MS Dhoni to his coach: ‘Pehchanna sir, main MS Dhoni’

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is not really known to tom-tom his achievements. In fact, far from it — he’s easily the most under-stated and reticent of India’s Test captains. But there was that one time when Dhoni could not stop himself from slipping one in slant-ways, in lieu of an old grudge. It was in December 2009 when India was on the verge of becoming the No. 1 Test side and a win in Mumbai against Sri Lanka was the only hurdle to cross. At the Cricket Club of India — also known as the Brabourne Stadium, Dhoni spotted his old Railways’ team coach sitting near the club area. The captain rushed towards the former coach and said, “Sir, main Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Pehchaana aapne? Mein theek khel raha hoon na? Koi mere cricket mein problem toh nahi hai na?†The coach blushed and bumbled, and was on the back foot, saying, “I wanted you in the team but the selectors didn’t want you in the side. I didn’t do anything.†Dhoni, who had been an employee of Railways before being picked for India, was known to be very keen back then on representing the Railways in Ranji Trophy. He had scored heavily in the Railways’ annual inter-railways tournament but was overlooked for the main side. Fuming at this omission, despite being a performer in the tournament, it had clearly been hard for him to believe that he was not good enough to be selected. Unable to control himself when he saw his former coach, Dhoni’s words dripped sarcasm before he strode off to the Indian dressing room.
Source: http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/untold-stories-that-add-to-the-myth-around-msd/ #Legend :hatsoff::hatsoff::hatsoff::hatsoff::hatsoff::hatsoff:

I just love cricketers like this who have made a resounding career on their own. Basically love the self made people. This is the reason I respect him so much. He is not the one who was given luxury training facilities from the age of 12 in a big city like Mumbai, he never had the backings of ex cricketers, no hype...no hoopla. A no nonsense cricketer and a pure self made man. Respect.

Maybe someone would like to lock this thread :orderorder: Or we will have to read another 50 paeans written by Austin praising Dhoni, till Sidhoni comes over and both of them start singing in a chorus.

LbMNA8t.jpg

Lol, a bigger man would have walked away. Many of the greatest of authors, sports-persons, artists have been rejected multiple time. Most of them learn humility and do not try to take it on people who made the mistake. I don't see how this incident is supposed to paint Dhoni in a good light. It is very similar to some small town people making it big and then trying to bully others. Janta hai mai kaun hu?

Cheap from Dhoni.

Unable to control himself when he saw his former coach, Dhoni’s words dripped sarcasm before he strode off to the Indian dressing room
Source : Austin

for a calm guy like Dhoni to have acted like that, only he alone knows what kind of hardships he faced becoz of that coach. we shouldn't judge. But one thing is for sure, this scene will not be in Dhoni - The movie. :D

Some bad memories just stay with you and you have to get it off your chest to get closure. Dhoni doesn't usually show such behavior. The coach must have hurt him enough for him to want to say it...He didn't have to say it. Just showing up in front of him would have been enough. The fact that he did it shows it was more than normal disappointment. Dhoni is no kohli ...he wouldn't enjoy rubbing it in. I give the benefit of the doubt to dhoni.:two_thumbs_up: