zen Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 I am still hearing from the people form Mumbai that shows are still going houseful. Screens might have been reduced due to Bajrangi and now Drishyam but people are still coming out to watch it twice and thrice. Now just wait for the part 2. It will be released very much like any other big hindi film with 4000 screens like Bajrangi with 4500 screens. Part 2 is going to create a record which I doubt any film will come close to breaking in near future. It will do equally well in both south and north territories. Might touch 1000 crores. Bahubali was initially released in 4200 screen :haha: "After witnessing the buzz around the film, the makers made massive plans for the release of "Baahubali - the Beginning". Besides showing it on 4,200 screens, they also made sure that the advance booking was available a week before the movie's release. The flick registered very good amount of booking for the first weekend. Link" So your assessment of the film not having released to its full potential is inaccurate :winky:
Shivaji bhonsle Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 Bahubali is breaking records even in other languages like Tamil it seems. SS Rajamouli’s magnum-opus ‘Bahubali’ seems to be unstoppable at the moment as it is breaking records everyday. Recently, in Chennai too, ‘Bahubali’ has broken Ajith’s Yennai Arindaal record in collections. Baahubali remained solid at the 4th week also as the movie had 165 shows in the weekend, with earnings of Rs. 59,73,876 in just three days. In the weekdays, 240 shows of the movie Bahubali was screened where Rs. 57,93,860 was collected. The epic blockbuster is unshakable at the top. By the end of the fourth week, the movie’s collection stands at Rs.6.69 crore. Bahubali already has beaten the Chennai box office records of this year overtaking films like Yennai Arindhaal(Rs.5.72 Cr) and Kanchana 2 in the capital city of Tamil Nadu. Despite a huge number of Thala (Ajith) followers in the state, Bahubali did break the record in collection. It will be interesting to see how long this collection saga goes. Photo Credits: Official Twitter Account of GuinnessWorldRecords. Photo Credits: Official Twitter Account of GuinnessWorldRecords. Bahubali is very effective on people and it has a positive word of mouth, which helps movie to remain in theatres. Domination of this epic movie can be seen in the collection of recent Tamil movies. Bahubali despite not having any lead Tamil actor is still doing good in Chennai box office. Bahubali has become first non-Hindi film to enter Rs. 500 crore club too.
Shivaji bhonsle Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 Its just Chennai collection... Awesome...
Gollum Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 Watched it today, awesome movie, set the bar for others in the Indian film industry to follow.
Kalia_Test Posted August 4, 2015 Author Posted August 4, 2015 Thing that will work for Bahubali : The Conclusion is that > 90% of people that saw part 1 WILL watch part 2 ( in whatever language ). And between now and release of part 2, many others also would have watched it as it probably would have been premièred on Television too ( Sony Max will want to cash in early ). There are also talks that Rajamouli might bring in a few Bollywood actors for some character roles in part 2 ( unconfirmed ). Imagine Amitabh Bachchan in a meditating Yogi role that visits Mahismati. Aslam Khan ( Sudeepa ) promised Kattappa that he will help during time of need. Almost a given that he will come in part 2. Gives opportunity for a 10 minute view of his background where we can fit in a Naseeruddin Shah as his father:woot: Even if part 2 is not as great as part 1 - a huge release with much more screens than part 1 and strategic release ( with no other big star movie releasing within 2 weeks ) will ensure more collections than part 1. Only thing that can stop it is if part 2 is very very bad. Good times ahead Was looking forward to the crowd-sourced Tollywood movie on PNS Ghazi ( Pakistani submarine that got destroyed in Visakhapatnam in 1971 war ) with VFX/CGI ( nowhere near Bahubali level though ) but looks like it ran into some issues. No news nowadays. It was a very very interesting concept with war beneath waters. The 2 different versions of how it sank - Indian and Pakistani add to the mystery.
Kalia_Test Posted August 4, 2015 Author Posted August 4, 2015 Bahubali was initially released in 4200 screen :haha: "After witnessing the buzz around the film, the makers made massive plans for the release of "Baahubali - the Beginning". Besides showing it on 4,200 screens, they also made sure that the advance booking was available a week before the movie's release. The flick registered very good amount of booking for the first weekend. Link" So your assessment of the film not having released to its full potential is inaccurate :winky: The 4200 screens is majority Telugu/Tamil. Hindi was limited release. We are talking of hindi version which released in only about 1500 screens. Even if does not go to 4500 screens for hindi, 3000 is realistic for part 2. So Part 2 should release in 6000 screens for all versions http://www.ibtimes.co.in/baahubali-set-release-4000-theatres-rajamoulis-film-beat-shankar-vikrams-i-record-636779 Reports suggest "Baahubali-The Beginning" will be released in over 2,000 screens in Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala. Trade analysts say this is the highest screen count for a Telugu film released down south till date. The Hindi version of "Baahubali - The Beginning", which has been produced by Bollywood filmmaker Karan Johar's Dharma Productions, will be released in over 1,500 screens. We also need to remember that even though Bahubali part 1 released in 1500 screens in hindi, majority had to remove it after week 1 as prior commitment would have been done for Bajrangi. For part 2, a strategic release will avoid the issue.
zen Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 ^ however, a relatively wider release could also mean that it would run for less # of weeks vs. Bahubali 1 with overall collection being in the same range :dontknow:
Kalia_Test Posted August 4, 2015 Author Posted August 4, 2015 ^ however' date=' a relatively wider release could also mean that it would run for less # of weeks vs. Bahubali 1 with overall collection being in the same range :dontknow:[/quote'] No. Collections are front-loaded more so for crap movies but true for good movies too. You can take example of Happy New Year. If your logic is true, then HNY running in 1000 theatres for 4 weeks should be same as it running in 4000 screens for 1 week. It invariably turns out that 4000 in one week is better as word of mouth spreads and 2nd week will not have as many viewers as first week. Also competition with newer releases , nearness of cinema halls ( 4000 screens has a greater probability of it playing in a theatre nearer to you and chance that it is the only movie available for you to watch - a major factor in single screen theatres in towns where people from nearby villages come to watch ). Many more factors.
zen Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 No. Collections are front-loaded more so for crap movies but true for good movies too. You can take example of Happy New Year. If your logic is true' date=' then HNY running in 1000 theatres for 4 weeks should be same as it running in 4000 screens for 1 week. It invariably turns out that 4000 in one week is better as word of mouth spreads and 2nd week will not have as many viewers as first week. Also competition with newer releases , nearness of cinema halls ( 4000 screens has a greater probability of it playing in a theatre nearer to you and chance that it is the only movie available for you to watch - a major factor in single screen theatres in towns where people from nearby villages come to watch ). Many more factors.[/quote'] But the point is that those who like Bahubali or want to watch are going for it which is why it has entered 4th week unlike HNY so a wider release would mean that many who watched it in week 2 would get the opportunity to watch it in week one Like you said, one of the potential benefits is from single screens but a wider release could also mean that occupancy rates could be lower thus negating the benefits somewhat .... And 2016 is loaded with some good releases. If I am not wrong both SRK and Salman Khan are releasing their films on Eid, then there is Housefull 3, Mohenjo Daro, Dangal, etc.
Kalia_Test Posted August 4, 2015 Author Posted August 4, 2015 But the point is that those who like Bahubali or want to watch are going for it which is why it has entered 4th week unlike HNY so a wider release would mean that many who watched it in week 2 would get the opportunity to watch it in week one Like you said, one of the potential benefits is from single screens but a wider release could also mean that occupancy rates could be lower thus negating the benefits somewhat .... And 2016 is loaded with some good releases. If I am not wrong both SRK and Salman Khan are releasing their films on Eid, then there is Housefull 3, Mohenjo Daro, Dangal, etc. Some of this is speculation so treat it like that. - Take Bahubali in say UP and assume that 500 theatres screened part 1 in week 1. 500 screens covers only some geography. For quite some parts of UP, these theatres are inaccessible ( not as in they cant take a bus and go watch but from a practical point of view. You only take so much trouble to travel for a movie.) From week 2, the theatres have reduced more. Yes they might be still houseful but this is still from the reducing geography only. Hope you got the point. Nothing beats a wide release as it is now accessible for more people. Occupancy rate might reduce but the total number of people watching will be far more and will easily offset lesser occupancy. - There are 52 weekends in an year. Enough for all the movies. I feel Rajamouli will aim for Telugu new Year release in 2016 i.e sometime in April - just like it was planned for this year but did not work out. Industry works on co-operation. Eid might be factor for Salman/SRK as there is some tradition but Bahubali carries no such baggage. It will avoid it. In Telugu, Sreemanthudu of Mahesh Babu is releasing this coming Friday ( he pushed out the release date from July to August to respect Bahubali - or avoid competition whichever way you want to look at it. ) - Most importantly, Bahubali 1 was unknown in North. Bahubali 2 will be an alltogether different proposition. You need to remember that this 300 crore, 400 crore is relatively new. The first Bollywood 100 crore movie was Ghajini in 2008 i.e just 7 years back. And Bahubali dubbed version crossed 100 crores. Enthiran ( Tamil movie) had joined 100 crore club just 2 years after Bollywood. Dookudu ( Telugu ) joined in 2011.
Precambrian Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 Two things will be corrected in Bahubali 2 1. Release in more no. of screens in North India. Given the response and how rock steady the BO is still, augurs well for Bahubali 2 in hindi speaking territories. Pretty sure they should now aim for 150 crores plus, if not 200 crores 2. Overseas - simultaneous release of hindi version as well. Yep, upwards of 700 crores possible for bahubali 2. Incredible it would be.
Precambrian Posted August 4, 2015 Posted August 4, 2015 Baahubali has done business of 1.4 crores in just 12 days from Trivandrum in Kerala alone. That is simply incredible given the industry hit Drishyam managed around 2.4 crore from its lifetime run of over 100 days from this capital city.
maniac Posted August 5, 2015 Posted August 5, 2015 I saw 2 Avatar's yesterday,the Rajesh Khanna one and James Cameron one.... both on low quality DVD Rip's...The James Cameron Avatar was really a pathetic and crappy movie.....look at those lame graphics and animation :hysterical: Was a routine and boring Masala movie which has been done multiple times :banghead: don't know what the hype was about...James Cameron is so overrated.....Also I am so happy that Jurassic world will overtake Avatar :yay: Now coming back to Rajesh Khanna's Avatar....fantastic acting,a story never done before about kids abandoning their parents but the twist is R.K becomes a millionaire and takes revenge....very gripping and fantastic performances and way way better music than that stupd James Cameron's Avatar. Adjusted for inflation and change in Rupee's fluctuation against the $,I am sure R.K's Avatar did more business than that god awful James Cameron's Avatar...I will pull the numbers soon...gimme some time ....already took a dump this morning. So hilarious when they call James Cameron's Avatar a technological masterpiece :hysterical:
rkt.india Posted August 5, 2015 Posted August 5, 2015 Yes, I had seen Cameron Avatar on TV too and found it really overrated, never saw it again after that.
Yoda-esque Posted August 5, 2015 Posted August 5, 2015 I saw 2 Avatar's yesterday,the Rajesh Khanna one and James Cameron one.... both on low quality DVD Rip's...The James Cameron Avatar was really a pathetic and crappy movie.....look at those lame graphics and animation :hysterical: Was a routine and boring Masala movie which has been done multiple times :banghead: don't know what the hype was about...James Cameron is so overrated.....Also I am so happy that Jurassic world will overtake Avatar :yay: Now coming back to Rajesh Khanna's Avatar....fantastic acting,a story never done before about kids abandoning their parents but the twist is R.K becomes a millionaire and takes revenge....very gripping and fantastic performances and way way better music than that stupd James Cameron's Avatar. Adjusted for inflation and change in Rupee's fluctuation against the $,I am sure R.K's Avatar did more business than that god awful James Cameron's Avatar...I will pull the numbers soon...gimme some time ....already took a dump this morning. So hilarious when they call James Cameron's Avatar a technological masterpiece :hysterical: Sarcasm not withstanding, what you said about Cameron's Avatar is actually true. Its basically "Dances with Wolves" meets "Matrix" in 3D
zen Posted August 5, 2015 Posted August 5, 2015 I saw 2 Avatar's yesterday' date='the Rajesh Khanna one and James Cameron one.... both on low quality DVD Rip's...The James Cameron Avatar was really a pathetic and crappy movie.....[b']look at those lame graphics and animation :hysterical: Nobody has commented anything negative on Bahubali's graphics :cantstop: .... just that there is more to a film than just graphics and Chinese films have achieved something similar (if not better) at 1/3rd to 1/2 the budget :winky:
zen Posted August 5, 2015 Posted August 5, 2015 Yes' date=' I had seen Cameron Avatar on TV too and found it really overrated, never saw it again after that.[/quote'] .... And you find Bahubali to be great!
rkt.india Posted August 6, 2015 Posted August 6, 2015 Nobody has commented anything negative on Bahubali's graphics :cantstop: .... just that there is more to a film than just graphics and Chinese films have achieved something similar (if not better) at 1/3rd to 1/2 the budget :winky: Avatar also doesn't have anything other than graphics.
rkt.india Posted August 6, 2015 Posted August 6, 2015 .... And you find Bahubali to be great! Where did I say great? I said best Indian film in its genre. Also, you didn't understand the purpose of the post at all. I watched Avatar on TV so it didn't leave the impression it would have if I had watched it in a cinema hall. Some films are made for cinema hall.