Desi Cartman Posted April 7, 2015 Posted April 7, 2015 No. They don't get paid by those apps for the preferential treatment. It depends, if an established company like Facebook is offered free then its to create stickiness with the customer by providing value but when a no name or a new name music app for example is promoted its to make money and also to keep customers happy. They make money by increasing adoption and getting a cut.
bulbul Posted April 7, 2015 Posted April 7, 2015 To digress a bit' date=' What is the fastest internet speed available in India?[/quote'] 50 MB is common now in Cities atleast....some people may get even higher Hatway gives 3 month package for 2100/- 25 GB FUP & 50 MBPS speed....3000/- month for 50 GB & 50 MBPS for 3 months .
vvvslaxman Posted April 7, 2015 Posted April 7, 2015 50 MB is common now in Cities atleast....some people may get even higher Hatway gives 3 month package for 2100/- 25 GB FUP & 50 MBPS speed....3000/- month for 50 GB & 50 MBPS for 3 months . I have heard of hathway.. Is it real? are they conning. i read lot of complaints about them.
PBN Posted April 7, 2015 Posted April 7, 2015 Easy video to explain net neutrality .. https://youtu.be/wtt2aSV8wdw
bulbul Posted April 8, 2015 Posted April 8, 2015 I have heard of hathway.. Is it real? are they conning. i read lot of complaints about them. My friend said he never faced issue with Hathaway. I have ACT brodband...20 Mbps @ 1100 for 50 GB.rarely faced issues.
vvvslaxman Posted April 8, 2015 Posted April 8, 2015 My friend said he never faced issue with Hathaway. I have ACT brodband...20 Mbps @ 1100 for 50 GB.rarely faced issues. So everyone has a cap?
Sachin=GOD Posted April 8, 2015 Author Posted April 8, 2015 So everyone has a cap? Mostly yes. Though for more payment you can get larger cap (100-150-200 GB) but there are almost no 'unlimited' options (when I say unlimited I mean that your initial speed is maintained irrespective of how much you download) unless you are willing to pay quite high.
rkt.india Posted April 8, 2015 Posted April 8, 2015 There was a time when we had Airtel live things and we had to pay for evey wallpaper download on those tiny mobiles 8-10 years back.
bulbul Posted April 8, 2015 Posted April 8, 2015 So everyone has a cap? Yes..afterwards 512kbps or 2 MBPS unlimited.
vvvslaxman Posted April 8, 2015 Posted April 8, 2015 Yes..afterwards 512kbps or 2 MBPS unlimited. My cousin using office network download movies as big as 44 Gig(blu ray). I guess they don't have cap?
bulbul Posted April 8, 2015 Posted April 8, 2015 My cousin using office network download movies as big as 44 Gig(blu ray). I guess they don't have cap? No cap to office obviously otherwise work will be done?
vvvslaxman Posted April 8, 2015 Posted April 8, 2015 No cap to office obviously otherwise work will be done? :cantstop: But they are seriously abusing the bandwidth .. The call center guys.
BeautifulGame Posted April 9, 2015 Posted April 9, 2015 Feb Haven't seen any difference .Its the same so far for me
Sachin=GOD Posted April 11, 2015 Author Posted April 11, 2015 Sign this petition - https://www.change.org/p/rsprasad-trai-don-t-allow-differential-pricing-of-services-let-consumers-choose-how-they-want-to-use-internet-netneutrality Already signed by over 1.3 lac people. Reddit India is also doing a really good job of informing people and getting support of influential people.
Sachin=GOD Posted April 11, 2015 Author Posted April 11, 2015 AIB : Save The Internet: https://youtu.be/mfY1NKrzqi0
Sachin=GOD Posted April 11, 2015 Author Posted April 11, 2015 Go to www.savetheinternet.in and email TRAI.
kubrickian Posted April 11, 2015 Posted April 11, 2015 My cousin using office network download movies as big as 44 Gig(blu ray). I guess they don't have cap? Cap is only for speed. You pay flat rate for 1 month. For instance, till you download 100 GB you get 20 Mbps. Then it will be 4 Mbps. This is for home users. It could be different for office users. In Hyderabad, Beam, Airtel, Hathway broadband give pretty decent offers. Beam broadband offers 50 Mbps, Airtel 8 Mbps. BSNL sucks as far as I know.