first day on a pitch with a bit of movement. :cantstop:
tothepoint Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 Bowled 30 overs of part time spin on first day on a pitch with a bit of movement. :cantstop: Did any friend of yours who is a fan of Dhoni finished up your cookies? Because so-called part timers still finished up with 59 runs and a Cookie.
zep1706 Posted July 27, 2014 Posted July 27, 2014 Did any friend of yours who is a fan of Dhoni finished up your cookies? Because so-called part timers still finished up with 59 runs and a Cookie. Yes it was a great "defensive" tactic. Never disputed his defensive mentality. :giggle: