Delhi Court blocks Delhi rape BBC documentary

AmreekanDesi

You are assuming that there was such an Idol in the original bus.The shooting didnt take place in the original bus.
The documentary was shot in a lot of places where the crime really happened. but it is very common for bus owners to have a god's image. the bus owner was a Hindu. Very likely he had it. Would give the dir BoD!

The truth will out. Simple. The point is not if BBC is having questionable intentions here, they might or might not have, its irrelevant. What is relevant though is the fact that such a crime happened in India, and similar ones continue to happen. The focus should be on the primary issue here, its not as if the intentions of BBC is not to show India as backward and pagan and hence an evil society, they do this all the time India can and should defend it self. The more pressing need is to improve policing and justice system to deter crime against women.

This is the kind of stereotyping that they craving for. Just assemble bunch of interview who share the same sick view then it will give an impression that everyone thinks that way. Let us say if they had interviewed 10 guys on ICF would any of us have said the same? Another crap she is spouting is gender inequality based on that psychopath and defense lawyer interview. If you conduct the interview with right people you will get the right answer. But that is not going to be useful for you. Just go after defense lawyer and criminal.. bingo you get something juicy, controversial stuff and you get to become famous.
I think the anger should be focused on the despicable human beings that the lawyers are, defending the indefensible with such abominations of justification, he being a lawyer gives me worse feeling about the future than what reality happened to the poor girl.

I think the anger should be focused on the despicable human beings that the lawyers are' date=' defending the indefensible with such abominations of justification, he being a lawyer gives me worse feeling about the future than what reality happened to the poor girl.[/quote'] he was just doing his job.Its his duty to save face for his client by saying something,however straightforward the case.

he was just doing his job.Its his duty to save face for his client by saying something' date='however straightforward the case.[/quote'] This was my thought process too before seeing the documentary. There are different way to plead for lesser punishment whilst accepting the crime, none of them include justifying it by saying the woman that walked out of the house after 6:30 pm was asking for it, and worser still call this 'our culture'.

This was my thought process too before seeing the documentary. There are different way to plead for lesser punishment whilst accepting the crime' date=' none of them include justifying it by saying the woman that walked out of the house after 6:30 pm was asking for it, and worser still call this 'our culture'.[/quote'] That was a despicable defense. Having said that would you say that lawyer would do the same crime to a woman based on what he said? Most certainly not. If you notice something lawyer and criminal both say the same thing. It is almost like Lawyer coached him into saying the same thing he says as anything else would go against his defense. Lawyer in all likelihood made sure they both were on the same page.

what an idiot' date='this documentary will actually [b']help in raising awareness,i am watching right now and there is nothing here that defames india.
That is just your assumption. News Channels, programs like Crime patrol have already shown arrangements and interpretation of this incident 100 times on TV, but this documentary has some supernatural power that it will suddenly raise awareness those programs could not. A brutal incident and protests after that in itself could not raise awareness, but this documentary will certainly raise awareness.

That is just your assumption. News Channels' date=' programs like Crime patrol have already shown arrangements and interpretation of this incident 100 times on TV, but this documentary has some supernatural power that it will suddenly raise awareness those programs could not. A brutal incident and protests after that in itself could not raise awareness, but this documentary will certainly raise awareness.[/quote'] It may or may not raise awareness but it certainly won't damage India's image. Its the ban and Govt's high handed approach in dealing with it that has damaged India's reputation.

how many people in a household think and openly say at a shop that "paise wapis nahi diye, iska katal hona chahiye", will anybody say that on TV? Now think about people talking about raping girls who go out late in the night, wearing different clothes and drinking. We have heard it even from Netas about how these things are an invite to be raped. How this forces men to rape. Rape/murder/molestation all happen around the world and yes these criminals think they can overpower the other party but the netas, lawyers and elders of the society dont come-out in open and try to blame the woman. The reality is that crime happens everywhere but when you justify the crime or find something wrong with the victim, you are teaching men in your own household that women deserve this kind of treatment. Yes we should see it in isolation just like dowry deaths.
Blame the victim happens in other issues too, not just rape. If you have issues with someone and he hurts you badly, your family members first will blame you for those issues with that guy. Look if you think you can stop rape without being concerned about crime in a whole, then that is not going to happen. There is a criminal in everyone. Some commit crime, some don't who have fear of law, fear of punishment, fear of reputation, ability to think quickly about the outcome and assess good and bad which prevents them to commit a crime. People who cannot do that and lose their mind in the moment commit crime. Dowry is a completely different thing. There are several reasons that people commit crime Greed, Lust, Jealousy, Ambitions, Power. Dowry is a greed thing. Rape can be lust, can be power. Can be jealousy. When all these thought take over our mind, we commit crime. We really need to work in this regard how we can control our mind and change these thoughts. I hope one day it will happen. Science will come up with some solutions.

That is just your assumption. News Channels' date=' programs like Crime patrol have already shown arrangements and interpretation of this incident 100 times on TV, but this documentary has some supernatural power that it will suddenly raise awareness those programs could not. A brutal incident and protests after that in itself could not raise awareness, but this documentary will certainly raise awareness.[/quote'] all its doing is that its taking it on a global scale. more ppl worldwide will know abt the problem now. whether thats a good or bad thing i dont know but maybe some embarassment globally might force reevaluation on the part of the local leaders

qs for all nri's and students abroad: has any of your work colleagues or classmates asked abt this? how do you respond? barring maybe 1 or 2, none of the americans have any idea abt this. im wonderinf whethers it just to avoid awkwardness or they really are that ignorant

It may or may not raise awareness but it certainly won't damage India's image. Its the ban and Govt's high handed approach in dealing with it that has damaged India's reputation.
The reason they banned not sure. But they definitely conned the poor parents with false promises under the pretext of "exposing" the truth . Second of all giving platform to a heartless rapist to air his misogynistic views was downright appalling. Party may have banned it for nationalistic reasons . Her contention is "Gender inequality". It is a world wide phenomenon. Wrong analysis, wrong conclusion,

qs for all nri's and students abroad: has any of your work colleagues or classmates asked abt this? how do you respond? barring maybe 1 or 2, none of the americans have any idea abt this. im wonderinf whethers it just to avoid awkwardness or they really are that ignorant
I read in some comments section they agree giving airtime to criminal was absolutely wrong.

It may or may not raise awareness but it certainly won't damage India's image. Its the ban and Govt's high handed approach in dealing with it that has damaged India's reputation.
My problem is with rapist's interview. It should not have happened or it should be removed and than be shown. You think what rapist says is not fed to him by his lawyer as excuses? You think he was thinking about all those things while committing that crime? You wont rape someone just because she is out at night with her BF. Rape happens because you want to rape. You want to touch the girl, enjoy doing all these things to a girl. They had no fear as it was night. They were just 2. They could not get a better chance to do it. They did not rape because they thought why the hell she is roaming late night, watching movies with a boy, lets rape her because of that.