Biryani by definition is to be made from meat where the meat soaks up the spices and then releases them during cooking. Veggie Biryani doesn't exist, but since by wife is vegetarian I've tried various combinations and come across 2 which are okay; 1. Paneer. This will really soak up the spices but will not release them. Use really dry Veggies with it like dried peas, carrots with drained out water, green beans, steamed broccoli/cauliflower, sizzled green peppers. Make sure the veggies are not giving additional water to rice to make them soggy. 2. Eggplant. Thick and large sections- they'll secrete the spices out well but not absorb. You can use other Veggies like carrots, onions, tomatoes in this one. The ones with more juice. However, this will usually come out soggy in the Veggies. There is simply no way to cook a Veggie Biryani because it has never existed.
I would have totally agreed with you about Veggie biryani being pulao till I went to a pakistani restaurant called Zauq last year. I swear, I have not tasted anything better than that veggie biryani. Funny enough my gora and other desi friends who are non veg, they actually like their veggie biryani than chicken biryani n love it. But this is after trying 100s of desi restaurants where all the veggie biryanis tasted like pulao Thank you so much for sharing your paneer recipe. So dry vegetables is the trick. This is next on my list. :--D
I like having choora with chaa (tea). We call it choora, I think it's referred to as poha flakes in other places. Choora: 1. Add some butter/oil (I prefer coconut oil and butter) and add the choora/poha flakes and fry it until it turns slightly brownish or as per your liking. 2. You can also add some salt, nuts, almonds if you like as well. 3. Eat with fresh tea :two_thumbs_up:
Dude this is super awesome idea for the breakfast. I can make this on Saturday and Sunday morning. Very simple!!
Recipe for potato fry 1. Peel potatoes 2. Cut into small pieces - 1/2 to 1 inch 3. Heat little oil in a kadai 4. Add potato pieces and keep stirring on medium flame till the pieces become crusty. 5. Add salt and red chilli powder ( for variation - you can add black pepper ). 6. Eat with hot rice 7. Thank me
Hahaha. This sounds so simple. There aren't many spices in there. Would salt, chilli powder n black pepper be enough? No other flavors. Also no other vegetables?
Recipe for potato fry 1. Peel potatoes 2. Cut into small pieces - 1/2 to 1 inch 3. Heat little oil in a kadai 4. Add potato pieces and keep stirring on medium flame till the pieces become crusty. 5. Add salt and red chilli powder ( for variation - you can add black pepper ). 6. Eat with hot rice 7. Thank me
I too love this !! I cut them lambe- so its more like masaledaar french fries. Salt, mirch, garam masala and coriander powder (must)for me :nice:
Dude this is super awesome idea for the breakfast. I can make this on Saturday and Sunday morning. Very simple!! Hahaha. This sounds so simple. There aren't many spices in there. Would salt, chilli powder n black pepper be enough? No other flavors. Also no other vegetables?
Salt and chilli powder are more than enough ( pepper is only for variation ). Eat with hot rice mixed with ghee. Heavenly. I know a few telugu families that have this everyday ( in small quantity ). They have this along with dal rice or curd rice too and it is a good side dish.:two_thumbs_up:
I too love this !! I cut them lambe- so its more like masaledaar french fries. Salt, mirch, garam masala and coriander powder (must)for me :nice:
Nice. I have seen people use jeera, onions, chat masala ,etc also. If you use Everest or MTR chat masala ( with salt and chilli powder ), you can make pieces slightly bigger and eat as they are ( meaning without rice ) with fork as evening snack. I do it when my wifey dear is away and I am with friends in my house - goes well with beer :two_thumbs_up:

For any rice based dish, esp for briyani or pulav, the caramelized onion fry goes well with them. I usually cook them myself on holidays. You might have seen them in some hotels where they serve with briyani. Cut the onions into thin strings and fry them with butter until they turn golden brown.

I like having choora with chaa (tea). We call it choora, I think it's referred to as poha flakes in other places. Choora: 1. Add some butter/oil (I prefer coconut oil and butter) and add the choora/poha flakes and fry it until it turns slightly brownish or as per your liking. 2. You can also add some salt, nuts, almonds if you like as well. 3. Eat with fresh tea :two_thumbs_up:
:two_thumbs_up: Where are you from? I have heard choora only in my state, every else its called poha. This is the staple breakfast here. The simplest of all, anybody can make . Whenever we feel hungry and dont wanna make anything heavy we just do this. Sometimes make a lot and store it. Even the street vendors sell this.
I do this with Boiled potatoes. :two_thumbs_up: Tastes Great.
:two_thumbs_up: Where are you from? I have heard choora only in my state, every else its called poha. This is the staple breakfast here. The simplest of all, anybody can make . Whenever we feel hungry and dont wanna make anything heavy we just do this. Sometimes make a lot and store it. Even the street vendors sell this. I do this with Boiled potatoes. :two_thumbs_up: Tastes Great.
Whatever I am posting are my bachelor day recipes and I considered myself a good cook :dance: I know what you are saying about boiled potatoes. As per my bachelor recipe guidelines, you will get the exact same dish in lesser time by doing the below. While frying, instead of medium, put on low flame. Sprinkle few drops of water and cover with lid between stirring ( no need to boil potatoes beforehand and waste time ) :two_thumbs_up: The recipe I quoted above can be done exactly the same way with Bhindi ( Okra ), Baingan ( Brinjal/Eggplant), Thondli ( rings are better than vertical slices IMO ). For Arbi, we need to boil them and peel before frying.
Sweeze lemon juice on this...yummmmmmm!

Try bread omelet na. I had it when I was in Chennai for few months. Very simple to make this Street food . Here s the recipe. A very popular street food and often served as a breakfast dish as well, Bread Omelette is a delicious, simple and quick to make. Bread Omelette Ingredients: Bread Slices – 8 Eggs -3 to 4, big Onions – 2, finely chopped Green Chillies – 3 to 4, finely chopped Black Pepper Powder – 2 tblsp Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp Salt as per taste Oil – 2 tblsp Coriander Chutney – 1 cup (recipe here), optional Method: 1. Break the eggs into a large bowl and beat well. 2. Add the onions, green chillies, salt, pepper powder and turmeric powder. 3. Mix well. 4. Heat a tawa over medium flame. 5. Add 2 bread slices and apply little around around the edges. 6. When the slices start to turn light golden brown, flip them over. 7. Pour a ladleful of the egg mixture and cook until 75% set. 8. Flip the bread and egg mixture. 9. Spread some coriander chutney and cook until done. 10. Fold them over and transfer to a serving plate. 11. Serve warm with ketchup.

Biryani by definition is to be made from meat where the meat soaks up the spices and then releases them during cooking. Veggie Biryani doesn't exist, but since by wife is vegetarian I've tried various combinations and come across 2 which are okay; 1. Paneer. This will really soak up the spices but will not release them. Use really dry Veggies with it like dried peas, carrots with drained out water, green beans, steamed broccoli/cauliflower, sizzled green peppers. Make sure the veggies are not giving additional water to rice to make them soggy. 2. Eggplant. Thick and large sections- they'll secrete the spices out well but not absorb. You can use other Veggies like carrots, onions, tomatoes in this one. The ones with more juice. However, this will usually come out soggy in the Veggies. There is simply no way to cook a Veggie Biryani because it has never existed.
Thank u outsider,,very well explained.. No wonder my Veg biryani had always flopped.And I completely stopped making it. Instead of biryani, for pure veg guests ,i usually make Tomato rice or other rice varieties..which are much safer bet.
No low carb dishes :dontknow: aloo and rice everywhere?
Hmm...for Indian dish,the only low carbs are Side dishes..:--D Idlie,Dosa with sambar is the best available low carb combo...I think..
I would have totally agreed with you about Veggie biryani being pulao till I went to a pakistani restaurant called Zauq last year. I swear, I have not tasted anything better than that veggie biryani. Funny enough my gora and other desi friends who are non veg, they actually like their veggie biryani than chicken biryani n love it. But this is after trying 100s of desi restaurants where all the veggie biryanis tasted like pulao Thank you so much for sharing your paneer recipe. So dry vegetables is the trick. This is next on my list. :--D
Most probably that Pakistani restaurent cooked biryani in mutton or beef stock.Years ago one of my uncle was known for mischeivous nature . He used to put meat stock in vegetables or dal which he cook. and vegetarians in family used to say what a great taste :cantstop:

:cantstop: reminds me of my aunty (a vegetarian) who came to visit us in Aus and fell in love with Fries from KFC, when I told her that the flavour she likes comes from "Chicken salt" she was shocked and then looked around and then said "chalo ab to kha liye" and started eating again :phehehe:

Most probably that Pakistani restaurent cooked biryani in mutton or beef stock.Years ago one of my uncle was known for mischeivous nature . He used to put meat stock in vegetables or dal which he cook. and vegetarians in family used to say what a great taste :cantstop:
:haha::haha:
I would love to try that. On a side note even Chicken Biryani is pseudo. Chicken meat doesn't have enough fat in it for the juices to percolate during the slow cooking. It can be made better by using only thighs and wings, but is still a couple of notches below Mutton Biryani.
Thank u outsider,,very well explained.. No wonder my Veg biryani had always flopped.And I completely stopped making it. Instead of biryani, for pure veg guests ,i usually make Tomato rice or other rice varieties..which are much safer bet.
Yeah, it's very difficult to make a Veggie Biryani. Biryani in general is also difficult with the amount of time and effort involved, but Veggies complicate things too much for a dish which was never supposed to be vegetarian in concept. And it's not about the meat itself. I've done some blind tests on guests when I cooked both and gave them the rice taking out all meat and veggies. 100% people preferred the meat rice. The day I am going to perfect a Veggie Biryani is when I am resigning and opening a restaurant!