rkt.india Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Arre yaar. We are going around in circles. There are two problems, not just one. Problem 1 - Dhoni doesn't understand fast bowling and this is well documented Problem 2 - Our bowlers can't bowl line/length Somehow, there's an impression created that solving Problem 1 will solve Problem 2. We can't and the Adelaide Test is a prime example of it. This doesn't mean we shouldn'st solve Problem 1 - Dhoni ousted as captain. However, it also doesn't mean that Problem 2 should be overlooked. I did not say that. Problem 2 is as important as 1.
putrevus Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Putting all the blame on dhoni is not right but he accentuates the ineptness of these bowlers by asking them to do what they are not capable . Dhobi cannot be faulted since these so called international bowlers have no idea on how to build pressure and take wickets.
rkt.india Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Putting all the blame on dhoni is not right but he accentuates the ineptness of these bowlers by asking them to do what they are not capable . Dhobi cannot be faulted since these so called international bowlers have no idea on how to build pressure and take wickets. Agree. Also need to add whenever they built pressure, Dhoni did everything to release that.
Insidious Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Noob attack? Stupid excuse for a rubbish bowling line up. just look at this- Extras given by Indian bowlers at MCG- 1st innings - 16 (nb-5, w-1) 2nd innings(till now) - 14 (nb-5,w-1) Extras Given by aussies- 1st innings - 2( w-1) (only two and not a single no-ball) This the difference between the two bowling line ups - Discipline
putrevus Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Agree. Also need to add whenever they built pressure' date=' Dhoni did everything to release that.[/quote'] That is a direct result of them ( dhoni and bowlers) not being patient, Dhoni still does not understand the basic concepts, of test cricket either he does what he did in joburg in name of attacking cricket he leaked so many runs by having slips and gully when ball never went there, he needed to build pressure there by stopping them from scoring fast and taking their win out of the equation. Or he does what he did last test by bouncing MJ when all they needed to do was stay back and bowl full.
CG Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Just ****ing hold the catches you will have a decent attack.
India-KXIP fan Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Yes Yadav has loads of potential. Needs time. He started playing with a red ball at 17 ffs. He will get better alot better in a year or so. Alot of time on sidelines when what he needed was game time. Have to be patient with Shami, Aaron too. Just ****ing hold the catches you will have a decent attack. This as well how many catches Shami, Aaron had dropped? Ishant as well today, it makes all the difference no one remembers dropped catches at the end of the day. Regardless line/length has to improve but these guys should be backed cause of pace they bowl. It is acceptable level for tests at 135ish or over.
Lord Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Arre yaar. We are going around in circles. There are two problems, not just one. Problem 1 - Dhoni doesn't understand fast bowling and this is well documented Problem 2 - Our bowlers can't bowl line/length Somehow, there's an impression created that solving Problem 1 will solve Problem 2. We can't and the Adelaide Test is a prime example of it. This doesn't mean we shouldn'st solve Problem 1 - Dhoni ousted as captain. However, it also doesn't mean that Problem 2 should be overlooked. ++ Exactly what I was saying yesterday.Only Bhuvi seems capable of bowling consistent line and length.No coincidence hes seen as a 'thinking bowler' too
rkt.india Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 ++ Exactly what I was saying yesterday.Only Bhuvi seems capable of bowling consistent line and length.No coincidence hes seen as a 'thinking bowler' too Bowling line and length does not any thinking. It is just a basic thing. Either they are not capable of doing it or think too much and try too many things. Because time and time again, they have shown even in this series that they can bowl good areas too.
Lord Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Bowling line and length does not any thinking. It is just a basic thing. Either they are not capable of doing it or think too much and try too many things. Because time and time again' date=' they have shown even in this series that they can bowl good areas too.[/quote'] yes they even lack basic thing.They wilt under pressure way too quickly.Thinking part is where executing a tactic comes in.When tactic is to bowl short,they bowl all 6 short whereas other bowlers will still mix it up.You gotta know your own strengths and weaknesses too and use that with team plan.Thats again basic stuff.When tactic itself is bad it becomes a match changing phase You can change captains but unless this improves I don't see how we can force results.
kubrickian Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Bowling line and length does not any thinking. It is just a basic thing. Either they are not capable of doing it or think too much and try too many things. Because time and time again' date=' they have shown even in this series that they can bowl good areas too.[/quote'] They are not capable of bowling a consistent line and length for an extended period of time. Its not as if they dont know what to do or others dont tell them. They just lack ability. Sometimes they get it right because they are in good rhythm but they cant keep it up for longer than a session. I would mostly blame the over dependence on rank turners at home because majority of wickets on those tracks are picked by spinners, so fast bowlers never develop into better bowlers by bowling at test class batsmen as they are mostly used to take the shine off the new ball for a few overs and relegated to the boundary. Even the spinners wont become better as the pitch will help them a lot to take wickets but they wont have the control or skills to take wickets where there is less help. Rank turners have set Indian test cricket back all these years but nobody seems to be learning and I suspect nothing will change in the future as well as we are happy to be home track bullies and duds overseas.
asterix Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 Unless and until we don't know what the captain kool (and he does has his own screwed up bowling strategies) has been telling his bowlers on and off the field, we are just speculating. There's an absence of a competent bowling coach/strategist. Agree the bowlers have been bowling crap mostly, but it has to be seen how these same bowlers bowl under a different captain over a longer period of time...
rkt.india Posted December 29, 2014 Posted December 29, 2014 They are not capable of bowling a consistent line and length for an extended period of time. Its not as if they dont know what to do or others dont tell them. They just lack ability. Sometimes they get it right because they are in good rhythm but they cant keep it up for longer than a session. I would mostly blame the over dependence on rank turners at home because majority of wickets on those tracks are picked by spinners, so fast bowlers never develop into better bowlers by bowling at test class batsmen as they are mostly used to take the shine off the new ball for a few overs and relegated to the boundary. Even the spinners wont become better as the pitch will help them a lot to take wickets but they wont have the control or skills to take wickets where there is less help. Rank turners have set Indian test cricket back all these years but nobody seems to be learning and I suspect nothing will change in the future as well as we are happy to be home track bullies and duds overseas. According to me, inconsistency occurs due to technical issues and they have technical issues too. Compare them with Harris and Hazlewood who are so balanced at aligned on delivery stride, keeping an eye on where to bowl. But our bowlers lack that balance and fall either side. Their head, bowling arm, non-bowling arm, and rest of the body are not aligned well enough to deliver the ball in right areas.