Rajiv Posted April 9, 2015 Posted April 9, 2015 So we've all ( most of us ) are on FB and during these last 4-5 years - noticed this peculiar trend when it comes to style of pics and posts For eg., Indian Friends - this is upper middle to rich class and I must have seen every bit of latest fashion, jewelry, handbags and all versions of iPhones. The style doesn't change, there is Facebook pose - stand slightly right, hand on hip and slight face backward with a smile. That goes with a group as well, the legs slightly turned - almost like choreographed My fav is the when where everyone lines up – like those strawberries tucked nicely in a line on a cake Almost all have drunken bits, hugging, glasses cheering, and every kind of themed party you can imagine. All the above plus the weekend trips in their BMWs and Audis They are enjoying their money and why not. The women are in their 40s but they look like 25-30 To me it seems they are having the time of their lives THEN - there is the "Dhobi ka Kutta..." NRI Class like us Here you will notice the pics are your occasional weekend gathering with your hardwood floored, smoke detecting, suppressed noise by law abiding houses, faces who have worked whole week in the office and looking for that escape, the wife tries to mix with other wives even though they don’t come from the same place or have anything in common - the look of reminiscing India and old days and the comments generally are " fun after a long time, every bit suggest the longtime " The other pics are of the office where you cut ur birthday cake, with a gora in the background who enjoys samosas and is curious to talk about Indian cuisine. Pics at the park with your kid, some relative and at times - pooja etc Older pics - Indian side mostly has school time pics, ( the one where you took with the class ) or occasional picnic and even then those are not scanned but pic taken via phone camera ( lazy Indian ). NRI ( who thrive on nostalgia ) will have the same but more with your recent past ( dorm room pics, college FOB days ) Indian posts are fwded jokes, one liners or click me where they haven't clicked themselves, similar to NRI's but they have more political ones, teasers, and tech stuff and I have seen your compulsive techies discuss in the length on how the damn pixel was better on the Samsung etc Indians - VOW, going to US - pics are shopping, bars, etc NRI - Going to India - old house, street kid, complaint about the weather and how expensive it is, that group photo with friends where you laugh and drink the way you did back then Hopefully it interests some discussions - had this coming since some time
Desi Cartman Posted April 9, 2015 Posted April 9, 2015 Glass half empty half full, it won't be full anywhere. Make up your mind what you prefer in life and go for it. Also, grass is always greener on the other side. Yes I'm using all the cliches lol In the past I have felt the same especially when I was single. But I don't live there anymore and i always got bored and sometimes took an earlier flight out. With kids and wife, I don't even think about moving back. Nothing against people living india but I want my family to have a lifestyle that's available only in the U.S. Or Australia etc. Very often we find fault with where we are, mostly it's about other feelings. If India or US were the reason for happiness then all people living in one country would be happy and other unhappy.
Rajiv Posted April 9, 2015 Author Posted April 9, 2015 Grass is always greener - behind those happy faces, who knows whats going on. But I was merely speaking from FB perspective, ek style ban gaya hain - I have different set of friends and the overall style of pics and posting there is ditto
Cricketics Posted April 9, 2015 Posted April 9, 2015 I also noticed a trend among some of my friend on fb who are in India. No disrespect but the show off is high. Statuses like - happy bday Mom. You have been great all my life. Thanks for enocuraging etc etc Then happy anniversary to parents status Then there will be people who are are over gracious. Whatever likes they will get on their status or picture, they will make sure to tag that person in that comment section of the picture and thank him seperately. There is also category of annoying people like me who hijack newsfeed of others by posting regular set by set tennis game update or any cricket game score.
Cricketics Posted April 9, 2015 Posted April 9, 2015 You people take FB too seriously. Before we go off topic here and derail the thread, its just trend we are sharing which shows perception. May be someone got offended. No hard feelings. We are desi too
bulbul Posted April 9, 2015 Posted April 9, 2015 Before we go off topic here and derail the thread' date=' its just trend we are sharing which shows perception. May be someone got offended. No hard feelings. We are desi too[/quote'] I don't get offended,just saying...i don't have a proper FB account. Only one i created didn't have any personal details. Now why people follow certain pattern is just herd mentality,they see some one doing something then follow same after some time they get caught up in this process and cycle continues. But increasingly i have seen people saying they are losing interest in updating status,posting pictures regularly etc.
BlueBee Posted April 9, 2015 Posted April 9, 2015 There is also category of annoying people like me who hijack newsfeed of others by posting regular set by set tennis game update or any cricket game score. :two_thumbs_up:
Texan Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 I think the "FB fad" is declining now. Even though I have it on my phone, I rarely ever even bother to open the app. And even on the few occasions that I do, all I find is about 4 or 5 fixed "friends" who will hijack my timeline with multiple posts. At that point, I don't even feel like scrolling down to see what most of my real friends have to say or post. I won't be surprised if Facebook goes "out of fashion" in the next 5 - 10 years. Mark Zuckerburg probably already knows this and that's why he is on a hunting spree for acquisitions. And when you hear about all the information that Big Data is gathering about you, the more dissuaded you feel to post anything personal. Your post is basically just adding another dimension to your personality traits that Big Data already knows about you.
vvvslaxman Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 I have very limited friends.. I don't even know if they read my shares.
Vilander Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 Facebook = Pretense. If you have something to say to a friend who is physically near you, say it to him in person or call him why on FB. I have seen posts from husbands to wives and vice versa saying greatest wife in the world happy anniversary etc. I find actually going out with friends more joyful, and network a bit on FB with long distance ones.
Desi Cartman Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 FB is like ICF with family and friends, unfortunately you get forced into accepting friends requests. As for the show off, I have somethings I dont like in facebook and they are: 1. tagging people 2. Sending some random credits for weird games or blessings via facebook 3. People wishing their spouse or brother sister who live in the same house on FB. Just talk and tell the other person what you feel, why do you need to wish via facebook? Now for the status thing, I dont think its facebook problem. Just think if you grew up in Delhi or Mumbai and start at a decent salary and have a reasonable career then all your life, most of your money is pocket money. The biggest expenditure in one's life is buying a house and if you live with your parents or inherit money/property then it changes a lot of things. Thats why you will see 23 year olds worrying about Nike and Armani and you can always guess that the person has rich parents while a person coming from a smaller city or with poor parents will be very different.
Guldozer Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 Facebook = Pretense. If you have something to say to a friend who is physically near you' date=' say it to him in person or call him why on FB. I have seen posts from husbands to wives and vice versa saying greatest wife in the world happy anniversary etc. I find actually going out with friends more joyful, and network a bit on FB with long distance ones.[/quote'] For once I agree with you. People talking to their mothers, dads, aunts, grandparents on twitter makes me cringe, as if they are gonna read the tweets.
Vilander Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 For once I agree with you. People talking to their mothers, dads, aunts, grandparents on twitter makes me cringe, as if they are gonna read the tweets. i am sure we will agree on many things outside of politics and religion.
Shivaji bhonsle Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 Girls are the most annoying ones. They just keep posting some pictures , weird selfies and tag you ..and they expect you to click like.
veer Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 So far I have remained successful in staying away from FB... Some friends are surprised at knowing that... My wife used to be a regular FB visitor but even she has stopped posting anything there.
Vilander Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 Girls are the most annoying ones. They just keep posting some pictures ' date=' weird selfies and tag you ..and they expect you to click like.[/quote'] I have an acquaintance , a female i knew from my MBA days, now in her 30's happily posts her selfies, i mean its like a torrent, one day for the heck of it i went in and checked it is filled with selfies only very few pics of her hubby or occasion..its all about ' oh waav you look sow prettie' and likes from abazillion tharkis..:cantstop:
vvvslaxman Posted April 10, 2015 Posted April 10, 2015 Forums >>>> FB You can express your views openly without worrying about anything. A debate about christian evangelism caused a split in long term friendship.
Texan Posted April 11, 2015 Posted April 11, 2015 Forums >>>> FB You can express your views openly without worrying about anything. A debate about christian evangelism caused a split in long term friendship. Completely agree. On Facebook, all you can do is share some photos of your family or post about what you did.
Texan Posted April 11, 2015 Posted April 11, 2015 The second part is what I see most of the times, that too from obscure acquaintances that I probably just met once or twice.